We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chien Blanc Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
$199
$179
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bergson(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount View Hotel & Spa(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
$199
$193
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wine Way Inn(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
$159
$139
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
$212
$199
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$449
$359
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$495
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,160
$905
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveler rating
20
6
7
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
6
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsair conditionercharming bungalowsprivate gardentwo blocksthe main streetliving roomfull kitchennapa valleybottle of winechelseabateauxprosspaslaundrydryerconstasting
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 36 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2011

First, the pluses: Our bungalow was very clean inside. The bed was comfy. The shower was hot. Judy was wonderful. Location within short walking distance to town. Even though guests at Chien Blanc aren't "entitled" to the breakfast served at the adjoining property (Chelsea Garden which incidentally is owned by the same people) for some reason we were allowed to eat and it was very tasty. The minuses: The exterior of our bungalow was not very welcoming...lots of cobwebs around the door and on the overhang covering the porch, rusty railing, chipped and cracked paint, dusty front door. The interior was dark, the decor was dated and hodge-podge, floor tiles in the bathroom chipped and broken. Street parking was tricky when we returned after dinner. The rate for one night was $250, definitely overpriced for what we got -and the price normally doesn't include the breakfast served next door (because the bungalows have kitchens) which isn't made clear on the website or at booking. I like cozy and quaint, but this was incredibly overpriced and not up-to-par. $125/night would be a fair price for folks who like retro. We won't return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mangiam0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed at Chien Blanc with 2 other couples which was perfect because we were the only ones on the property. We all gathered outside in the garden or in the game room, and had complete privacy while in our bungalows. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and cozy. We loved how each bungalow was decorated in a fun and funky style. All restaurants and coffee shops were within walking distance. The owners and inn keeper is available for you but will not bother you during your stay. I highly recommend Chien Blanc in Calistoga, especially if you're traveling with other couples or family members.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texbelle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed in a little bunglow named " Avignon". The place was very nicely decorated and really cozy and comfortable. The kitchen was clean and well-equipped so we did some cooking. :o)
The unit had air conditioning and a heater. They also provide free WiFi which is very useful. Its also dog-friendly so our furry babies were very comfortable. People next door (the inn keepers) from Chelsea Inn were very nice and helpful.
My only concern was the location but it seemed very safe and we really had no problems.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gfa240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Chien Blanc with two other couples that we were traveling with and very much enjoyed our stay. The location is ideal, very near the grocery store and only two blocks from downtown. The outdoor seating area and gameroom made for excellent gathering areas for our group while the individual units gave each couple plenty of privacy. The temperature was over 100 degrees outside during our stay, but the air conditioner kept the bedroom and other rooms comfortable. I would very much recommend Chien Blanc when traveling with others.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lifeisgoodMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed in the Bateau unit, and found it to be pleasant enough.

The Chien Blanc appears to be exist in a 3-unit-apartment, that is now used for overnight accomodations, rather than month-to-month tenant occupancy. We stayed in the Bateau, the front unit closest to the street. Kitchen is well-supplied with dishes, the bathroom is small and dated, we were pleased there is a small, dated bathtub.

We thought $195-a-night was ... addressively-priced, especially for mid-week accomodations; we did NOT opt for the additional $30 which would have purchased breakfast next-door at the Chelsea.

The room was exquisitely clean. The decorating was... eclectic.

We were there in June, The weather was cool and we did not have reason to turn either the heat or AC, which other reviewers have commented upon.

Calistoga -- we were disappointed, at a minimum, it did not have a spa. In Calistoga, you expect at least some 'hot water.' The bathtub is all you get. (There is a shower but one does not 'soak' in a shower.)

If we travel again with the dog, yes, I would stay there again. But. I might also opt to try one of the other two dog-friendly cottage-rentals in town, they are about $50.00 a-night less expensive.

Thank sidedish101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews