We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meadowlark Country House and Resort
Nearby Hotels
$495
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
$188
$170
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount View Hotel & Spa(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
$219
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
EuroSpa & Inn(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bergson(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor(Calistoga)(Great Value!)
$219
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$845
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$246
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$369
$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (416)
Filter reviews
416 results
Traveler rating
395
10
5
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
10
5
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe clothing optional poolmountain view roompond roomcovered bridgepool houseother gueststhe main househot tubgracious hostswrap around deckbeautiful horseswine countrynapa valleythe wrong placebeautiful propertybreakfast each morningget away
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 416 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2007

We had an incredible stay at Meadowlark, not only because it is run so impeccably and yet with such ease, but also because the hosts are something special who make their guests feel the same. We have stayed in B&Bs in the Wine Country and all over Northern California. Never have we felt so comfortable and respected. As other reviewers here attest, Richard and Kurt are excellent hosts who prioritize your relaxation and enjoyment while respecting your own needs. The grounds are beautiful, with a relaxing and tasteful swimming/sauna area that we found hard to pull ourselves away from. The rooms are spacious and clean, affording nice views and the sounds and fresh smells of garden and forest just outside your window. Inside our cozy room we felt extremely comfortable and loved some of the elegant design touches, such as well-shaped reading chairs. Being in complete R&R mode, we appreciated an abundance of good lighting for reading in every room. Even the books in the suite had more character and variety than those we have seen in other inns and B&Bs! Breakfasts impressed us so very much, not just for their superbly delicious and refined flavors but for the artistry and care with which they were prepared and presented. Breakfasts at Meadowlark are also a warm and comfortable affair. Kurt and Richard have a unique talent for making guests feel welcome and bringing them together. They are also so knowledgeable about the surrounding area and eager to help guests with travel and dining suggestions. In short, they are fabulous inn keepers. We have travelled all over the world in over 15 countries each, yet, we did not have to travel too far from our home (San Francisco) to find one of the best B&Bs to be found anywhere. You will love your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank emariesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

This was our third stay at Meadowlark. Richard and Kurt are charming hosts who were very knowledgeable about local wineries and restaurants. Our first evening we went to a new locale in Calistoga, which Richard and Kurt also went to. It was fun swapping stories about the food. On our first visit there we wanted to see if it was possible about visiting a certain winery of which we could not find the location or address. The winery did not have a permanent location or a tasting room. Kurt went so far as calling the winemaker's mother to see if he could arrange for us to have a tasting or find out where the winery was located. Unfortunately, we were not able to get to this winery, but Kurt and Richard certainly went several steps beyond for us.

We very much enjoy this B&B and will certainly go back .

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank nordic35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

This was our second visit to Calistoga, our first to the Meadowlark. Now, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Kurt and Richard's hospitality is world class. They truly take the time to get to know their guests. Their recommendations for restaurants and wineries never failed to please. The tranquil location and beautiful surroundings are the perfect setting for relaxation. Richard's breakfasts were a delight every morning and he takes the opportunity to chat with the guests about plans for the day and suggest those off the beaten track places that you might otherwise miss. The clothing optional pool, jacuzzi and sauna area is the perfect place to lounge, share a bottle of wine and chat at the end of the day.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DMB11202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

Meadowlark was beautiful. Our hosts were gracious. Kurt tried to spend a little time conversing with each guest. They were very helpful. Richard took time to help with directions to wineries. The breakfasts were yummy served in the dining room and outside on a nice deck in the main house.
Richard shared his french toast recipe with my husband.
The garden view suite we had was tastefully decorated and felt like home! The pool and hot tub were inviting, although we did not get a chance to enjoy them. We just ran out of time.
What a neat place!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank es123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

The owners are very nice and helpful. WE stayed in a downstairs room that had french doors on 3 sides which we opened. It was almost like sleeping outside. The pool is why we stayed here...very quiet and clean and refreshing cool water..did not have time to get in the spa but wish I had. Richard gave us very good recommendations for supper for both nights, places we would not have found on our own. It was lovely and has a natural garden as well. The only downside is that the A/C does not work so great and we were hot when we first got there and I had a little freak out but calmed down and after a dip in the pool, turning on the fans (3) and the evening air cooled it off, I relaxed and was fine. The next day we were careful to close our blinds to the sun coming in all day and the room was much cooler and that was fine. I would definitely go back, the food and setting were lovely.

Stayed: August 2007
4  Thank docgresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews