We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Older boutique hotel”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Throw back to the 30's and 40's. This is an older hotel, no elevator. However, the decor has quite a bit of sass. Black, white, Red, and animal print. Loved it. However, the bathroom needs to be updated (the tiles are ugly, but I'm sure they're the originals). Once again, this is an older hotel, in fact it's getting ready to turn 101, and it posted as a historical hotel. It has a spa, and I must highly recommend the mud bath. Spectacular. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's located in the quaint town of Calistoga, next door to Jole' restaurant, the food was DELICIOUS.
Continental breakfast was delivered to the room every day, it consisted of Coffee, orange juice, an apple, a banana, and two muffins. A Perfect beginning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina4UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    131
    45
    18
    7
See reviews for
37
233
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the detached casitas. Seems like it is the room pictured above. Was pricy, but private, no adjoining neighbors n WELL worth it! Definitely coming back. Be CERTAIN to eat at Jolé in lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5Foodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very much enjoyed the Mount View Hotel in Calistoga. We booked one of the "cottages," which are separate from the main hotel by a driveway/parking area (in fact you can park just by your cottage). I believe there are 4 cottages, but they are connected, so do not expect total silence (although we heard very little other than a jacuzzi running). The cottages have a lovely private outdoor area with a small table and two chairs and a jacuzzi. Check-in was quick and very friendly. The staff told us if we wanted to use the jacuzzi they would be happy to set it up for us. The cottage had a queen bed, a small, but nice, bathroom, and a small kitchenette area (with a fridge and a microwave). It also had a bottle of wine (each cottage seems to be sponsored by a local winery) and glasses. Overall it was very nice, even in the dead of winter. We loved the outdoor jacuzzi. The room also came with a breakfast of orange juice, coffee and a couple of pastries - just the right amount to start the day and still be able to enjoy the local fare. Overall it felt like a bed and breakfast. The hotel is certainly old, and in a few ways it shows its age, so don't expect posh living. But for a romantic get-away, I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Cottage 101 is right next to a mostly unused parking lot, so it's probably the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruise_Ship_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassi D, Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Cruise_Ship_Tony,

Thank you for the wonderful review! Romantic Cottage Get-a-way is exactly how we hope they are experienced!
All of our Cottages and Winery Suites come with a great bottle of Napa Valley Wine from their partnered winery. The cottages do indeed have mini-fridges, but none of our rooms have microwaves.
We hope you are able to come back for some more Romance and Relaxation!

Cheers!

Cassi D
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have stayed at the Mount View several times and it never disappoints. We did not pre book as I find you may get a better price just walking in! We got a beautiful room - more a suite really with not one but 2 flat screen televisions! There was a lounge area with a sofa as we entered then the bedroom through an arch - very nice indeed. The only problem was when Jole restaurant underneath put on the extractor fans from their kitchen later but reception assured us it would stop at 9.00 p.m. and so it did! When the bill was put under the door in the morning it was for $275 not the price of $150 which we had got - however a visit to reception sorted this out. In spite of little niggles we would stay again as it is such a convenient location.

Room Tip: Be prepared to bargain! The rooms over the car park at the side may be noisy from the kitchen fans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phylliso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassi D, Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Hello nyo2007,

Thank you for your wonderful review. I do apologies that your bill was incorrect at your check-out and I am happy to hear the staff quickly righted the situation.

We tend to offer same day discounts midweek in our off season, but please note, that we are not always able to offer a discount.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Cheers!

Cassi D.
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here with my wife for three nights in early October. We stayed in a queen deluxe room. The bathroom was ok and spacious but the room itself was a little small. We didn't have much luggage so we weren't inconvenienced by the size of the room, but if you have a lot of things with you a bigger room would be a better idea. The door to our room was a little thin so you could hear people speaking in the hallways. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean.

The pool and hot tub are open 24/7 and the pool area itself is very nice. We used the pool facilities quite a few times. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the internet was free. The complimentary breakfast was delivered at the time of our choosing, and ours arrived on time both mornings. There is coffee, juice, and some breads / muffins. It's not huge but it's enough to start the day. Besides, there are a lot of places in town where you can find a place to eat.

Speaking of places to eat, we very much enjoyed our meals at JoLe and Solbar. Both were within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is located right in the middle of town.. There is a deli across the street that makes great sandwiches, and there is a grocery store a block or so away., We booked a wine tasting by bicycle tour with the Calistoga Bike Shop (much recommended!) which was also a short walk from the hotel.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us and if we want to stay in Calistoga again we would definitely consider this hotel, only not the queen deluxe room as it was a little small.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnum55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Good location, but overpriced and oversold on website. Over $200 for our room and they could not accommodate a 6:30 a.m. breakfast, generally dropped at the door. Booked a mud bath and it was a tub full of muddy water for $100/couple. No safe in room, no coffee maker in room.
Front staff friendly, restaurant attached, which has a good reputation. We did not try it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELES ESCAPE B a... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

my husband and i stayed for one night mid week. we had a suite which was a nice size. the bed was VERY comfortable. breakfast in the room was nice, though a bit small. we loved the location, right in town, easy to walk around. we had a massage and it was good. not great but better than average. everyone was very friendly.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelbugbrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cassi D, Manager at Mount View Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello Travelbugbrooklyn,

Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in one of our Winery Suites. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope to have you as our guests in the futre.

Cheers!

Cassi D.
Hospitality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calistoga
0.3 mi away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
554 reviews
5.9 mi away
Wine Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Indian Springs Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Solage, an Auberge Resort
Solage, an Auberge Resort
#2 of 15 in Calistoga
908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
#10 of 15 in Calistoga
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount View Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount View Hotel & Spa

Property: Mount View Hotel & Spa
Address: 1457 Lincoln Ave, Calistoga, CA 94515-1417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Calistoga
#4 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#6 Business Hotel in Calistoga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mount View Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the Art of Relaxation at Mount View Hotel & Spa Napa Valley. The Mount View offers personal touches, amenities and spa services to surprise and delight you from facials and revitalizing body treatments to soothing massage. Zagat rated in Top U.S. Hotels, Resorts and Spas and a long-time member of the Green Hotels Association. Downtown, Romantic, Eco-friendly, Private Cabanas, Pool, Jacuzzi, Free WIFI and more.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount View Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount View Hotel And Spa
Mount View Hotel Calistoga
Mount View Calistoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing