We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waaaay Overpriced”

Old Faithful Geyser of California
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Old Faithful Geyser Admission
Ranked #15 of 67 things to do in Calistoga
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Like its more famous Yellowstone counterpart, this Napa Valley geyser erupts at regular intervals - every forty minutes, in the case of the Calistoga gusher.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
290 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Waaaay Overpriced”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

OK the geyser, when we were there, performed about every 10 minutes, but the $14 fee is atrocious as the site has nothing there. It is a terrible money grab as the geyser itself has no maintenance costs and the money is not going to anything that has to do with the site.

It is worth about $5 or $6, not more.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tripfoodie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    200
    204
    132
    112
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Rubbish”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

After travelling for thirty days through the USA this is the most disappointing sight that e have paid to see. 14 dollars to walk though a gift shop to a barren car park to watch a squirt of water ? Wishing well broken, bugger all shade no info or talk on what it is ! This place is a rip off , avoid at all costs ! Sorry my only negative review in a month !

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Themessiahoffire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Exit through the gift shop - before entering”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This place advertises old faithful of the west and also fainting goats. There is probably something wrong with me wanting to actually see a glorified water fountain and an animal deliberately bred to lose consciousness for my amusement but this place is under construction and underwhelming. The most impressive thing about this is the gate. They should complete the renovations on this place and then re-open.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bobwoodcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
394 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Spectacle every 30 minutes”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The geyser apparently is active every 30 minutes. We just got there when he was, but the entrance gate was closed - we could see it from the street however.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Engadiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My mother's day gift.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My daughter gave me the best present I ever had.
This was my first time seeing a Geyser. On the brochure it said the water will come up every 30 min. We got lucky it happened every 8 min. It's amazing to see.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank verast989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Faithful Geyser of California also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Old Faithful Geyser of California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing