We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Complete relaxation in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Complete relaxation in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

My husband and I only stayed for one night at the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort because we have family in Calistoga. We wanted to enjoy the spa experience and were not disappointed. We had a lovely, very comfortable room with a spa tub. It was very relaxing and we also used the three hot springs pools in the beautiful courtyard. The resort is within walking distance of the market and many wonderful restaurants. It was so romantic and relaxing to have a delicious dinner then a refreshing short walk back to our room where the spa was waiting. We picked up dessert at the market and were able to enjoy it in our room later with a bottle of wine as there was a refrigerator in the room. They also have complimentary gourmet coffee. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmickeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    246
    66
    21
    36
See reviews for
109
336
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shasta County, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

We've been spending our Grown-Ups Only vacations at The Roman Spa in Calistoga for fifteen years. Every time we are there, we meet other couples who are proud to claim: "We've been coming here for 20 years!" "Love this place, we're here every year." The hotel seem to inspire a kind of loyalty that is rare these days.
The grounds are lovely and very well-maintained. You can spend the day going from mineral pool to mineral pool (there are three) and soak up the healing waters and when you've soaked enough, lounge in the dry sauna. The hotel is a short block from the Lincoln Ave -- Calistoga's main street -- where you can enjoy a huge array of restaurants, boutique shopping and outstanding people-watching.
The rooms at the Roman Spa are comfortable, clean and well-appointed. The maid staff works very hard to keep the whole place immaculately clean. First-rate spa services are just across the parking lot at The Baths. I've stayed other places in Napa Valley, but this hotel offers the very best facilities for the price and the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StillMarried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa cruz
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

My husband and I wanted to get away for Christmas and were worried about whether or not we would be able to find a nice getaway. The Roman Spa was the perfect choice.

We checked in Christmas eve and were able to book a couples massage. We had a lovely 80 minute massage in their couples room.

We spent Christmas relaxing in the three mineral pools and sauna. The pools are kept at wonderful temperatures. The pool and sauna areas were clean and well-maintained.

We brought some DVDs to watch on my laptop, so we had plenty of things to watch and could avoid the Christmas re-runs on the television. My only complaint might be that there is no wi-fi, but I didn't really miss it and it was great to be "off the grid" for a couple of days. Some of the restaurants in the downtown area, including Miguel's, feature free wi-fi, so if you must work, you can get on-line.

The kingsize bed in our room was perfect. The bedding was very nice...as nice as what we experience in most luxury hotels.


There was warm hot apple cider in the lobby in the afternoon. Free coffee and tea in the morning.

The desk people and the people at the spa were extremely kind and helpful. They phoned around to find out what restaurants were open and seemed to know everyone in town on a first-name basis.

The location was perfect, less than a block away from the downtown area. We didn't drive at all during our stay.

Restaurants we enjoyed during our stay:

Miguel's doesn't sound like a great breakfast choice, but we had one of the best breakfasts there.

We had breakfast at Checkers the day after Christmas and would advise you to avoid it....my french toast was made with oat bran bread...it was dry and tasteless. My husband's omelette was poor and the only sauce they could offer was a white gravy from a mix.

We ate at Barolo's Christmas eve. Service was a bit slow because they were shorthanded due to the holiday. The people at the next table complained that they waited more than an hour for their entrees. I had the cheese plate appetizer and it was wonderful. It featured a fortina, a Point Reyes blue cheese, and a third cheese, as well as fresh honey, candied pecans, and a chutney. It was as nice as any cheese plate I've had at any upscale restaurant or wine bar. The bread was also fresh and warm. The entrees were well prepared. I would not hesitate to return.

On Christmas day, we ate at the Calistoga Inn. The bread was not as good as Barolo's. We asked for wine pairings with our entrees, but our server did not seem as familiar with the wine list as we would have expected. Their wine list is substantial, so without a knowledgeable sommelier one can be at a loss. I ordered duck and it was prepared beautifully. My husband had the eggplant parmagian and pronounced it one of the best he has been served. The wines we selected were adequate, but I am sure we might have made better choices with a sommelier as our guide.

I checked not sure regarding pets below, because when my husband & I were walking through the parking lot we noticed one of the other guests had placed a dog dish next to their vehicle. So, they may have had a small dog with them.

From the outside, the Roman Spa does not appear to be anything special, but the looks are quite deceiving. We were greatly impressed with the staff, the accommodations and the mineral pools.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadagilitySantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

It was a Friday and we had the place to ourselves. There are 2 pools and a Jacuzzi. The outdoor pool was 99 and the indoor jet pool was 102. Perfectly relaxing. The surroundings are just ok; clean enough, but not that attractive. It was a rainy day about 45 degrees but we were fine in the pool outdoors. The massage, by K____, was not good. I told him it was too hard for me and he eased off but then right back to way too much pressure. I mentioned again that it was uncomfortable. At the end when I told him I had to literally "tolerate" the pain, he asked me how long it had been since my last massage (how is that important) and told me I had years of tension built up. Uh! Whatever. I should not have to PAY for a pain inducing treatment. I am in pain today like I have been bruised and beaten. Not my idea of being pampered. Can't comment on the hotel but I peaked into the rooms and they looked very average and a bit outdated.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jojoagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

Stayed just one night. Very nice garden setting. The three pools were each a different temperature which was nice. A little heavy on the chlorine on the inside pool, and I'm not crazy about plastic plants and flowers! Also, for the price, I was hoping for a coffee maker in the room. Overall it was a lovely experience though....

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1977cloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Cute, affordable motel. Chose this room because it had a full kitchen. Room was good size though pretty outdated. It's a comfortable place to stay in Calistoga, walking distance to everything. What I liked about it was the proximity to everything, the spas and pools accessible to hotel guests (which was nice to come home to after long day of wine tasting and other spas), and the kitchen. There are nicer places to stay, but the price and amenities make up for it.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

My husband takes me to Roman Spa in November for my birthday. It is sooooo
relaxing and we love the little town. Staff at Roman Spa are always very pleasant
and the rooms very clean.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caravanCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.6 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
0.3 mi away
EuroSpa & Inn
EuroSpa & Inn
#9 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Property: Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Address: 1300 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing