We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, unique, a mud bath you'll never forget”

Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This Napa Valley landmark soothes visitors through mud baths, steam rooms, massages and more. For 64 years and still family owned and managed, a visit to one of the few remaining family ventures is old school and good...We are real!
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun, unique, a mud bath you'll never forget”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went for "the works". It was really fun to sit neck-deep in mud, rinse off and get a massage. I can't recommend it enough and would definitely go back.

The atmosphere is laid-back and fun, a refreshing break from some places that take themselves too seriously. We were about 15 minutes late, and the staff graciously accommodated us.

I would recommend asking when you check in about the tip. My friend and I did not enquire before we paid. There was not room to write in a tip on the charge, and we did not bring cash.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Owner at Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Kate S,

Thank you for your kind review! I am happy that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again soon!

Warm best wishes,
Mark Wilkinson

P.S. Gratuities can be left on a credit cad for the staff...sorry for any confusion about that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    12
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“What a fabulous Spa!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay! I had a mud bath, mineral bath and massage. Kathryn, my masseuse was incredible! Having been to a couple of other spas, this is the only spa we will go to in Calistoga from now on!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tobetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing relaxation”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight at DWHS and of course had to do the mud ......"the works". I was totally apprehensive but after reading reviews and encouraged by the wife, I was willing. The mud is like nothing other! Imagine a hot steamy oatmeal bath, thick and lumpy....then a face mask and cucumbers over the eyes. Very different for me to say the least! Enrique was my attendant and he was great! After the mud came a shower (very important!), then a tub bath, steam room and a blanket wrap. I was already like Gumby and then had the most incredible massage with Nicole....one of the best hours of my life! :). It's a bathhouse...no pretension just good, actually great. I have been to five star places many times......Four Seasons Maui, Halekulani, Kahala, Beverly Hills Hotel, Hotel Bel Air, etc, etc..... and have done the spa things there for a lot more money. Best bang for the buck is Dr. Wilkinson's! Glitz? no...Quality .....yes and big time. Go there!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
“Great group spa experience!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and a group of her friends visited for a spa day for a bachelorette party and had a great experience. Clean, relaxing, and a care-free time! Mark Wilkinson and his staff were very helpful in making this a great relaxing day!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KareyU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kitschy and relaxing!”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Perfectly preserved resort, looking as though it was pulled out of 1950s Palm Springs! Had a wonderful, incredibly relaxing time at first mud bath. Will definitely return for more!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scott_chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort also viewed

 
Calistoga, Napa Valley
 

Been to Dr. Wilkinson's Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing