We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot BBQ on a cold day!”

Buster's Southern BBQ & Bakery
Ranked #20 of 44 Restaurants in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Santa Rosa, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hot BBQ on a cold day!”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Buster's in Calistoga has enclosed thier seating area so on cold days you can enjoy thier fantastic BBQ. They fire up the BBQ pit every morning and I can smell it on my way to work.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank MikeLennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    102
    33
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
501 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“not very good BBQ”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

ove the West Coast and love almost everything food-wise here....but I'm convinced that I can't find good BBQ on the West Coast. Maybe I've been spoilt by Memphis BBQ (Blues City, Corky's, Commissary)...but seriously, if this is "awesome", then i'll save my stomach space for something else.

Summary:
Tri-Tip: Pretty good; i definitely prefer this to the Ribs
Ribs: eeeeks. the sauce was good, but the meat was WAY too tough. Not at all lik the fall-off-the-bone type typical of Southern BBQ. Maybe it needs to be cooked longer. a LOT longer. I did not enjoy this at all.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank jocelynlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A great, authentic barbecue”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

This barbecue is located at the northwest corner of the intersection that leads into Calistoga. It's a great favourite with the locals. There's an open air barbecue and you can see the large cuts of meat being cooked over chunks of oak. We can't decide whether we prefer the tri-tip or the barbecued pork generously piled on their excellent sandwiches. You order at the counter and carry your food to outside picnic tables or a sheltered dining area. They offer beer, wine and soft drinks.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank TourerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
1 review
“Down home goodness”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The enchanted cottage told us to check this place with a few others, for a good and casual meal. Buster's was about a minute away, and we had tri tip sandwiches with beer for lunch. Great food, great place. You can also order to go, and have an outdoor lunch somewhere, or take it back to your room. We recommend this place for authentic barbecue.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank lisabrown821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Casual BBQ Place”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

A trip to the Napa Valley wine country is not complete without a trip to Buster's! Husband and I spent ten days in the area wine tasting and eating gourmet meals. One evening after a long and tiring day wine tasting, we decided to get something quick and comforting.

You can see and smell the outdoor grill when you pull into the parking lot; gets the taste buds going. Depending on what your definition of atmosphere is, this place may or may not have it for you! This is not a fancy place, but has good food. Order at the window, and wait for your order to be called. Styrofoam plates and containers. There's "outside" seating in a covered area which keeps out the elements but lets the flies in:) Long tables/benches to share. Or, you can take your order to go.

Great tri-tip, brisket, and ribs; all tender and flavorful. The habanero sauce is really hot, and not for sissies. Sides of beans and cole slaw were very generous. Service was quick and efficient. If you're looking for casual quick comfort food, this is the place.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vegaspatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buster's Southern BBQ & Bakery also viewed

Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Buster's Southern BBQ & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing