We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We've been going to Indian Springs for years. First in the cottages and then the Lodge. Our kids love the hot springs pool, and recently we enjoyed the newly refurbished spa area - the Buddha pond is lovely. The ambiance is very much like the 50s - with modern touches. The only downside is that it books up quickly so be sure to call early.

Solbar (around the corner) is great for dinner. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebinMillValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,444)
There are newer reviews for Indian Springs Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,278 - 2,284 of 2,446 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

Spent 10 nights in northern CA in July winding up our stay the last 3 nights at the Indian Springs Resort in Calistoga. Love this place! It has an old-fashioned earthy charm mixed with lovely renovations. We had a cottage with a front and back porch. The cottage had a nice spacious kitchen so we could make our own breakfast and lunch. The hot spring-fed huge pool was absolutely fabulous! It was very hot when we were there so we also enjoyed the smaller spring-fed pool which has cooler water. Within a short walk is a grocery store and a good number of restaurants and bars for a nice cocktail. Every single thing was perfect about this place. There is a beautiful spa there but we really aren't spa people. The resort itself was spa enough for us! If you want relaxation and beautiful scenery spend some time at Indian Springs!

Room Tip: It is well worth getting a cottage with the porch or porches. We had cottage #5 and it was just per...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hc5w77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

After reading many reviews I did not know what to expect at Indian Springs Resort. It was difficult getting a reservation for the weekend so we opted to go at the beginning of the week which was perfect. We have stayed at several 5 star places throughout Napa Valley and surrounding and I can say with all certainty that Indian Springs is by far my favorite place. We wanted the perfect stay for my mothers birthday. We stayed in Bungalow 6 which consisted of a 1 bedroom with a pull out couch in the living room, kitchen, bathroom and front porch. My mother who is 80 and physically limited was able to use the ada complient shower with great ease. Our sheets were Frette and the towels were a very thick soft cotton. Lovely. Bathroom amenities were spa quality. We did not end up using the spa services but we did walk around the spa which was absolutely beautiful. There are Fatboy hammocks and loungers spread throughout the grounds. The resort itself is understated. If you are into nouveau riche modern you may be a better fit for Solage which we also enjoyed immensely but found to be a bit more impersonal surrounded by a lot of cement pathways and prefabishness and a little off the beaten path. Indian Springs is perfectly located at the end of the strip of the Main drag in Calistoga. They offer cruiser bikes to ride into town. Amongst the outdoor amenities included:
Bocce ball, shuffleboard, checkers, tennis, ping pong, basketball, chess by the pool and fireplace and I am sure there are other outdoor activities we overlooked. They provide the equipment.
The weather was in the mid 80's and I found the pools warmth to be perfectly comfortable. Both pools (one adult only/smaller and more private) were both relaxing, very clean and the waters temperature of both pools satisfying. There were kids playing but the main pool is large enough with enough space for everyone. Separating the pools is a lounge area with couches, chess, a fireplace and magazines. There is ice cold water flavored with cucumbers and fruit available at all times in several areas. Customer Service is not obtrusive and well serviced throughout the resort.
The downside: Our bungalow was connected to another bungalow with a family with teenagers. I would suggest asking not being next to someone with children with the chances of it being a bit noisier. The walls were thin even with our noise machine on. Our pull out couch mattress needed replacing. It was lumpy and more than likely older although we ended using a mattress topper we brought with us.
Other than having noisy neighbors I found Indian Springs to be the perfect getaway if you are looking for something more than wine tasting. There are restaurants in walking distance and the vineyards are 5 minutes away. I also suggest Farmstead in St. Helena for dining and drinks.

Room Tip: We chose bungalow 6 because it is off the street and directly across from the pool. It is also a.d.a...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank danishdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I have been coming here since the 80s. The pool was always the main attraction. So it is with mixed feelings that I've read about the new "adult only" pool. On our last visit, diapered babies were allowed in the main pool. As my friend commented, it's like a steeping "teabag." It was very off-putting. There were way to many screaming children. Now, it seems the kids will get the pool all to themselves, and the adults who are paying top dollar will be relegated to the newer, less lovely pool. Not a great solution, as far as I'm concerned.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tonie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

After a gruelling travel day from Palm Springs, we arrived at Indian Springs and instantly felt relaxed.
Front desk welcome was efficient and helpful, and we went straight to the spa for a mud bath. The spa has an old world charm, and although not as fancy as some spas I've been to, I preferred the genuine quality of Indian Springs.
We stayed in one of the rooms in the "Lodge" as we were only staying one night, and it was very clean and comfortable. Next time we come back, and we will, we'll definitely go for one of the cabins which have that little bit more charm.
The mineral pool is amazing both architecturally and in scale, and is lovely in the cool morning with steam coming off the water's surface.
Love it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank japes59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent the weekend at Indian Springs and the highlight of our stay was the comfortable bed and lovely pool. Since the main pool water supply is from the geyser the water is quite warm but they have added a second adult pool that was 10 degrees cooler. Even though it was a hot summer day with many people, there were plenty of chairs, and it's so large it didn't feel too crowded.

The hotel is quirky and has a few things missing - a work out room, restaurant or bar and phones in the room. It's essentially on the main Calistoga strip so minutes from anything you can need, but would have been nice to have a place to get a drink on-site. They do have sandwiches and snacks at the pool but bring cash, they don't allow you to charge to your room.

A fun get away spot from the Bay Area, we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SADAMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Indian Spring has the greatest mineral pool I've ever been to. It's called Indian Springs because the native peoples used to hang out here for the amazing vibe that it had then, had when most of this resort was built in the 40s and still has now. As soon as we step on the grounds we immediately begin to relax. The cottages are great and retain just enough of their originality - they've been updated but are still so charming. They have loaner bikes for cruising, a ping pong table in the shade, lovely hammocks and Really Great Service. You can have your cookie cutter corporate resorts with every amenity imaginable - Indian Springs is what it is, which is just right.

Room Tip: Make your reservation early.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kxmock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.2 mi away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
UpValley Inn & Hot Springs
#13 of 15 in Calistoga
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Calistoga Motor Lodge and Spa
0.3 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
959 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
#8 of 15 in Calistoga
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indian Springs Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Springs Resort and Spa

Address: 1712 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1113
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Calistoga
#3 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#3 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range: $276 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Springs Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Indian Springs Resort and Spa sits on 16 landscaped acres in the town of Calistoga. Our accommodations include lodge rooms, 1 and 2 bedroom cottages , 3 bedroom Merchant House and a two bedroom Hill House overlooking the valley. The highlight of our property is our historic 1914 Olympic sized mineral pool kept toasty year-round from our 4 geysers. Our award winning spa offers classic mudbaths, massage and facial treatments. Come take the Waters! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Indian Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indian Springs Spa And Resort Calistoga
Indian Springs Hotel Calistoga
Indian Springs Spa Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing