We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to wine, dine and hot tub.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Chico, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to wine, dine and hot tub.”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The girls go every year to relax, eat great food, drink great wine and shop. The Romas Spa is our go to place and we are never disappointed. This trip was especially nice because of the special people working their. Paige Monte, the spa manager was great. We are already looking to come back for our annual winter get away. Go Paige, you are the bomb.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments, remarks like these really warm our hearts. Each staff member strives to provide a memorable guest experience and it is so personally satisfying when we know we have achieved that goal.

Thank you again and we look forward to serving you and your friends next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    252
    68
    22
    37
See reviews for
115
343
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night to take advantage of mudbaths and hot thermal springs. Great pool and jacuzzi! Very clean and quiet, easy walk to main street Calistoga. Great little place, would stay here again next time we are in wine country.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CherryBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us and experienced the mudbaths and our delightful geothermal pools. Nashville is quite a distance from us, but indeed, it would be our pleasure to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san mateo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This Fall I returned to one of my favorite getaways in Calistoga with 4 girlfriends to celebrate a friend's birthday. And it was one of the best trips there. The Roman Spa was very welcoming,, clean and the garden looked amazing, beautiful flowers everywhere. The pool/hot tub was clean and inviting. All 5 of us girls had such a fantastic and fun "Girls" weekend. It was my friends first trip to the Roman Spa and they can't wait to return. The Roman Spa provided us with a relaxing setting to laugh, relax and celebrate the birthday. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I always like to get an upstairs room for extra quietness and close to the outside fountain to hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tikirico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your warm and wonderful comments. Girls getaways are always so much fun! Often we have groups of women who find our resort a favorite for just as you described, a relaxing setting that provided fun, laughs and a wonderful place to celebrate.
I'm so happy your friends found your choice a place they want to return to. We look forward to serving each of you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My husband and I reserved the room near the pool with the kitchen unit. The rooms and beds are very comfortable. We have been coming for years and like the ambiance at Roman Spa. The only thing we were disappointed with was the temperature of the pools, and that was the main reason we go. They were definitely not as hot as in past years. Several of the guests we spoke to felt the same. I would give it five stars if they would fix that.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gypsygirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I will take your concerns to our maintenance department related to the pool temperature. We maintain the indoor pool at 100 degrees and the outdoor whirlpool at 103 degrees. The large outdoor pool is the only pool that fluctuates in temperature. Typically, we run that pool at 96-98 degrees in the winter and 92-94 degrees in the summer. Depending upon how warm the day will get, we have to adjust the morning temperature so it won't get overheated by the afternoon. I'm not sure what temperatures you experienced in the large pool during your visit but we strive to maintain the same temperatures as we have for over 30 years and hope your next visit is more satisfactory related to pool temperatures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Mud bath was fun. My husband and I did it together. The bath attendant checks on you and brings you water and cold cloth for forehead, but gives you privacy to get in the tub on your own. They also let you get out of the mud bath and into the mineral bath on your own. I liked this better than having people in the room while I'm getting in and out of tubs.

Massages were great. Also, you can use the mineral pools for an hour before and after your treatments. We met some regulars there who told us that Roman Hot Springs has some great deals if you get them at the right time. We did the "Friday Special", which was mud and mineral baths for two, and 50 minute massages for two, for $225 (plus tip).

The waiting area is almost non-existent. We didn't mind, but if you like the fancy waiting areas with snacks, etc. It's not here. It's not a fancy place, but does the same quality services as other places in the area for much less money.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Indeed, a mud bath experience is "fun." Our staff is very attentive to each guest which then translates into an amazing experience.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The good aspects were the beds were very comfortable and the location was perfect for walking to food/drink and shopping in downtown Calistoga. The Spa itself was also only OK. The mud bath, I would recommend as they add peat moss to "fluff" up the mud which I understand it much better than the "sticky" kind you find elsewhere in the area.
The not-so-good was the shape of the pools and what you get for your money. We came to Calistoga to soak in the mineral baths and went with websites to guide our choosing the Roman. The "hottest" pool wasn't that hot and the jets did not work well. There were loud guests (until 2 am) next door to us one night (one night was fairly quiet) but the management did not monitor the noise level and ask the guests to be quiet. For the money there should have been at least a continental breakfast and decent coffee. There wasn't. We did a little comparison shopping while we were there and
I would not stay at the Roman again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riasantaccruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
I appreciate your comments and I am sorry that our property did not meet your expectations. I am rather surprised by your comments about our pools, all 3 of our pools were completely renovated in the past month and the "hottest" pool (the outdoor whirlpool) was completely re-piped to reduce noise and works extremely well. The temperature of that pool is not permitted by the health dept to be above 103 degrees, so if you felt that wasn't "hot enough," there is nothing we can do to change that and I apologize if you prefer a higher temperature.

Regarding the issue with loud guests, I know there were a few nights during the holiday season that required a lot of monitoring from our after hours caretakers and they did speak with guests during each occurence. Once again, I apologize if you did not receive the satisfaction you desired.

I'm sorry to hear would not stay with us in the future but do hope you will find a different Calistoga property that will meet your needs and desires.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was a fun place to stay...it's a little but motel-like but the rooms are clean. I liked they they had a fridge and a little kitchen area so you could keep your own wine and snacks. It's really close to town...just two or three blocks. The best part of this place, of course, are the mineral pools. They even stock your room with a few plastic wine glasses so you can bring your glass of wine to the pool so you can drink and soak at the same time. Would stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed having the convenience of the kitchen and the stocked kitchen items. The go-vino glasses for the pool are a relatively new addition and one that guests really enjoy over your typical plastic cups.
The wonderful mineral pools are of course the highlight for each of our guests and I'm glad you enjoyed soaking. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
0.3 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
3.6 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Property: Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Address: 1300 Washington St, Calistoga, CA 94515-1442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#8 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing