We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Day Trip from Sacramento or San Francisco” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indian Springs Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Belleair, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Day Trip from Sacramento or San Francisco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was last at Indian Springs 10 years ago and was fearful the place had changed. It hasn't changed much - and that great. (The only change I could see was a 2nd adults only pool - a useful addition) and some extra lodging units.

The property can be pricey on weekends and also sold out, even in the off season.

The big attraction is the 102 degree mineral spring fed pool and spa. I made plenty of use of both. Calistoga is a quiet little town with great restaurants within walking distance. There are also several wineries just a short drive away.

The guests were all there to relax and get away meaning the property was not rowdy. If you want a great overnight get away, this place is it!

(Note: I gave the property just 3 stars for service as my room was not ready by the advertised check in time but they were very quick to address the problem and attentive.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    535
    207
    81
    29
See reviews for
437
964
77
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Indian Springs has two amazing, world-class draws: the spring fed, olympic sized swimming pool, and the extravagantly wonderful mud-bath experience. The pool is unlike anything I've experienced, with bathwater warm pure spring water that you could literally stay in for days. No chlorine required! I highly recommend guests experience an evening swim under the stars, the pool stays open until midnight. The mud bath ritual experience really tops all other spa experiences I've ever had. As described well by other reviewers, it's really special. Make sure to give yourself plenty of time afterward to bask in the glow of the experience in their beautiful Buddha pond area behind the spa. I've stayed here a couple of times, most recently in the lodge annex, and been underwhelmed with the rooms. I found the lodge rooms to be noisy, as they are close to the street and also could hear my neighbors in rooms next to and above us. Bathrooms new and nice, though. The cottage rooms are a bit better. But the rooms aren't the main attraction here.

Room Tip: Avoid lodge rooms if you are sensitive to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karleshyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

if ever in this area it is a must! awesome time to relax and do absolutely nothing.rooms in the lodge are very nice.one down fall is no where and nothing for breakfast only coffee.the pool is amazing size and temperture awesome and so is the employees.toels and robes too...the steam room very very nice.the price was not bad either,come on down if you can afford to do nothing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saidenough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Took my girlfriend up for a surprise weekend trip to Calistoga with the main portion to be spent at Indian springs. Amazing facility and staff. We both had mud baths and a couples massage. The whole experience was out of this world. First a mud bath, then into a mineral tub, next the sauna awaits, then after a recovery session, you're whisked away to partake in an hours worth of massage. The icing on the cake was the Olympic size pool that is supplied by the natural geysers. Spent the rest of the afternoon in that refreshing water.

A treatment at Indian springs is worth every penny. Can't wait for the next one.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Indian springs understands what we all want, or most of us anyway- a unique travel experience we can enjoy and remember. The enormous hot springs fed swimming pools, two of them , the mud baths and spa treatments, unique spa products, not mini bottles of ones we get at home, outdoor fireplace and morning coffee and tea bar. The list goes on. The rooms are simple, clean and tidy with high quality linens. But it's really about the amenities here. Unwind after exploring the food and wine culture of the valley and also launch drives north towards sonoma. I've stayed here many times and will certainly go back. I enjoy the cottage rooms best, followed by the second floor rooms in the main hotel

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Went here for a day during our girls weekend Napa adventure for the spa. It was such a great experience! The mud bath was wild I had never done that before. I was surprised at how it easy it was to be naked in front of strangers too. The mud is really warm and I was a little dizzy right after but the staff are good at keeping your hydrated throughout after the mud bath was a mineral bath then the steam room and finished up with the relaxation room (cucumbers on the eyes and all). It was such a relaxing experience and felt so luxurious. The staff were great at getting people through without feeling like they were rushing you.
After we did the spa we went over to hang out at the pool for the day. The pool is heated and gigantic! Plenty of shady areas if that's what you are looking for but we wanted to cook in the sun and what a gorgeous place to do it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrleary423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
383 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed overnight at a Lodge room here. It was fine. Clean. Comfortable. Quiet neighbors helped as, yes, the walls are thin. But...it so pays to stay here overnight! You get to use your key for the pools after all the day spa folks leave...available till midnight! We were in alone!!! You can also use your key early in the morning, before the official 10 am opening. Two great pools...one adults only is kept a tad cooler than the enormous hot pool. Both offer amazing relaxation. Neither got very crowded or noisy at any time of day. Fine locker rooms with great lockers, showers, changing areas. Grounds are immaculate and interesting to walk around. Anyone for croquet? Shuffleboard? Hammocks? All this and more. Certainly, there is the spa and mudbaths. We didn't use them this time....just soaked and soaked and soaked in the mineral waters! Already planning our next getaway!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
16.5 mi away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Springs Resort and Spa

Property: Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Address: 1712 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#3 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Indian Springs Resort and Spa sits on 16 landscaped acres in the town of Calistoga. Our accommodations include lodge rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom cottages , 3 bedroom Merchant House and a two bedroom Hill House overlooking the valley. The highlight of our property is our historic 1914 Olympic sized mineral pool kept toasty year-round from our 4 geysers. Our award winning spa offers classic mudbaths, massage and facial treatments. Come take the Waters! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Indian Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Springs Spa And Resort Calistoga
Indian Springs Hotel Calistoga
Indian Springs Spa Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing