We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Historic and beautiful place to visit”
Review of Chateau Montelena

Chateau Montelena
Book In Advance
More Info
$159.00*
and up
Full-Day Wine Country Bike and Wine Tasting Tour...
Ranked #6 of 75 things to do in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This old winery has a castle-like main building.
Reviewed February 19, 2015

My friend and I visited while it was down pouring outside. They were very busy but still managed to help everyone enjoy tastings. We had the pleasure of having Sean do our tasting he was wonderful and very knowledgeable in the wines and history of the the Chateau. I was very impressed. This place is beautiful even on a rainy day. The wines were not my tastes but I would still come back. Wish I would have had a tour like some other reviewers.

Thank Rosalove7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChMontelena, DTC Sales Associate at Chateau Montelena, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2015

Hello Rosalove7,

Thank you for enjoying your visit with us. We are happy to hear you had such a lovely time, even during imperfect weather conditions. The next time you can visit, I would recommend doing the Vineyard Tour which will allow you to see our vineyards up close. This is a great experience on a nice, sunny day. You may also want to try our Limited Release tasting which features wines that are not available for the Current Release tasting. This tasting showcases our limited release wines along with wines that are only available here at the winery. These wines may be more to your liking as they have had more time to age.

We hope to see you again when the weather is beautiful.

Yours in Fine Wine,
Cait Z.
Chateau Montelena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"bottle shock"
in 131 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 53 reviews
"jade lake"
in 19 reviews
"library tasting"
in 14 reviews
"california wines"
in 13 reviews
"tasting room"
in 65 reviews
"chinese garden"
in 6 reviews
"blind tasting"
in 6 reviews
"french wine"
in 7 reviews
"historic winery"
in 7 reviews
"napa valley"
in 45 reviews
"tasting fee"
in 23 reviews
"tasting menu"
in 6 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 19 reviews
"wine club members"
in 8 reviews
"interesting history"
in 6 reviews
"cabernet sauvignon"
in 11 reviews
Filter

295 - 299 of 576 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2015

Chateau Monetlena is a must see when you are in the Napa Valley and Calistoga. It is one of the truly unique vineyards with it's story, gardens and delightful wines. Our taste pourer was Jon R. and he is excellent. We had a nice little tour and enjoyed walking the garden and pond area even on a rainy day. The wine is excellent and the story behind the wine and the movie are a bonus.

Thank JEV50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChMontelena, DTC Sales Associate at Chateau Montelena, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2015

Hello JEV50,

Thank you for enjoying the wines and sharing this wonderful review. We are happy to hear you had a great time with us. Our tasting room staff certainly does a fantastic job of presenting our wines and history with a smile on their faces. We offer two tours here and they both reveal a unique view of Montelena. We hope you can visit soon and join us for the tour you did not experience yet.

Yours in Fine Wine,
Cait Z.
Chateau Montelena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2015

My husband and I visited this winery on February 10, 2015. This winery has some beautiful grounds with an Asian influence of a moat, bridges and a pavilion. The outdoor area is scenic and pleasant to walk around. The wine tasting room is inside a castle carved into a hillside at the bottom of Mt. St. Helena. We tasted about five wines and the charge was $25. We shared our tasting experience - the pours were sufficient that there was enough wine for each of us to experience all the wines. Our wine server was attentive and knowledgeable. We did not purchase any wines here - we did enjoy many of their red wines and I wish we had purchased some of them.

Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChMontelena, DTC Sales Associate at Chateau Montelena, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2015

Hello Pamela S,

Thank you for enjoying the wines during your visit. Since you enjoyed our Jade Lake, I recommend coming back to do a Vineyard Tour. This tour is offered on a first-come-first-serve basis as a way to get a closer look at our vineyards and the surrounding mountains. You may also enjoy a Limited Release tasting which features wines that are not available for the Current Release ($25) tasting. If you have not purchased any wines yet, you can always order some by calling us at 1-800-222-7288 or by visiting our website at http://montelena.com/shop/current-releases.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Yours in Fine Wine,
Cait Z.
Chateau Montelena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2015

I was looking forward to a tour of the winery, chateau, or cellar, but it was really just a tasting room. The history was impressive, and the "bottle shock" story was great.

Thank Shibumi365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChMontelena, DTC Sales Associate at Chateau Montelena, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2015

Hello Shibumi365,

Thank you visiting us and enjoying the wines. If you are interested in a tour, we do offer a Vineyard Tour every Monday and Wednesday along with an Estate Tour every Tuesday and Sunday. Each of these tours presents a unique view of Chateau Montelena and I would highly suggest pairing a tour with a Limited Release tasting. The tour is a great way to start off your experience at Montelena, followed by a tasting of our limited release wines and wines that are only available here at the winery.

We hope to see you soon for a tour and tasting.

Yours in Fine Wine,
Cait Z.
Chateau Montelena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2015

Finally made it to Chateau Montelena! Our tasting was fantastic, mostly due to the information from our pourer, plus the wine was great, of course! My only disappointment was the big plastic tent at the entrance, which blocked the famous view of the barn entrance :-((

1  Thank W.O.F.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChMontelena, DTC Sales Associate at Chateau Montelena, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2015

Hello W.O.F.,

Thank you visiting us and enjoying the wines. We are sad to hear that you were disappointed in not seeing the entrance to our winery. However, I promise that we do not have the tent up all the time. There is a very good chance that the next time you visit the tent will be nowhere in sight. You are also welcome to call us in advance and ask if it is up. We certainly have a great tasting room staff who do an excellent job or presenting our wines and history.

We hope to see you soon so we can share some more great wines, history, and a better view of the winery entrance.

Yours in Fine Wine,
Cait Z.
Chateau Montelena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Montelena also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Chateau Montelena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing