We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TRULY EXCEPTIONAL!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meadowlark Country House
Ranked #4 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TRULY EXCEPTIONAL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife Lorna and I spent our 10th anniversary at this awesome B&B from September 25 thru the 30th. It felt like we were at our own fantasy vacation home. The 20 acre property, heated pool, spa and sauna, and our incredible suite with what had to be a 70 foot balconey overlooking the woods and grounds was surreal. Add to the physical property, the amazing talents of Richard who each morning created a breakfast, culinary masterpiece. Finally the other host and partner, Kurt whose charm, wit and persona made one just want to sit, relax and chat and you have all the ingredients for a memorable escape. This is a great place to explore the wine country from and Richard and Kurt's recommendations and insight are right on. It can't get better than this and we only hope we will have the opportunity to once again be guests of Kurt and Richard.
Steve from Florida

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    10
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
300
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed at the Meadowlark in July for 2 nights. Of course, with such a nice place, we wished we stayed longer. In any case, we had the chance to relax by the fantastic pool while looking at the bees minding their business in the beautifully flowered grounds.

Everything has been said about this great place. The breakfasts were perfect. We had two and they were both different, plentiful and great. The rooms we stayed in had a private little garden and was a perfect living place by itself. Internet access was also provided.

Richard and Kurt are excellent hosts. Richard gave us excellent advise for our winery tour while Kurt was a great "conversationist" during breakfast.

So, in conclusion, this is a special place that you'll want to go to again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldorak-007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We read such great reviews on tripadvisor about Meadowlark that we took a gamble on this B&B!
We hit the jackpot!!!

We have been to other nice B&B's in past years all across the country, but none compare to the accomodations, breakfast, grounds and amenities, but most importantly, the hosts of this wonderful B&B.

It is as if you are coming home ( without any of the work)! Richard and Kurt are accomodating, kind, and well, just throuoghly delightful to be with!

The grounds have a beaurtiful pool, sauna, hot tub, horses on site. Its pet friendly and comfy to boot!

We needed to head out earlier than the usual breakfast hour. The hosts would not hear of us leaving without making us a breakfast early.

You can be well assured we will be this way again!

This MUST be on your list of B&B's!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 456LindaO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Just driving into Meadowlark through the covered bridge my wife said we'll be coming here again. That was just a first impression but it was accurate. The atmosphere was so relaxed and we were made to feel so much at home. We only had 3 nights and it usually takes us a while to wind down but the atmosphere and the wonderful greetings from Kurt and Richard put us at ease and started our get away instantly.

What can we say? We stayed in suite 4 in the main house, it was beautiful. We spent at least an hour each afternoon on the sofa on our two sided deck sipping wine from local wineries recommended by Richard. The breakfast was wonderful and the pool so relaxing.

We just felt at home here and will make this a regular place to visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beachgoers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My wife and I chose Meadowlark Inn over other Main Street options in Calistoga. We only had 1 night to spend, and the Meadowlark made our brief stay feel expansive. We stayed in the Mtn View room in the guest wing. Accommodations are superb. We were undisturbed as we made use of the pool sourced by the on-site well; had fine massages; and enjoyed the discourse of our guests Richard and Kurt during a finely prepared breakfast. We will be back to spend more nights.

Room Tip: Poster beds are set up high, so make sure you can get up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I chose to stay at the Meadowlark Country House based on the review in Fodor's Guide. Fodor's gave this B&B its highest recommendation (Fodor's choice). It did not disappoint! Our room (#5), in the main house, was spacious, with a large private patio, which included a table with four chairs, AND two chaise lounge chairs. Inside, the room was cozy, complete with many books, a fireplace, whirlpool bath, and a small flat screen TV with cable access. WiFi is available throughout the Inn - even in the pool area! All guests have unlimited access to the beautiful main house (with a large wrap around porch) and gorgeous landscaped grounds. Use of a computer, phone (land-line), and refrigerator is available if needed in the main house. The MeadowLark's hosts, Richard and Kurt, are gracious and personable. They welcomed us like family. We highly recommend the Meadowlark, our home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed for the first time at Meadowlark. We've been to Calistoga many times, but have of strange reasons missed this gem. From we entered the property and until we left, our expectations were continously exceeded. From the inviting layout of the entrance area and house over the size and quality of the room and decks and the relaxed atmosphere of the pool area and the delicate breakfast to the best of it all - the hospitality and kindness of the hosts Kurt and Richard. If you want to relax and calm down, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian28A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
1.2 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#1 of 27 in Calistoga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.7 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlark Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Country House

Property: Meadowlark Country House
Address: 601 Petrified Forest Rd, Calistoga, CA 94515-9722
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Country House Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing