We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous position”
other travelers have booked this property
Cowes View seaside cottage looking over The Solent
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cowes View seaside cottage looking over The Solent
Sea View, from the main bedroom, The Solent, Hampshire Isle of Wight in the distance, view from the balcony off the main bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Cowes View seaside cottage looking over The Solent
Sea View, from the main bedroom, The Solent, Hampshire
Isle of Wight in the distance, view from the balcony off the main bedroom
view from the garden directly over the sea
sea faring bed linen
bedroom 2 with a comfortable double bed
through dining kitchen and lounge with panoramic views,
Valentines weekend
Hill Head driftwood gate
sea side holiday cottage Hampshire
The flags are flown for special occassions
The crews nest
Wet room , ground floor
Swallows ahoy
Osborne View pub , Hill Head
private path to Hill Head beach
stranded container ship, viewed directly from cottage, no TV needed!!
panoramic view of Cowes View at low tide early morning
sunrise over Cowes View, Hill Head, Hampshire
sunset from Cowes View garden
Solent with Ventura in the distance
Cowes View in snow time
Nelson's battleship ,The Victory, close by in Portsmouth
The New Forest National Park, great for cycling and walking
speedy way to enjoy a day trip to the Isle of Wight
Osborne House beach is opposite Cowes View on the Isle of Wight
Spinnaker Tower, great views across The Solent and North towards the Meon Valley
The largest cruise ship arriving in Southampton, all the cruise ships pass by Cowes View
The 3 Queens, were watched from Cowes View as they sailed passed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hill Head, Fareham, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Sunshine5...
1 review
“Fabulous position”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

A lovely cottage, great inside as well as outside with everything we could have wanted. Mel was very helpful and easy to deal with. The location is beautiful, beach on the doorstep,fabulous views and good food at the pub and cafe. We would love to visit again.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jojdling
Old Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“A magical cottage with spectacular views”
Reviewed November 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Holidays are precious times and you want to know you are staying somewhere really special. Which is why we have already booked up for next year, representing our third successive visit. A look in the guestbook will tell you everyone usually returns many times. Cowes View provides a warm and wonderful escape from our very busy lives, and the Solent views will take your breath away.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 29, 2017
Thanks Jo, yes holidays are very precious so it's great to spend it somewhere special like Cowes View.
I look forward to welcoming you back this summer. The sea air and sunshine awaits your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie P
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cosy cottage with great views”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Well equipped, cosy cottage .Osborne view Pub with good food five minutes walk away .Breezes opposite the Pub is not to be missed great breakfast ,lunch and cream teas ,next to that is one of the best Chinese takeaways I have ever had. The cottage has a great information folder , where to go if you don`t know the area well .You can explore the area by foot with some great walks ,the local bus stops opposite the cottage ,great base to explore a wider area by car . It is suitable for all ages .I would love to return for another holiday .The host Mel is very pleasant and was quick to answer any question . I would high recommend this property .

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: there was nothing i didn't like
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ncolgan20...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Fabulous holiday cottage”
Reviewed June 12, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was our second visit to the Southampton area and the cottage was the main reason we came back! It's a great base for families with young kids, cosy, beautifully decorated and the views are amazing. Its also spotlessly clean and has everything you'd need for your stay. Highly recommend and we'll definitely be back!

Date of stay: June 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2016
Thank you Neil, great to welcome you back to Cowes View, glad you had another great trip, Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
al522016
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Original, quirky, and comfortable home from home with beautiful sea views!”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Cowes View is a little gem! Minutes from the sea but close to shops, pubs and cafes too. Cute garden and seating area, comfy lounge and well equipped kitchen, plus a brilliant wet room downstairs. Such a beautiful main bedroom upstairs with a balcony to soak up the sun and the views, as well as a further bathroom and a good sized second bedroom.
It has everything you could need for a wonderful, relaxing break with plenty to look at and do both inside and outside of the house. It's rare to find a holiday cottage that fits the bill so perfectly, and for me Cowes View did just that - Thank you!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The originality of the decor and of course the sea views
Liked least: The low boundary wall/shrubs outside means the garden isn't very private
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
924kather...
Dormansland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing as always ”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We revisited again this year and I swear every year that view gets better!!

What more could you want, great accommodation in a great location close to everything; shops, take aways and most importantly a great pub!

I would highly recommend staying at Cowes View

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2016
Thanks Kate for coming again , look forward to welcoming you back next year for the 8th year running! Mel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Valentines Competition Win”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is the third time I have stayed at Cowes View. My children and I have stayed at the cottage twice before and they loved it, especially the mezzanine floor off of the main bedroom. This time was special though as it was a competition win for Valentines day. When we arrived the owners had made a special Valentines welcome for us, see pictures attached, we felt very spoilt. The cottage is very welcoming and quirky (in a good way). I will definitely come again for a short break with the children this year.

Date of stay: February 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 4, 2017
Thanks Lisa for your words, hope to see you for another visit and well done for winning our competition.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing