We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed atmosphere”

Lava Vine Winery & Tasting Room
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Calistoga Wine Country Sip 'n' Cycle Bike Tour
Ranked #9 of 68 things to do in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

This place has a home like feeling, as if you're tasting wine in a friend's kitchen. The cost for a tasting is very reasonable, just $10 and they allow dogs inside, a big plus for us.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank happytraveler2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    22
    6
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good wines and banjo playing”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is a small producer up in Calistoga, with a little tasting room off of Silverado Trail. The tasting fee was $10 for several excellent wines, priced around $30 to $60 per bottle. Their Chenin Blanc was amazing, and I am not usually a fan of this, but theirs is Perfect! They have several reds to taste in an intimate tasting room, and if you are lucky, you will also get some personal banjo music.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best winery experience to date”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great wine, excellent service, what else could you ask for. It's pretty small and when we stopped by it was busy. They immediately opened up a garage room for us, threw some tables together and brought out some food. Then immediately just started pouring. The owners were very cool, laid back and so friendly. We were on a tight schedule but would have stayed here all day if we could have. I will definitely go back when I am in the area again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ostracoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lava love!”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I loved Lava vine. The guys working gave us a wine class in an informal fun setting. They we're happy to share there knowledge. Its a small casual vinyar with great wine. They we're generous with there pour . We joined the wine club and have been happy with our wine. Delivery day is like Christmas at our house!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 80colleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
240 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Like going to a cool bar!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late in the afternoon with two small kids. It was a hit with everybody. The kids played outside with the hens and goats. We had a great and relaxing time inside the tasting room. Staff were very friendly and supercool. Wines both good tasting and interesting. The atmosphere was great: laidback and friendly.

It was like being in a really cool bar - my favorite bar from now on....

Helpful?
Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lava Vine Winery & Tasting Room also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Lava Vine Winery & Tasting Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing