We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much Better Options Than Schramsberg”

Schramsberg Vineyards
Ranked #2 of 67 things to do in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Raleigh, NC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much Better Options Than Schramsberg”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We did the tour & tasting... Very overrated. The tour was a 10-15 minute walk thru Schramsberg's cave...and then we completed the tasting while standing in the cave (4 types of champagne). There are many wineries in Napa County that have caves and offer tours/tasting "in the cave"...and once you've been on a cave tour, the experience sort of loses its' luster (unless the tour just knocks it out of the park....and Schramsberg's tour didn't).

There are other options in the area that offer a much better experience for tasting & learning about champagne. Mumm (Napa) and Roederer (Anderson Valley) both offer great outside patio seating for tasting champagne and enjoying the picturesque views of the surrounding areas (and their champagnes are very good as well).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MD1Raleigh_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    58
    22
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama Province, Panama
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Cave tour with sparkling wines”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

You need to make a reservation for this winery. We lucked out, because when it turned out on a Tuesday that we didn't have reservations made for us (miscommunication with a limosine company we had booked a day with), we were able to tour the winery that Thursday at such short notice. It is an expensive tour, and the sparkling wines are not inexpensive, but they are very, very good.
We were told to arrive fifteen minutes early for our tour, but I didn't see the reason except that we walked around the small gift shop, looked at pictures of all past and present Presidents serving the wine at State dinners (Nixon shared this wine when he went on historic trip to China), and sitting along the wall of the pond at the entrance waiting for the others to arrive (that didn't show up fifteen minutes prior).
Todd gave our group an excellent, informative tour of the caves (amazing how many bottles of wine are stored in the caves!), and the tastings were done seated at a table in a closed room (with nuts and breadsticks--sea salt and delicous!). I did enjoy sitting there listening to everyone's comments and reviews. There were four sparkling wines and a delicious red poured that retail up to $110. It is worth the price to go and see the cave and hear how this winery was established and made its stamp in Napa.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlliTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sparkling Wine of the White House”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I had wanted to tour this winery. We tried to book a tour while we spent a long weekend in Calistoga and were told that they were fully booked through the end of October. The B&B we stayed at attempted to make a reservation for us and were told essentially the same.

As we were leaving we decided to stop by on the off chance there was a no show or cancellation.

As luck would have it there was an opening in about 45 minutes. During our wait the hostess brought us each a glass of champagne to sample--no charge

The tour of the caves is amazing and informative. The tour takes about and hour and ends with a sampling of 4 sparkling wines and one red still wine.

This is the winery that provided the sparkling wine that President Nixon shared when he went on his historic trip to China. Since then, every President has served sparkling wines from here at important State functions.

The tour is a bit pricey at $50.00/person--but the tour is great and they do pour wines that retail for upwards of $110.00/ bottle.

While I am not a huge fan of sparkling wines- I rather enjoyed the tour and the history of the place--my wife, of course loved it all--including the wines.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jamminj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous Wine + Fabulous Tour!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Very unique tour! You learn a bit of history about the Vineyards and Napa Valley, and going through the caves is quite the experience! At the end, you get to taste a number of great wines in one of the best settings in Napa! The tour is definitely worth the price! Be sure to make reservations in advance. They require reservations to do the tour, and, depending on the time of year, spaces can fill up quickly!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cave tour was highlight of trip”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The cave tour was excellent. Out guide was informative and humorous. The tasting of sparkling wines was delicious, and the atmosphere was dark and somewhat creepy (in a good way!).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Krista T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schramsberg Vineyards also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Schramsberg Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing