We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's all good but the wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chateau Montelena

Chateau Montelena
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Calistoga Wine Country Sip 'n' Cycle Bike Tour
Ranked #4 of 67 things to do in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This old winery has a castle-like main building.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's all good but the wine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I remember the Chateau Montelena of the 1970s, when the wines were the best part. Not so on our recent visit. The fantastic old building is worth the trip, but skip the tour, which was conducted by a guy who obviously knew a lot about winemaking, but was very bad at explaining it. And the wines are not good. I know, it's hard to believe, but we both felt we didn't even want any for free, and some of them are $150. For good wine I recommend Stags Leap Wine Cellars or Silver Oak instead, but you can always just go to Montelena and take your picture in front of the iconic facade.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyboy6632849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    139
    53
    21
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
southeast
Level Contributor
198 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Vineyard of Bottleshock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This vineyard is very quaint as you walk up to the door with the water fountains out front. You walk into what seems like a dark oak barrel. The walls are all like this and the kind old man giving the tasting inquires where you are from, your taste in wines, how you heard of them. Even though I wasn't impressed with the new wines, this visit was fun. If you purchase wine, go for the 2010 Cabernet or the 2007 Cabernet in the Vintage cellar...the best they have.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank cometexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
257 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

As many have said… we went after seeing the movie. However, the movie doesn't do justice to the property - which is just beautiful. The wines were nice as well - and we did bring a few bottles home. Worth a stop if you're in the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Darren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great wine and Great history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

It was so great being at Chateau Montelena. We had a wonderful tasting (had an appointment) and we just loved being in such a historic winery. A must do.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds, great white wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

After reading about Chateau Montelena's role in the storey behind the film Bottle Shock I thought I would visit the winery.

The grounds of the winery are stunning and worth the visit even if you did not taste the wine.

I tried a red but preferred the whites, in particular the Chardonnay and Sauvignon Blanche.

The tasting room is a bit small and a quite scripted so I did not enjoy it as much as some of the other wineries I visited.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Seafoodtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chateau Montelena also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Chateau Montelena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing