We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant!”

Solbar - Solage Calistoga
Reserve with OpenTable
Solbar - Solage Calistoga is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brannan Street
Description: Relax, unwind and enjoy as we surprise your palate and feed your senses with dishes as artfully constructed as they are delectable. Whether you choose our Michelin-starred Solbar – a Napa Dining favorite – or prefer the refuge of your private studio, dining here is always a singularly rewarding experience.
greenville, sc
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Great service and creative, fresh, beautifully prepared dishes. Will definitely make a point to return!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank furman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    654
    231
    64
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very good food and service, one major flaw!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

In napa for a spontaneous long weekend for our 20th Anniversary. Already did French Laundry and Per se on 3/4 Anniversaries in the past so we wanted a change. Didn't want to drop $700-900 on dinner for two, and given chef's background from FL and August in NOLA (we're also fans of John Besh) we decided to try solbar.

Clever, articulate and ornate food for sure, and well within value for price. Only complaint regarding the food is that the "hot" portion of the dungenness crab app was lukewarm at best, and the Nantucket scallops were cold. Likely due to the length of time it take to prepare these dishes, but if its cold, it's presentation is pointless- yes? Pork shoulder and chicken entrees were great and generous in portion size.

Our server Stephan was fine- courteous and competent- no pretension here as in some places this caliber.

However, Here's what will forever stop us from returning: When we made the resv we were offered only 5:30 and 9:30. We did call only the day before so no problem. We explained to the reservationists it was our 20th and wanted a nice leisurely meal- 5:30 was too early and she assured us that it would be no problem if we came at 9:30. So we did! When we sat, we also told Stephan we were looking for a relaxed meal and we asked if we had to worry about the kitchen closing- he politely said the kitchen closes when guests are finishing dining. Great!

We ordered 2 cocktails, and also had 2 bottles of wine. We sat at 9:35. Everything came fast- real fast. By 10:20 we were served the amusee bouche (fantastic item and presentation), 2 appetizers, a salad simultaneously ( this was a little upsetting- we had requested it as a mid course and Stephan said he would bring share plates but unfortunately it was squeezed in between our two other apps- was impossible to properly appreciate the 3 dishes simultaneously) and our two entrees. We complained about the pace when we received the apps and salad together, but it fell on deaf ears. Immediately upon clearing the app/salad dishes and with Stephan just opening the red wine and pouring it, there was the back waiter standing with our entrees. I hadnt even swallowed the first taste of the wine. All this in 45 minutes. Stephan noted our disappointment and a
Shortly a manager came by- we explained our discontent and he politely "thanked us for our feedback".

We rushed our entrees and left, declining a too little too late offer for cheese or dessert with their compliments. I'm pissed, the wife is crying, Happy Anniversary!

Been in the restaurant biz in manhattan all my life- just another case of the kitchen pushing out the food to go home. If the chef was in the kitchen at this time shame on him, if he wasn't he should fire the Sous. Either way it is inexcusable enough to never return- particularly in Napa, where good restaurants as as plentiful as good vineyards! Only McDonald's can get you in and out faster- and maybe by only a few minutes.

We've also dined at French Blue and Bouchon on this trip, and we highly recommend either for a special occasion. Food may be slightly less extravagant in presentation, but they are both exceptional places in every respect! Going to Bouchon again tonight!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, General Manager at Solbar - Solage Calistoga, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We greatly appreciate that you chose to share your anniversary with us. I was sincerely disappointed to learn you were not satisfied with your experience. I spoke with our Food and Beverage Manager regarding to your dinner. He recalled speaking with you and we have since addressed the service issue with your server and provided additional training. I hope the complimentary corkage of both bottles of wine and your first courses helped to serve as our apology. I was pleased to learn you found your entrees enjoyable. It is my hope that you will return to Solbar and provide us the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Richard W. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleriver, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love solbar.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I loved everything. Really. Had dinner- one suggestion-if you cant see well you may need a little light- my friend had one in her purse. Its quite dark at some of the tables. I would have liked to see my food a little better. But this is the only criticism I have. It was so so fantastic. Lunch was fantastic, too. What more can I say? Pricy but worth the experience, for me. LOVED IT!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank juliennereed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room With Culinary Delights”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Chef offers creative touches in his locally-inspired menu. He uses fresh ingredients and organic meats, fruits and vegetable when available. The dishes are beautifully plated and the service is excellent.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great meal, again & again!”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Solbar has become our favorite Napa restaurant!
Menu is very appealing, always emphasizing what's in season.
The result is very fresh & quality ingredients.
Dishes are very tasty, not too heavy, well presented.
The terrasse is very pleasant!
Make sure to have a reservation, and enjoy!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabellarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solbar - Solage Calistoga also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Solbar - Solage Calistoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing