We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retro Luxury Under Construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Retro Luxury Under Construction”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

The property strikes a perfect balance between the old and new, maintaining the feel of a resort from another time with well-executed modern updates.

We stayed in a cottage with a kitchenette. The cottage was spacious, with a nicely updated bathroom and a front and back porch. The bed was super comfortable.

As other reviewers have noted, Indian Springs is undergoing significant construction that you can't avoid. I didn't mind it but I could see it being disruptive if you're easily bothered or perhaps have a lodge room closer to the work.

Surprisingly, Indian Springs is a great place for families. The grounds allow for roaming and there are various open-air games like shuffleboard and bocce. We brought our baby and were a bit worried it would be awkward at the pool, but people were welcoming and there was a toddler enjoying the pool. There is an adult pool, so we felt okay knowing if our baby was really interrupting someones's calm they had another pool to enjoy. The cottage set up was great with a baby and the staff were gracious about our stroller.

We had massages when we were there. Fantastic! The spa locker room is cramped but the massage rooms are updated and tranquil. I would go back for a massage and a day trip. The pool is incredible.

A nice plus in wine country - the town is mere steps from the hotel, so you can get provisions from Cal Market, have wine with dinner or just walk around without having to get in your car.

Small cons:
The check in to the hotel was rude and slow, which started a relaxing stay on the wrong note.
The spa bathrooms were broken and there were hotel staff addressing the issue, which of course is necessary, but that plus a tiny awkward waiting area for the spa didn't equal a feeling of luxury and relaxation. It dissipated once I got on the massage table but I have it seen that addressed with a little more grace in similar properties.

Room Tip: Cottage rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janegallaghers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    573
    233
    89
    30
See reviews for
483
1,055
85
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Visited Calistoga for the day with my sister and husband. We all booked massages and time at the pool. We really enjoyed our massages. The locker rooms were a bit cramped, but the massage suites were nice.

The pool was awesome - huge and warm. Nice towels, nice chairs. The locker room by the pool is very retro, but it was fine.

I would absolutely come back in a heartbeat for this huge dose of relaxation.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DCmetrodogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We have stayed at Indian Spring twice and when we return to the area, we will stay there again. The property is tastefully decorated, sitting among a gorgeous landscape located in the quaint town of Calistoga. The property is removed from the hustle and bustle of the wineries, but close enough that it's a short drive to many. Indian Spring has an olympic size pool heated by the nearby hot springs. Along with the spa services, the place is absolutely rejuvenating. The staff is quite friendly, and yet quite "invisible" at the same time. While the property was spotless, I rarely saw cleaning carts or heard vacuums running. The only staff I saw regularly were groundskeepers making sure the pristine landscaping was well kept. As far as Calistoga, I was taken back to a different time. The town is so quiet and the people so friendly. Indian Springs in located at the end of the main street in "downtown" Calistoga. If you get a chance to see the film Bottle Shock, do so as the local town used in the film is Calistoga. It has a couple great bars/restaurants right on Lincoln Ave. I have been through California from San Diego all the way to the north and have been absolutely delighted with my stays at Indian Springs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Indian Springs has been doing it right for eons — way before this area has become a magnet for winos the world over! All class with white bead boards and wainscot, a heated mineral pool, clawfoot tubs for soaking during your spa experience. The mud bath is definitely the tops in the area, with discreet assistants, lots of hydration, a sauna, and, glorioski, a nap cubby! Don't miss a dip in the pool and massages as well — I'd say almost all of the massage therapists have been tops!

Room Tip: The bungalows are little nicer than the regular apartment-style hotel rooms, from what I recall, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KME C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here in July. I would have given it the highest rating except for the construction going on. They are expanding. The huge hot springs pool is fabulous and the town is quaint. It is a very convenient location in wine-tasting country.

Room Tip: Choose a cottage away from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suecjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have loved this spot since we first visited about 5 years ago. Not pretentious, good customer service and lovely property. The addition of an adult pool is great! You can escape to a totally quiet pool if that's your goal. No cell phones is also a plus!
Loved the message services-

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I have been here at least 10 times. We tried the other hotels in Calistoga, but they just don't measure up. The Solage hotel is too fancy, the other hotels are like motels, but the Indian Springs just has the right feel to it. My mother in law said if perfect... "When you turn of the street into the Indian Spring drive way, your heart just seems to slow down a bit. You whisper at the pool, you walk with a slow swagger, and you breath in the amazing-ness of the garden." They are working on expanding the hotel, so we will have to see how that goes. But I know they will do it right and keep the vibe.

Now here are the tips...

Get there early. Check in is at 3 or 4, but you can use the pool all day. Bring some wine and lunch and just chill by the pool with some magazines or word puzzles.

Go to the pool late at night and/or early in the morning. Laying in the pool at night could change your life.

We like the lodge rooms on the bottom floor the best.

Tea and coffee area in the morning is also magical. Newspapers, coffee and Tea are provided. They have these giant plush chairs for two people. And my wife and I just listen to the water features and talk about how much we love each other. We like to get the pastries the day before and eat them.

The town is very nice. We like to go before dinner and shop a bit. All the restaurants are good.

Lastly this place is built for relaxation and meditation. Take time to really force yourself to use the Indian Springs for all its magic.

I plan to go once a year till I can't go anymore.

Room Tip: Lodge Bottom Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToddSFBay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
0.3 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
3.4 mi away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1712 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#3 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Indian Springs Resort and Spa sits on 16 landscaped acres in the town of Calistoga. Our accommodations include lodge rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom cottages , 3 bedroom Merchant House and a two bedroom Hill House overlooking the valley. The highlight of our property is our historic 1914 Olympic sized mineral pool kept toasty year-round from our 4 geysers. Our award winning spa offers classic mudbaths, massage and facial treatments. Come take the Waters! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Indian Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Springs Spa And Resort Calistoga
Indian Springs Hotel Calistoga
Indian Springs Spa Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing