We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B, recommended!”
Review of Bear Flag Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bear Flag Inn
Ranked #24 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2011

At Calistoga for a mud bath and massage, we were unable to stay at our expected destination, and found the Bear Flag Inn, which had room for us. We were very pleased. All of the amenities, nice people, excellent breakfast, and we liked the rural atmosphere (chickens running around ih the yard, etc.). We recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buho8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 66 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

I wish it could remain a secret. But it will get out eventually .. this place is great and the prices are reasonable. The owners, Dennis and Marge, are great hosts. For example, we were going to a wedding around the corner and Dennis offered to pick us up if you "enjoyed" ourselves too much. The rooms a clean, the beds are very comfortable and the food is fantastic. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub as well as the porch on the second floor. It is a great escape from the sterile rooms of the chain hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vindo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed at the Bear Flag Inn for 5 nights and loved it! We stayed in the cottage which was really comfortable. Dennis and Marjorie were awesome host/hostess. They took excellent care of us and allowed us to just relax and enjoy our trip to wine country. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious every morning and were served in a lovely sunroom.

Every evening at 4:30 there are wine and snacks. We only make it twice, but the wine was good and we really enjoyed visiting with Dennis, Marjorie and the other guests.

To round it all out the chickens are fun and the dogs were great for someone who was missing her dog at home.

If you are looking for a laid back, enjoyable place to stay in wine country, The Bear Flag Inn is a great choice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSHooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

We have stayed with Dennis and Marge in 2002, 2004, and now again in 2011. Their B&B is lovely, and they are wonderful hosts who make you feel like you belong there. I can't recommend this Inn enough.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank frostjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this cozy, well-located inn. The room was nice and the breakfasts were great. The inn owners were extremely helpful in suggesting various wineries, restaurants and other local sights to visit during our stay in Napa Valley.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Presto18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My wife and I spent four fabulous days with Dennis and Marge. They are very gracious hosts. The property is warm and welcoming, and the breakfasts were to die for .We had several evenings sitting and drinking wine ( from their vines) and talking with other guests. I have never enjoyed a stay so much. We highly recommend Bear Flag Inn and hope to return some day soon.
Jan and Pat Fox

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ptown37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

My wife and I spent our week-long honeymoon at Bear Flag Inn. We had a magnificent time. Dennis and Marjorie are gracious, kind, non-intrusive hosts. They made us feel very welcome, even going so far as to surprise us with a bottle of champagne one night! Also, their evening wine and beer hour is a great way to kick-start the night and get to know your fellow guests.

The breakfasts were uniformly delicious and only one meal was repeated during our five day stay (but it was eggs benedict and neither of us minded). The inn is located only a few minutes from downtown Calistoga, and within a half hour of several outlying towns. The hot tub was a perfect way to end a couple busy days of wine tasting.

We stayed in the Lovina room, which is attached to the inn proper but has its own private entrance and bathroom. We both enjoyed it greatly, but it must be said that the bed is CREAKY. Honeymooners or ardent couples, make of that what you will.

We very much enjoyed our stay, and hope to return someday.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank NickLeo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
1.2 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
466 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
526 reviews
1.3 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
430 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Craftsman Inn
The Craftsman Inn
#8 of 27 in Calistoga
262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Calistoga Inn
Calistoga Inn
#16 of 27 in Calistoga
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Flag Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Flag Inn

Address: 2653 Foothill Blvd, Highway 128, Calistoga, CA 94515-1221
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: $210 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Flag Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 acres with 1900's style two story farmhouse with pool and hot tub and small vineyard. Your home away from home while in the Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Bear Flag Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing