We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth the Drive from San Francisco”
Review of Clos Pegase Winery

Clos Pegase Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
$125.00*
and up
Napa Valley Wine Country Semi-Custom Limousine Tour
Ranked #17 of 67 things to do in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This picturesque winery features a majestic, neo-Mediterranean temple dedicated to wine and a cave theater with stunning sculptures.
Mililani, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Drive from San Francisco”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I wanted to see how wine was stored in caves and also wanted to see the caves and this winery was the perfect place to go. We went on a Sunday for the 11:30 tour and as it turned out we were the only ones to go on the tour so it was like having a private tour. We also got to try some of their wines which was very very good. The artwork on the grounds was also unusual and fun. I loved the history of winery.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sandyy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    20
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
La Grange, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Amazing Art with Good Wine”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Brian gave us a tour of the art inside and then we strolled the grounds to enjoy the outdoor art/installations. Well worth the trip (especially in tandem with Sterling)for those willing to drive up from Napa/Sonoma

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank funfamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Art of a Good Wine Tasting”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Clos Pegase offers the key aspects of what I would consider to be a fantastic tasting. The tour is truly a gem and they do a great job of winemaking fun facts/education and also providing just the right level of insight into their art pieces on the grounds. All who work here are casual yet professional. The wine is a treat. If the tasting room gets busy it starts to lose some appeal so choose off times if possible. NV can begin to have a Disneyland drag with overhyped wineries, crowds and corporate ambiance. Close Pegase is an antidote> if you've ever visited their puzzlingly famed neighbor across the street, you know.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HelenaBla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Art and Wine the best of both”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Owner Jan Schrem has really gone all out to share his love or art and good wine with the public. From great statues in the gardens to fine art on the walls, Clos Pegase hits near the top and you don't need to be in a special club to enjoy it. I've been coming here since 1988 and it's one place I never get tired of.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, OK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great winery with some great art to boot”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stopped by here on our way to Chateau Montelena, and we had a spectacular tasting at the bar. We tasted 5-6 wines with a few revisits and had a very good lesson about some of their wines. We loved their Rose, and a few Cabs. We really enjoyed it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sippervixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clos Pegase Winery also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Clos Pegase Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing