We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding 3 day getaway....pet friendly too!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
N. CALIFORNIA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding 3 day getaway....pet friendly too!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2008

My wife and I went to Hillcrest B&B for our 5 year anniversary.
We have a friendly, medium sized dog, who is a part of our family
We take him with us pretty much everywhere we can
Debbie has a very friendly, well-behaved dog...who bonded easily
with our dog.

Debbie is a very down-to-earth, very warm person. Her house is
your house...feel free to wander about....lots of places to hang out

We travel quite a bit. We are not "stuffy" people, and we don't
like being around people like that....however we do like the nicer
things in life like.....VALUE!!!...you get more than you pay for!
OUTSTANDING VIEWS!!!!....THE BEST IN CALISTOGA!

We have stayed at other B&B's.... Dollar for Dollar this is a find!!

If you didn't plan to spend a little money, you wouldn't plan a get away. We prefer to spend the $$$ we saved on ourselves...
like massages, wine tasting...very good wine, taking a glider ride
and eating out at the finer restaurants...and there a lot!

If you are the type of people who likes to sit around and sip tea and just shoot the breeze and eat cookies and pastries, I guess this is fine place, but I know there are other more expensive B&B's, (that don't take pets) that you would enjoy better.

We like to be outdoors enjoying
the beauty of the area. There is way too much to do than sit around in a beautiful spot like the Napa Valley!

We plan to return soon.........it's beautiful!

  • Liked — Peaceful Feeling of the Beautiful Scenery
  • Disliked — Didn't get breakfast....but we went middle of the week, however Debbie offered to make us eggs and toast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YIANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    9
    10
    38
See reviews for
14
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2008

This was a "scary" place. It was very misrepresented. The web site looks wonderful, but what they didn't take pictures of were all the junk laying around the site. The rooms were dirtly when we checked in and the bathroom had urine on the tolliet, no soap and old towels that looked like you used them to wash your car. The rooms smelled of a musty mold and you were afraid to take your shoes off. We had paid $175 and couldn't get our money back for the night. Beware once you pay you stay. It was worth it to us to leave in the middle of night time and go home. Luckly we live 2 hours away.

  • Liked — possibly the view
  • Disliked — filthy-we left @ 9:15 P.M. & drove 2 hours home cuz we knew we would'nt sleep
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippy3721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calistoga hotels

Berkeley, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2008

My wife, 6-year-old daughter and I spent a relaxing afternoon and night at the Hillcrest B&B just outside Calistoga. The minute we turned off Highway 29 and drove up the winding driveway to the house I sensed that the place had the right feel (quiet, secluded, in a beautiful setting, and having an interesting "off the beaten path" character). We were immediately greeted by a friendly helper, Achilles, who directed us to our cottage (which is detached from the main house).

Our little cottage was comfortable and air-conditioned (which is good because it was 95 degrees outside) with a patio in back. The place has a clean, fairly large pool, which although not heated, was not too cold. There is also a pleasant grassy area next to the pool with a large trampoline! There is a sign outside that says "the dogs are friendly!" and it's absolutely true. A docile and friendly pit bull lazily resting on the grassy area paid us no mind at all. If you like natural beauty, there are some amazing and beautiful hills just a few hundred yards behind the place. In the front, the house overlooks vineyards (no longer owned by the B&B).

The main house has the look and feel of a museum on the inside. The proprietor (a pleasant, middle-aged woman) has one entire wall covered with historic photographs of the property as well as several generations of her family (it's been in her family since the 1800's). There is also a large, beautiful wood table for eating breakfast, a beautiful old piano, and decanters of free red and white wine.

Although the place is not immaculate, and could use a few repairs here and there, it is a place with warnth, character and history, in a beautfiul setting. I would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Secluded, beautiful setting, nice pool, air conditiioned, has character
  • Disliked — A bit too expensive, room was a little small, door was broken (could not lock it from outside)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archimedes8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, Ma
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2008

Hi!
We had the pleasure of staying here at Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast last week and had wished we had stayed longer just to hang out by the pool and enjoy the view! We stayed in the Mountain View Cottage. Pretty views from sections of the porch...I felt like I was in a tree house looking down into the valley! It was very quiet at night..the only noises were the crickets and a bull frog! LOL. There was a TV, gas fireplace if needed, coffee maker with coffee, and a small fridge on the porch. Debbie was the perfect host and made us feel that her home was our home. She has a dining room full of collections of the past and present, one could spend hours poking around! Because we stayed at Hillcrest mid week , breakfast was not provided. There is an area in the dining room with fridge & toaster etc. to be utilized by the guests.
So if you are looking for a quiet, low key, affordable, "put your feet up on the coffee table" type place, Hillcrest is for you! We loved it and will definately return again!!!

  • Liked — Peacefull, wonderful views, cozy
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank king0418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So.Cal.
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2008

We just came back from our trip and we are so glad to be home! We love staying at B&B's but this was not your typical bed & breakfast place. We stayed in the master bedroom, had our own private balcony and bathroom. However, the room was smelly, musty, and dusty. In fact, the entire house smelled! The bathroom stinks and the towels are ridiculous. The largest bath towel provided was the size of a hand towel!

We could hear EVERYTHING! We can hear the others talking in their rooms and we can hear them snoring, as well. There was trash spread out throughout the entire house, inside and outside.

On the other hand, the views are beautiful and it is extremely pet friendly. There is a pool, jacuzzi and trampoline, which our son enjoyed. There is also a trail that leads to a lake and a boat you can use.

So, if you are looking for a place to just sleep in and nothing else, this would be a good place. But, if you are looking for a bed and breakfast to relax in, keep looking. We couldn't wait to get out of there.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — the entire house
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank anonymous78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S. San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

I usually check in with Tripadvisor to read reviews of a property before booking. Unfortunately, I didn't do it this time. I have learned my lesson!

The website looked great, but we were very disappointed when we arrived. We were in the Garden Room, which hears all the noise and was a bit smelly. Also, when I looked up from the bed to turn off my light, there were cobwebs climbing up the wall.

The whole place felt run down and uncared for. It was very hard to relax here.

The owner does say "make yourself" at home, and she was there if we needed her, but for the most part was fairly unobtrusive.

We would not stay here again--it was grossly overpriced for what we got.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank kpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2007

We decided to drive to Calistoga for an unplanned weekend away from San Francisco. We ran into the Hillcrest B&B web-site on Google and immediately called the phone number on the web-site. As much as we loved the photos on-line, we were overwhelmed by the beauty and the view. On top of the incredible view, the rooms are individually designed to create a feeling of relaxation and unique experience. If you are a person who is looking for modern furniture and New York style hotels, save yourself the money. This place is uniquely designed with thousands of family antiques, photos and memories. The place looks like the museum of the American history. This is by far the best B&B I have been to. The owner and her lovely dogs are very nice and friendly and Debby, the owner, will do her best to enhance your experience. Make sure you are ready for a quiet stay as there is no internet connection, cell phone reception or any other noises…strictly nature!

  • Liked — VERY VERY VERY quite location
  • Disliked — Antique and uniqely designed furniture
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
1.6 mi away
Villa Mimosa
Villa Mimosa
#16 of 27 in Calistoga
14 reviews
1.7 mi away
Foothill House
Foothill House
#13 of 27 in Calistoga
22 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bear Flag Inn
Bear Flag Inn
#22 of 27 in Calistoga
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Chanric Inn
The Chanric Inn
#11 of 27 in Calistoga
377 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chelsea Garden Inn
Chelsea Garden Inn
#10 of 27 in Calistoga
129 reviews
2.3 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3225 Lake County Hwy, Calistoga, CA 94515-9738
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Bed And Breakfast
Hillcrest Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing