We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I let some months pass to describe THAT experience from a more objective point of view...first we almost couldn't find the place and were greeted by fierce looking dogs...then the owner (?) gave us a room key and dissappeared into his filthy kitchen leaving us in a dusty overdecorated common room....our room was old, smelly and run down and we only could sleep after sampling great Calistoga wine and drove on without breakfast as it came from the dog room aka kitchen....go somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonameavailablehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    9
    10
    38
See reviews for
14
52
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

How anyone in their right mind could rate this even one star is a mystery. Our room was filled with dust and mold on the ceiling. I looked in the kitchen after breakfast and I am sure the health department would want to close it down. Filthy. The room we had could only be called "creepy". The business license was expired and there was no health department certificate. We inquired at the local Chamber of Commerce and were told that they were dropped from the Chamber and were not considered a legitimate property. Do not stay at this establishment.

Room Tip: Avoid at all cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calistoga hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The owner has let the property deteriotate a great deal. She is basically not existant. We saw her twice in two days, when she put out coffee and stale danishes. The place is totally cluttered with stuff. The pool is in disrepair along with the property. I should have read the reviews before booking! The most HORRIFIC place ever...and SPIDERS/DOGS OWN THE PLACE

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tataguinera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We traveled from Dallas, Texas to St. Helena California to visit family. Hillcrest Bed and Breakfast was a refreshing, relaxing surprise. A lovely home nestled on the top of a mountain, our airy room offered a breathtaking view of vineyards and valleys. It was a step back into a more peaceful and tranquil space in time. My son and I enjoyed every moment. We left after a delicious breakfast wishing we could stay a little longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

TL;DR: Beautiful space with significant potential comes up short with overpriced, small rooms and cluttered grounds.

We did not want to be dissuaded from the number of poor reviews since there seemed to be a few good ones in there too. So, my husband I stayed here for two nights this last weekend in the Valley View room that shared a bathroom.

Upon our arrival, we knew immediately that the reviews were spot on about the neglected establishment. The exterior looked like it was not well maintained by the chipped paint and dirty windows. There was also a lot of machinery and equipment nearby that really distracted from the beautiful gardens. This past weekend, the pool was closed due to maintenance but the hot tub was functioning. We did not use the hot tub and pool closure did not really bother us; however it was a very troubling scene. The pool was completely drained and there was equipment and tools scattered along the concrete. I could not believe how unsafe that would be for kids or small dogs!!! Definitely an area we avoided.

The room was pleasant but small. Though clean, the bedding was slightly musty. The mattress was incredibly stiff and there was not much room for our belongings. The view was beautiful and such a treat to wake up to see the rolling hills and vineyards. It was nice having the screen door open to let in a little breeze.
The bathroom, on the other hand, was a nightmare. There was no screen on the bathroom window so both mornings there were spiders and bugs everywhere! I did not feel comfortable showering in the bathroom, so I limited my use to brushing my teeth and using the restroom if absolutely necessary. Luckily, we booked a spa treatment at Calistoga Hot Springs and took advantage of their showering facilities there.

We did not partake in any of the breakfast items because it was prepared sorta late for us. Breakfast is served from 9:30-11 am and both mornings we were ready to go much earlier than that. Not sure we missed out on anything since Debbie made it sound like she was putting frozen pastries in the oven to bake.

The lake in the pictures is beautiful however very overgrown. My husband brought some fishing equipment in hopes of a relaxing morning however there was no good spot to stand without snagging a line on the overgrown grass. Beautiful but not functional as a fishing spot.

We did not spend much time at the Hillcrest since we were not very comfortable there. We were out of options since everything was booked up for the Memorial holiday weekend, otherwise we would have preferred staying at a hotel. It is so disappointing because minor changes could have significant impact on this property. Read the reviews and take note that pretty much everything is true. What a shame. We will not return and would not recommend this as a place to vacation. For $150/night you might as well pay a little more to stay at one of the nice resorts in town.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The reviews that describe mess and disorganization are not wrong, so if you're one to be bothered by such things, take heed. However, as a dog owner who would rather not leave the pooch behind when it comes to vacations, this BnB was great. Considering that dogs are allowed and reside at the house, I thought it was plenty clean. The bathroom was well stocked with towels and all the necessities and the hallways were free from hair (I know how hard it can be to keep up with that!). Debbie took care of our puppy while we enjoyed mud baths and dinner in Calistoga, and even gave us a report on how he did while we were gone. Our room had a lovely view of the valley, clean sheets, and a great balcony. We left before breakfast, so I can't comment on that, though it did look to be more of a muffin and cereal affair. Debbie offered to make eggs and bacon for us, though, when we said we couldn't eat gluten. Overall, I would come here again to enjoy Calistoga. And being on a fairly slim budget, I thought the price was fine, if a little higher than I would like to pay. But compared to everything else in Napa, Hillcrest is certainly worth it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Geyser View room and loved it. There's a romantic canopy over the bed so it fel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The excellent location and valley-view setting of this historic property are unfortunately going to waste in this establishment. The current owners have managed to forego the opportunity to offer a unique and desirable inn and have instead allowed the debris and clutter to take over. The breakfast is to be avoided, lest stale Danish and bread appeal. If the construction equipment parked around the property were moved, the trash were removed, the breakfast could be brought up to par and the view-worthy locations were made hospitable this B&B could have a future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JBuckel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
2.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
409 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Mimosa
Villa Mimosa
#18 of 27 in Calistoga
13 reviews
4.8 mi away
Trailside Inn
Trailside Inn
#19 of 27 in Calistoga
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bear Flag Inn
Bear Flag Inn
#17 of 27 in Calistoga
65 reviews
1.7 mi away
Foothill House
Foothill House
#13 of 27 in Calistoga
21 reviews
2.3 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast

Property: Hillcrest Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3225 Lake County Hwy, Calistoga, CA 94515-9738
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Bed And Breakfast
Hillcrest Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing