We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity and Seclusion”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meadowlark Country House
Ranked #5 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2012

If you are looking for a pleasant stay in the country when visiting Calisotga and the Napa valley, this is the place. Nestled in the woods on a hill just a mile or so from the center of Calistoga is the Meadowlark Country House, a charming B&B. Our two lovely hosts, Kurt and Richard attended to every detail. Always serving a sumptuous breakfast or suggesting a delicious restaurant. It was like meeting two new friends instead of two new innkeepers. The grounds are gorgeous and the pool is relaxing and inviting.
We stayed in the Mountain View room located away from the main house. It is secluded, peaceful and quiet. A large room with a sitting area and generous size patio, complete with table, chairs and chaise lounges. The view of the mountains is remarkable along with the picturesque barn and horses. In the morning we could see hot air balloons drifting above the hills.
Although this was our first time at the Meadowlark, it won't be our last. Thanks for making our weekend a very special time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arnk747400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 409 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2012

What a fantastic 6 nights...Cross the quaint covered bridge and magically the stress just starts to disappear. This was our first visit to Meadowlark and frankly we were unsure what to expect as we had not been to this part of the Napa Valley before. Meadowlark is an absolute treasure, and far exceeded our expectations. The overall atmosphere is one of peace and tranquility, surrounded by tall forests and beautiful gardens covered by thousands of different colored roses.

Our suite was beautifully decorated and had a terrific deck that offered just the right amount of morning sun. Our hosts, Kurt and Richard are however the true secret to this fabulous vacation spot. They are two of the most charming and engaging individuals that you will ever meet. Breakfasts were absolutely delightful and was something that we looked forward to each morning. We are already looking to make the trip back and can't wait to as Kurt would say..."Just let go".....

This is more than your typical B & B and deserves to be at the top of the list...Outstanding!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinnacle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Meadowlark Country House and enjoyed every moment of it. It is secluded enough to feel like you are truly "getting away from all" but close enough to hundreds of wineries and fine restaurants to provide a nice balance. The rolling hills and views was breathtaking.

The guest rooms are beautifully appointed and up to date yet private and comfortable. The grounds are beautifully groomed with an amazing variety of plants and flowers, and the resident dogs, cats, and horses ae a comforting addition for animal lovers.

The optional-clothing pool is gorgeous and large enough to swim lap if you are so inclined. While we did not make use of the sauna or hot tub, they too are maintained and clean.

Breakfasts were wonderful and delicious with a nice variety of dishes, fruits, and cereal. We especially enjoyed meeting and chatting with the other guests while enjoying breakfast on the veranda.

Richard and Kurt, the Country House owners, are charming, helpful, knowledgeable, entertaining, and interesting. They are eager to help in any way possible, whether for restaurant reservations or winery recommendations.

We will definitely stay at Meadowlark again, possibly as soon as this fall, and highly recommend it for anyone wanting to visit the Napa Valley in the more relaxed, secluded Calistoga area.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 4 in the Inn. It is a large room with a nice sitting area with couch and oversiz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Relaxing, inviting and just plain satisfying. The hosts inspire loyalty for their graciousness.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My wife and I spent six days with the hosts, Kurt and Richard, in their lovely Country House. The atmosphere was gracious and the mood relaxed yet stimulating. The eclectic visitors add to the ambiance. Calistoga is more relaxed than some of the other more ritzy Napa Valley towns. We will return again as Meadowlark is more than a place to visit, it becomes a place where you feel welcome and at home.

Room Tip: We stayed in the pool suite that has two bedrooms. Good for a larger group. Great patio with a fores...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Staying at Meadowlark is like staying with very cool friends who happen to have a spectacular property in Wine Country.

Accommodations: the perfect balance of elegance and comfort, privacy and social engagement.

Grounds: majestic natural beauty with resident horses, dogs, and chickens.

Pool: sparkling, with a breezy area for lounging and a hot tub for relaxing.

Breakfast: inventive, fresh, and delicious.

Hosts: for us, the best part! Richard and Kurt are charming and knowledgeable about the area and activities. They're eager to make your stay everything you want it to be, whether you're looking for wine tours and tastings, fine dining, or anything else your interests may include.

A note on preferences: some people choose to enjoy the pool area in their birthday suits. If you're ok with that, you'll have a wonderful time. We're a pretty average hetero suburban couple, and are open-minded, and we found the Meadowlark to be laid-back and delightful.

A lovely stay at a beautiful country estate for a reasonable price: when you're in Napa Valley, why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Right from the start, the phone conversation with Richard, our experience was delightful. The pool house is a lovely space and our 6 days just flew by as pleasure often seems to. The wonderful breakfasts with lively and interesting conversation was the best way to start the day. We will miss hearing Kurt's entertaining stories and his encouragement to tell some of our own. Thanks so much. We will see you again.
Warmest regards, kim and jim

Room Tip: the pool house is private and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
1.5 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
469 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
431 reviews
1.8 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cottage Grove Inn
Cottage Grove Inn
#4 of 27 in Calistoga
574 reviews
4.8 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
1.2 mi away
Embrace Calistoga
Embrace Calistoga
#3 of 27 in Calistoga
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowlark Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlark Country House

Address: 601 Petrified Forest Rd, Calistoga, CA 94515-9722
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: $235 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Meadowlark Country House Hotel Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing