We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and restaurants, room needed more thought”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great staff and restaurants, room needed more thought”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Three couples chose this hotel for our stay in Calistoga. Hotel was quaint, had nice pool, hot tub, lobby, and fantastic restaurants. Conveniently located to everything we wanted to do in the Calistoga area. Staff was friendly and efficient. Check in and reservations including shuttle to wineries ( extra charge) was great, including our driver, Heather.
Unfortunately, we had room 115 which was a handicapped accessible room. There was no closet, only a small wardrobe which was too small to hang anything. The bathroom had no tub, which was fine, but there was zero counter space..only a small shelf under the mirror, so there was nowhere to place any toiletries.
We ended up moving a table into the bathroom from the bedroom so there was a place to put basic necessities. The hair dryer in all 3 rooms was useless..1 speed and only blew cold air! Towels were sometimes frayed, but always clean.
We had to live out of our suitcases all 4 days since we had no closet..room did come with an iron, but no ironing board. When we asked for one, they asked us if we had one in our closet..when we said we didn't have a closet, they looked stunned...but brought us an ironing board promptly.
The other drawback to room 115 is that it is next to the " housekeeping " room, so it is noisy. We closed the bathroom door and ran the tv and a/ c unit to muffle
the thumping on the other side of the wall.
On the plus side, the beds were the most comfortable of all the hotels we stayed at, and the restaurants are both exceptional .
We would stay here again, but not in the same room!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elliemaeclmpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    131
    45
    18
    7
See reviews for
37
234
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
178 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We were very impressed with the web site,and felt this would be a great hotel to park it for the night .It left us wanting to reconsider our choice.The lobby was unique and had some charm.The front desk staff were friendly. When we arrived at our room.....well it was musty,and the décor was not at all composed to a uniform theme.And the wall paper was difficult to look at.The room was small,and the kitchen area was in need of some servicing.Bathroom was nice.The outdoor spa,really was lacking,and it was very dirty. The continental breakfast consisted of a stale muffin,and a banana with a decantor of orange jucie. For the prices this hotel charges,we truly expected more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Revele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I returned again and was so fortunate to get a lovely king roomon short notice, on my birthday,. I was warmly greeted by Matt at the front desk, and it was so fun, seeing how much cozier the atmosphere was than even the last time I stayed a couple of years ago. The restaurant Barolo is "the" hot spot for late night dining; couples were enjoying life, wine and conversation in the lounge area in front of the hotel. My bed was heavenly, I slept like a baby after a late dinner and a hot bath in their nifty deep art-deco era porcelain bathtub. Woke up to a marvelous tray of good coffee, orange juice and special request healthy goodies I'd ordered the night before.
I've been staying at the Mount View over a 30 years span, and is still a "sweet spot" for me! Their fabulous spa is the best kept secret in the Napa Valley; great services and spa therapists.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor, don't recall which room. about int he middle of the hotel, it was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Napagal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, prime location, comfortable beds, and nice breakfast. Quaint rooms but not what most would expect given the price. A historical perspective is imperative to appreciate this hotel...and it delivers on that basis. Dining is stupendous at both adjoining restaurants and other fine eateries within walking distance in historic Calistoga. More pluses than negatives make this place a "must try" hotel to enjoy the "Napa experience."

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrSiffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel because the website is very well done and appealing. The reality is another. The hotel is in poor condition (see photos attached).
When we checked in they put us in room 231 (first floor, no lift), when we opened the door we realised that the room "view" was on a line of A/C very noisy, so we asked for changing, the reception lady first proposed room 229 (same story) then room 201 that was much better (king size bed and view over the rear garden). This was kind of them, the reception lady made no objections (evidently she knows). Considering that we paid 217 euros for the room, equivalent to approx. 300 US, a decent view would be the minimum. See attached photos to judge.
The room windows were dirty as if they didn't clean them for ages, the bathrobe had holes (see photos). Lots of spider nets.
The parking lot is far too small for all the clients.
The property is nice from the front door, the lobby is nice, and the decor of the rooms is nice, but beware: it is only superficial! If you look at the details you will find a lot to improve/change.
On check in we were asked what time we wish to have breakfast and what kind of coffee we preferred. I did not realise the reason. Usually during a vacation nobody decides the night before when he is going to wake up or to have breakfast the following morning.
The next morning I understood why. Breakfast was served in room and was soo poor I could not believe it (see photos attached). Croissants were gummy and tasted bad. Orange juice was nothing more than minute maid.
They pretend to be an hotel de charme, they have no idea what charme is.
It is evident the lackness of care and passion in this hotel.
It would be so easy to bake a couple of sponge cakes in the morning, or to squeeze fresh oranges, this would really make the difference.
To be honest (but I admit to be spoiled, coming from the most beautiful country in the world, Italy) the whole town of Calistoga and the whole Napa Valleys really lacks a "soul". It's impersonal and cold.
I would not come back.
And be aware not to incur in the misunderstanding as I did when I saw this hotel website!!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank cristefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MountViewMgr, General Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Cristefi,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Being the historic Hotel in the center of Downtown Calistoga that we are, we do have limitations on our views of the lots surrounding the hotel. We do market ourselves as a small boutique hotel and this is truly what we are. The Mount View Hotel & Spa is celebrating 101 years of hospitality and we take great pride in providing a relaxing experience for all of our guests and rely on our guest's feedback to let us know when we fall short so we can improve the experience immediately. The first priority for our maintenance department this week is the windows on our second story rooms.

Each room in the hotel is individually appointed and we provide different room type options to best accommodate your comfort and experience while staying at Mount View Hotel & Spa. We also feature private Artist Winery Cottages, each with their own patio and Jacuzzi Tub. These stand alone cottages are truly a gem in a downtown setting, offering privacy while still offering the convenience of the central downtown location. I appreciate your patience as the staff tried to choose the best room for you and apologize that the first two were not the right fit. For the more extravagant in decor and space, our Suites and Cottages would be my recommendation. Our Guestrooms are smaller rooms and are calmer in décor, but still attractive and fun.

It is very important to us to promote a strong local economy and we choose to feature local shops in our complimentary continental breakfast including fresh baked pastries from highly acclaimed Sweetie Pies Bakery, fruit, orange juice, Calistoga Roastery coffee & Numi tea, is an added amenity that we hope brings light to your morning. I am sorry to hear that the pastries were not to your liking. I promise to follow up with the disappointment on the consistency of the pastries you received. We constantly get positive feedback from our breakfast, they are baked and delivered fresh each morning, so I will look into this right away with our bakery.

I appreciate your honesty and feedback. If you would like to reach out to me personally, I would be grateful for the opportunity to make up the shortfalls of your experience. We are truly passionate about the experience we strive to provide and take great care to make up for when we fall short.

Best regards,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We booked this hotel on the last minute, so it was extremely expensive, but we had no choice,,,
Room decoration is nice, but maybe its because i was too tired of driving? I did not sleep well, just felt like something weired in the room...sorri if I sound a lil scary, well I think its really because I was too tired ..never mind...
The staff is nice too, and we also booked the hotel spa, the "mud bath", its just mud water in a tub.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yauany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My girlfriend and I came to Calistoga to spend two relaxing days and nights shopping and getting pampered. Alma welcomed us with enthusiasm and Nicole made sure we got a wonderful two bedroom suite with a sitting room. The atmosphere is low key and elegant; the pool area clean and relaxing. We sank into our beds and never wanted to leave! We both enjoyed a wonderful facial with Corinne and agreed that when we return - we wanted to get another! The Mount View Hotel and Spa is centrally located among the shops of downtown Calistoga and is convenient to everyplace we wanted to be!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked Lincoln Ave but was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilynmoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
554 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#10 of 15 in Calistoga
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount View Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount View Hotel & Spa
Address: 1457 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount View Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Art of Relaxation at Mount View Hotel & Spa Napa Valley. The Mount View offers personal touches, amenities and spa services to surprise and delight you from facials and revitalizing body treatments to soothing massage. Zagat rated in Top U.S. Hotels, Resorts and Spas and a long-time member of the Green Hotels Association. Downtown, Romantic, Eco-friendly, Private Cabanas, Pool, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI and more.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount View Hotel And Spa
Mount View Hotel Calistoga
Mount View Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing