We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wines in a quiet spot”

Laura Michael Wines - Zahtila Vineyards
Ranked #25 of 67 things to do in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wines in a quiet spot”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My family loves wineries that are off the beaten path, and we were lucky to discover this place a few years ago while on vacation. This is our favorite winery, and the only one that we make sure to visit every time we're in the area. All of the wines we've tried are incredible! The tasting experience is more personal (but not too personal for an introvert!), rather than being surrounded by tables of other people like other places closer to Napa. Everyone there is friendly and helpful. The location is beautiful- there's a patio or a tiny tasting room, lovely gardens on the property, and even a couple of winery dogs to keep you company. I always ship a few bottles of Laura Michael wines back home to upstate NY after visiting-- the only difficult part is deciding which ones to buy!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Taryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“New Wine Club Member”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

If you are in the Napa Valley area - a must stop is Zahtila Vineyards (also known as Laura Michael Wines). I have been going for a few years now after a recommendation from my sister and this fall I finally became a club member. Laura and Michael are great and the wines are fabulous - so all my family makes it to the vineyards whenever we are out there. While I'm partial to the ZINs - you need to try their Cabernet - BENTLEY - yum! It was a big hit at X-mas, and gift to my mother, who's maiden name is also Bentley! Can't wait for our next visit in early Feb 2014!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Do not pass by this little Gem in Napa. This small property delivers great wine and a beautiful outdoor patio. The ultimate relaxation spot and the wines are very well made. I'm so glad we had some friends give us a heads up. It turned out to be one of the best spots we visited all weekend.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank K550025V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great wines in a small, intimate setting. Friendly staff. Nice little patio. We liked the wines so much that we bought a case and joined their wine club!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank texasgolfer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett, Missouri
Level Contributor
333 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Zens Are It”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Skip the generic Rose and the Cabs. Their Zens are very good. A porta potty is it for the bathroom. Really? If they aren't making enough money for a real bathroom, they should just close the doors. There are better zens in the area to be had, at less cost, but theirs are worth a try. They don't give credit for the purchase of a bottle for the tasting fee, as most do. And why is there a tasting fee? Well, it's Napa isn't it. Try Sonoma for change.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JMTurnbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laura Michael Wines - Zahtila Vineyards also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Laura Michael Wines - Zahtila Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing