We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A supportive and nurturing environment for our retreat.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calistoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Home Ranch
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Grass valley, CA
1 review
“A supportive and nurturing environment for our retreat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

I stayed at the Mountain Home Ranch for a week long retreat. The location is private and rural yet very close to town. The beauty of the property, the cozy accommodations, ample meeting spaces, healthy food, the helpful and friendly staff and the presence of so many animals (horses, goats, chickens, cows and especially the gentle dogs) all helped to create a sanctuary for learning and relaxation for the week. It was January so I didn't use the pools, although they looked inviting for warmer weather.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banyanrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    32
    4
    8
    9
See reviews for
45
26
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

Across two countries, and a continent, we found MHR and John and Suzanne didn't disappoint. Our cabin was spacious and had the best bed we've found in over 5 years of traveling! Each evening, Jessica, the dog, dropped by for an ear rub, and every morning before breakfast, Pebbles, the goat, tried to wean me from my smoking habit. We had the run of the place for the mid-week and between hiking and relaxing we couldn't have found a better place to totally relax. It was home, without the responsibility.
Breakfast was tasty, with fruit, local farmed eggs and fresh baking. (The maple leaf shaped biscuits were a nice "detente" touch!)
This place isn't for everyone. If you want to be continually catered to during your stay, it's not going to happen. But if you need a place to reconnect with what's really important in life, this is the place.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMPEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

We stayed for one Saturday night after a day of wine tasting. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the homemade breakfast was delicious. Lots of cats and dogs around - it felt just like home. There is a very loud rooster that might wake you up at 5 am- he didn't bother me and I'm usually a light sleeper but my Dad was a bit annoyed. The rooms were warm and comfortable, nothing fancy. No TV which I like, but free wireless internet in the rooms. The only thing that would make this place perfect would be a hot tub or swimming pool open in the winter. I'll be going back when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfteacher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

Drive up Petrified Forest Road from Calistoga. You'll be heading over the mountain range that separates the Napa and Sonoma Valleys. Turn on Mountain Home Ranch Road. Follow the twists and turns, past small vineyards and big houses, through dark woods and across beautiful ridges, until you come to the old chuck wagon. There's a friendly place down the hill. Don't expect television or foam core mattresses or jacuzzis. The truth is my bed sagged, but the bathrooms are fine, and they have plenty of paperbacks, so you can read a book at night. And there's an excellent breakfast too. Most importantly, the place is run by warm, friendly people proud of their three generations on a beautiful spead of canyons, hiking trails, redwood groves, and a genuine sulphur warm spring. If you're looking for jumping bellhops and room service, go somewhere else, but if you want a different kind of relaxation, try it. We were glad we did.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Writerbill60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

Myself, my wife and her parents spent an extended weekend this past spring. My wife's father was extremely ill. John, who seemed initially put off by our special needs, could not have been more accommodating. He put out the fire that warms their pool as the smoke made my father-in-law uncomfortable. He moved my wife and I to quieter quarters without our asking and reduced our price as a men's group was having a drumming circle near our original room. The breakfasts are awesome. The location is beautiful. I read the highly critical review posted earlier and felt compelled to write this. I think John may just come across a little gruff at first but he made our stay a very special experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobthetripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

We had stayed at MHR last year and wanted to renew our experience. The staff is consistently helpful and friendly, and they do a great job of being out of the way until needed. We love seeing Jessica the dog and partaking in the wonderful breakfasts every morning.

If there was one thing that could have been improved, it was the wood-burning heater that warms the pool closest to the main house. The owner had apparently switched from propane to wood to save costs, which is commendable, but the smoke from the heater's chimney eventually gave us all headaches and made our clothes smell of smoke for hours after our visit. Perhaps a taller smokestack might alleviate this problem? Otherwise, another relaxing and enjoyable trip, and we hope to return either later this year or the next!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keonichavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

Hardly a hotel - more like rustic cabins/camp environment. Attended an Artists Retreat there. One goes there to be outside, not inside. It is a sacred place - the hills and skies and forests are magic. The food is elemental and delicious. Accomodations basic but comfortable. You just have to open your heart up to the place and it will speak to you.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
4.1 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
19.5 mi away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#2 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
7.7 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
4.0 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#10 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Home Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Home Ranch

Property: Mountain Home Ranch
Address: 3400 Mountain Home Ranch Rd, Calistoga, CA 94515-9524
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A rustic family-oriented, pet-friendly resort on 340 acres of beautiful mountainside nestled between the Napa and Sonoma Valleys. Swimming, hiking, fishing, bird-watching, tennis, volleyball, croquet, horseshoes, ping-pong and pool. No phones or tvs, but lots of board games and books and animals to feed. Various accommodations and price ranges from rustic cabins [one step up from camping] to suites with kitchens and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mountain Home Ranch Hotel Calistoga
Mountain Home Hotel
Mountain Home Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing