We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mount View- saved our trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount View Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mount View- saved our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

We had reservations at Christopher's Bed & Breakfast in Calistoga for a two bedroom cottage. I was with my husband and 2 young adult daughters. The cottage was so terrible that we ended moving our daughters to Mount View instead. They stayed in a lovely cottage the first night which had a private patio and outdoor jacuzzi. The next night they had to move to a twin room which was also very nice. The staff was outstanding. They helped us with everything. There was a very nice pool and wireless internet(both lacking at the b & b). There are also two excellent restaurants attached to the hotel. We ate at barVino and it was fantastic. I would also like to comment specifically on the girl at the desk who helped us. I don't know her name, but she only started there 2 weeks ago after moving from Brooklyn. She was abolutely marvelous and helped us immensely.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wintercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    129
    43
    18
    7
See reviews for
36
223
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

We just got married at Hans Fahden in calistoga and had our entire wedding party stay at the Mountview. Cassi was unbelievable!! She was very helpful with all of our needs as we had people travelling with infants, toddlers etc. The pool is very private and the rooms have all just been remodeled. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a fun or romantic vacation in the valley.

We also ate at Jole which was one of the best meals i have ever had

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanside
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2009

Our trip to the the Mount View Hotel and Spa was in honor of our son and fiance for their wedding. The result was a fun and happy event thanks to the staff and management of the hotel. The service and accomodations are outstanding. Cassi and her staff spent hours assisting me with coordinating and arranging a very successful wine and cheese party poolside. We couldn't have done it without them, they made the evening a relaxed and fun event. Thank you Cassi once again. We will definitley return and recommend you to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceansidetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Honda, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

My husband and I booked what was supposedly a good deal at $279 for a "Taste of Calistoga" package that included 1 night's lodging, wine tasting at two wineries, 3 course dinner at BarVino, continental breakfast, and a couples hydrotherapy bath. Seems like a good deal, right? Well, the deal isn't so good if you don't get the full deal.

We booked this package because it was a nice way to spend the weekend as a couple and get pampered a little along the way. Things actually started really well--the hotel staff was friendly and attentive, the room was clean and well appointed, the aveda bath products and robes provided were appreciated, the hot tub was hot and bubbly, and the pool/hotel grounds well kept. We enjoyed the wineries included, even though they were at smaller family owned wineries (one of which doesn't charge for wine tasting). We also enjoyed the 3 course dinner, even though choices were limited to 3 per course--the choices were actually good, as was the food. And we enjoyed dipping in the hot tub after dinner. To finish the night off we slept quite well in our comfy bed. The next morning we awoke to a basic but appropriate continental breakfast (juice, coffee, fruit and pastries for two) and were excited to end our nearly perfect stay with the couples hydrotherapy bath.

We had made our appointment for 10am and had a lazy morning waiting for the hour to arrive. At 10am we walked to the spa located downstairs and were promptly disappointed to find out that the hotel had made a scheduling mistake and our spa appointment was not on the books. They were unable to fit us in until 3 hours later. Well, 3 hours later didn't work for us because we already had appointments to visit additional wineries that day. The hotel apologized and offered to refund $20 for the inconvenience. A $20 refund and an "I'm sorry" didn't really compensate for the disappointment when we had saved the best for last. After expressing exactly how disappointed we were, the hotel finally offered to refund another $40. They somewhat redeemed themselves with this, but the money wasn't the issue. We really would have preferred to have the experience. At any rate, we left with a bad impression because this was our final impression. I wish it would have ended better.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treasuringlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

We've stayed here before, in one of the suites overlooking Lincoln and was quite comfortable and happy with our room. This time, we thought we'd spring for a cottage, opting for more privacy. At $379 a night, I expected a bit more. The cottage is so tiny you've literally nowhere to unpack. There are nightstands with small drawers but no room for a chest of drawers. The closet is already full with an ironing board etc.

On the plus side, the bed was very comfortable. You get Aveda products and nice robes are provided.

Beware the advertised "jacuzzi" in your private courtyard. This is really just a round jetted tub that must be filled each time you want to soak. NOT a hot tub with a heat element. And you can be seen from the upper floors of the hotel so dip with caution. We also had to ask to get it cleaned out when we checked-in.

The spa at the hotel is very lovely though and we had wonderful treatments.

But $379 a night for a cottage the size of a walk in closet? Never again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shreddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

My fiancee and I needed a last-minute getaway and the Mount View delivered everything we could have wanted. The rooms are wonderful, especially the soft sheets and room appointments. Even in January (NorCal weather 50's & 60's) the pool was swimmable and the hot tub a relaxing delight. The staff was first-rate - friendly and helpful. The complimenatary continental breakfast, delivered to the room was awesome. The fresh baked scone and tasty coffee made for a delightful start to our day. Before we left, we booked our next stay and look forward to trying out the restaurant on-site JoLe, which was closed for a brief vacation.

  • Liked — Great service and excellent facilities
  • Disliked — Can't think of one
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank foxxdance68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2008

After a long drive, we turned up without a reservation to be given a wonderful welcome. The reception foyer and halls were lovely and the room had been recently redone and was pristine. The bed was really comfortable as well - we had a great sleep that night and didn't want to get up to go wine tasting.....

Overall, the staff were great and very helpful with directions and tips. Maybe because of the time of year, the price was also really good value. If you are coming to Calistoga as part of a wine tasting trip, this hotel is a comfortable base. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — The bed! The customer service was also wonderful.
  • Disliked — Being zapped on some of the metal accessories!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_in_Oxford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stevenson Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#11 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount View Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount View Hotel & Spa
Address: 1457 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#5 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount View Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Art of Relaxation at Mount View Hotel & Spa Napa Valley. The Mount View offers personal touches, amenities and spa services to surprise and delight you from facials and revitalizing body treatments to soothing massage. Zagat rated in Top U.S. Hotels, Resorts and Spas and a long-time member of the Green Hotels Association. Downtown, Romantic, Eco-friendly, Private Cabanas, Pool, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI and more.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mount View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount View Hotel Calistoga
Mount View Hotel And Spa
Mount View Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing