We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Thanks for a great getaway!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thanks for a great getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I too found it difficult to locate a place with two queen beds for a Friends Getaway and I am delighted to have found the Roman Spa Resort. The grounds are lovely and well maintained and I enjoyed the seasonal decorative touches that were added around the public areas. At first I found the room a bit dated but the bed was extremely comfortable and the decor actually fit the charm of Calistoga. Location was perfection -- walking access to town as well as convenient and for treks to Napa and/or the Alexander Valley. Staff was always pleasant and helpful. The mineral pools, jacuzzi and Spa were wonderful. Thank you Elizabeth for a making my first mud bath a terrific experience! Your timing for bringing a cool towel and a cold drink of water were perfect. I would return to the Roman Spa Resort again and again.

Room Tip: A kitchette was convenient and allowed us to enjoy some fresh produce from the Farmers Market.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CactusFlower4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Indeed, it is challenging at times to find rooms with 2 queen beds, often hotels offer only 2 doubles which we believe are cramped and uncomfortable when sharing with another, so we have always provided the queen mattress for our 2 bedded rooms.
I'm also glad your first mud bath experience was "terrific," indeed Elizabeth as well as our other mud attendants are excellent with timing and providing the individualized treatment that distinguishes us in the area of superior customer service.
We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    247
    67
    21
    36
See reviews for
109
339
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We arrived on Friday evening and were greeted at the desk. Our check-in materials were ready as was our room. It as pleasant and comfortable. We went out and enjoyed the pools then back to room to relax and fall asleep to sound of the fountains.
The next morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast at sarafotnia restaurant and went to the farmers' market. We returned for our spa treatments and were delighted. The quality and the service were outstanding. We had mud baths and massages. They were great.
Spent the afternoon relaxing, went for another wander and an early dinner.
Relaxed some more. Very comfortable, lovely grounds and good service! Will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wndwlkr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We greatly appreciate your comments. Our staff strive to provide truly memorable experiences for each guest. It sounds as if you had a truly enjoyable visit in our delightful town and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I recently spent three nights at the Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort for the first time and had a wonderful getaway weekend of much-needed relaxation! This resort was recommended to us by our close friends that have been staying there two or three times on a yearly basis. We were fortunate to book a lower floor unit which was one of the only two remaining ones available for the weekend. Our relaxation began with couples mineral baths followed by excellent Swedish massages side by side! The resort has three mineral pools, friendly staff, and within easy walking distance to downtown shopping and many nice restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend escape and look forward to doing it again in the very near future -- except for a longer stay next time!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rjs2988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
I'm so glad we were able to provide you with a much needed weekend of relaxation! Soaking in the pools, mineral or mud baths followed by a massage under the hands of a top-notch masseuse will do wonders for both the mind and body. It is our pleasure to serve and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon
Level Contributor
256 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I booked this place at the last minute, as it was the ONLY place in town with two Queen beds (very hard to find two beds of any type, anywhere these days!) It was a little higher than I had hoped, then again? Harvest time of year and all that...Was pleasantly surprised with an older but GREAT room. The small vignette garden(s) at this place are LOVELY...The Jacuzzi and pools warm and therapeutic for those who need that. Parking was adequate and the place is wheelchair "friendly" for most I thought. The staff was EXCELLENT, helpful and gracious in every way. Honestly, we were there on a Tues/Wed. and it could not have been nicer and definitely was worth the money for us, as we love being able to WALK EVERYWHERE!!!

Room Tip: As always? Expect to hear some upstairs foot "traffic" if you get a downstairs room...Was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsBunny2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your 1st experience with us. Harvest is indeed a beautiful time of the year to visit and the weather has been excellent! I'm glad you enjoyed our healing geothermal waters, the small garden areas and our proximity to the town. Our staff are amazing individuals with a true desire to serve and I am glad we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your return visit and serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The whole staff were friendly and accommodating. The location, 1 block from the main street, was a great location and a farmers market across the street on Saturday was awesome. If you want some where to relax, enjoy a mud bath, massage, and taste local food and wine I highly recommend the Roman Spa Resort! They have a pool that you could float for hours in and a hot tub that is just the right temp. We all agreed we would stay again next year, for our second annual girls trip.

Room Tip: I would try an upstairs room next time. The mornings we wanted to sleep in we could hear the people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your "girls getaway" with us, it was our pleasure to serve you. How nice that you mentioned the farmer's market across the street, it has so many wonderful vendors and so much to offer, many of us partake each week of the local fare.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElDoHills, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Roman Spa 20+ times over the past 12 years or so. It just keeps getting better and better.... The mineral pool is definitely a highlight and a wonderful way to let go and relax...the pool temp is around 95 degrees and looking upward, you gaze upon very tall palms...paradise! Rooms are clean and well-appointed. There are several great restaurants and shops within walking distance. A perfect spot for a getaway!!

Room Tip: We prefer the downstairs rooms adjacent to the pool (at night when you get out of the pool, it can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2TravelDewU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your thoughtful comments. It is so nice to hear from our long time repeat guests that we just keep getting better with age! We continually strive to make improvements each year that have a positive impact for our guests. Some years the effect is more obvious than others. This year is a high visability year. Currently in the works is a renovation project of our 3 pools which begins Oct 21, once complete they will have a fresh new look and the outdoor jacuzzi jets will be much more quiet (something we have wanted to upgrade for quite some time but will take almost a month to complete and a lot of engineering). We will begin the indoor pool area in December and it will be ready by Christmas week. We are also in the process of changing over all the TV's to flat screen with HD which will be complete by the end of November.
Thank you again for your loyalty to the Roman Spa, we greatly appreciate your continued support and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Due to some long help misconceptions about the traditional Calistoga mud bath I avoided doing it even though I have worked locally for the last dozen years. I regret not doing it much, much earlier! All I can say is that the mud bath is a deep heat that slowly sinks into your body all the way down to your bones. (makes me want to go back on this cool Fall day!) The attendant was sweet and attentive but not at all intrusive - making sure we had plenty of water to drink and that we were comfortable. Placing cool lavender scented cloths on our necks and over our eyes, ahhhhh. I spoiled my daughter and myself and we followed the mud and mineral bath with 80 minute massages - I highly recommend Gina and Amy - they were both topnotch. Tough to walk out of the place when it was all over. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. Indeed, the mudbath experience is an amazing healing treatment and when followed by a massage....bliss. Our boutique spa strives to make each guest experience individualized and special, I'm glad to hear that we not only met but exceeded your expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
3.6 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
0.2 mi away
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Property: Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Address: 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing