We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cute, affordable motel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cute, affordable motel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Cute, affordable motel. Chose this room because it had a full kitchen. Room was good size though pretty outdated. It's a comfortable place to stay in Calistoga, walking distance to everything. What I liked about it was the proximity to everything, the spas and pools accessible to hotel guests (which was nice to come home to after long day of wine tasting and other spas), and the kitchen. There are nicer places to stay, but the price and amenities make up for it.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    242
    65
    21
    35
See reviews for
106
329
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

My husband takes me to Roman Spa in November for my birthday. It is sooooo
relaxing and we love the little town. Staff at Roman Spa are always very pleasant
and the rooms very clean.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caravanCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, CA 95070-3139
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

We've been going to Calistoga, and stay at the Roman Spa Resort for years. Each visit is a great experience and allows us to kick back and enjoy the pool, the Jacuzzi's, and the Spa, for massages and mineral baths.

We always return home refreshed and renewed allowing us to take a deep breath and go on with our lives for another year, or until we can get back to Calistoga.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RAB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

The pools are wonderful - very nice sized and different temperatures of water. It was a holiday week-end and the facility was very quiet. It is walking distance to downtown Calistoga. The room was clean and well attended. I wish I was still there.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warriormaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

If you want to go soak in the mineral baths in a surrounding of charming and luscious gardens and fountains, Roman Spa is the perfect spot! And you won't be disappointed with the comfortable beds, spacious rooms, spa services available, and the TLC provided by the friendly staff.
Roman Spa is a real find whether you just want to relax and soak in the pools (yes, there is more than one) or tour the wineries, or both!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gus90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

The Roman Spa in Calistoga is a wonderful place to go for pure relaxation. The grounds are lovely with seasonal flowers and decorations to celebrate the particular time of year. We just returned from an October weekend and enjoyed the beautiful fall colors in the flowers and the pumpkins and squash clustered around the flower beds. The rooms are attractive - very clean and well equipped. There are three mineral baths, a large outdoor pool, a smaller indoor pool and a very warm jacuzzi. You can float around for hours and feel absolutely weightless and wonderful. There are many chaise lounge chairs around the pool and picnic tables with bar-b-qs in different areas outside the rooms. Our favorite part of the stay is enjoying the massage and spa treatments at the Baths which are located across the parking lot from the hotel. The service is excellent and you can be completely pampered. We have been going to the Roman Spa for 10 years, in every season and in every kind of weather and have always enjoyed the most relaxing and stressfree times.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happynapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

Nice room...we had the 2 BR with kitchenette. Very cleanand comfortable.
Just a short walk (one block) to Lincoln Ave, the main street of Calistoga with many good places to eat, but also a very quiet area.
Outstanding mineral pools and grounds! Very enjoyable! I would highly recommend & return here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dakotaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.6 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Solage Calistoga
Solage Calistoga
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
3.6 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Property: Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Address: 1300 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing