We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel! and Melissa is GREAT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in California City
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel! and Melissa is GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I recently stayed 2 nights at the BW California City. It was the closest BW I could find near Edwards Air Force Base. The hotel is very fresh and new. Interior corridors, everything is fresh and clean, lots of parking,
Very quiet (California City is a very small town).
Very clean, beds were very comfortable, very good experience.
Breakfast had hot items like bacon or sausage and scrambled eggs as well as the usual continental fare.
I would like to especially send my gratitude to Melissa and Krystal. My wife somehow left the camera in the room. We didn't find it for two days. When I called the hotel Krystal told me she would check into it, and called me back with the good news the next morning, and set it aside for pickup.
And, Melissa went OUT OF HER WAY to make sure FedEx picked up the package. She even bubble wrapped and packed into a little box for shipping! And called me from her personal cell to inform me of the delivery and tracking number...That's customer service for you!
If I were EVER go back to visit that area, this hotel is on the top of my list for sure!
Thank you Melissa and Krystal, you saved our vacation.
Also like to thank Allyssa for the great customer service and travel recommendations while we were staying there...
No complaints at all.
Thumbs up!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    52
    14
    8
    0
See reviews for
68
40
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
richmond, bc
Level Contributor
217 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is hotel located in California City literally in the middle of nowhere.
The hotel is quite new and clean, beds are comfortable. We were originally booked for the suite with the sofa bed but the sofa bed was too small, so they moved us to a room with two queens instead. The rooms are quite comfy and fresh. Everything works as advertised. Internet connection was great. Breakfast was good, except for the 2nd day everything was out and had to ask the front desk to replenish. Otherwise no complaints!
If there had to be a complaint, it would be the sinks are too small.

Room Tip: if you have 4 people, don't choose the suite with sofa bed... sofa bed is too narrow to sleep 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solaris_pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Okay the title may sound a little creepy. This was my second stay in this hotel. I was so pleased with the first stay, I booked my next business visit.
The hotel is clean, smells clean, has nice a nice look and the staff was quite courteous. The best part is that it is located in a quaint little town. No street noise. No hustle and bustle of a big city.
I've already booked my next stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee_gaylord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prunedale, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I would like to thank both Wendy (night time) and Melissa (Mornings) for making our short stay effortless and comfortable. The room was very clean and large accommodating two queen size beds. The bathroom and shower was really nice. This is a brand-new best Western and it shows. There may not be too much to do in California city however they do have about two or three restaurants including Jesse's pizza who delivered to our room after normal delivery times. They do this especially for the best Western people, and I haven't had a pizza piled on so much stuff, it was fabulous. If you're driving down 58 coming or going and need a good place to stop for the night I highly recommend this place its new and it's nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeAnzaCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a nice new hotel in an otherwise uninteresting city in the desert. But they have managed to have green lawns and they are lucky to have a golf course next door which is also nice to look at. The staff at the hotel are first class and they are doing an outstanding job: they are friendly and helpful and they pay attention to your needs. Particularly Alyssa at the front desk was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was an excellent stay. It was by far the ‘best” Best Western that We’ve stayed in, “Wendi‘, the front desk host was superior with her hosting skills and set a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. She was very helpful with any question we had as well. This Hotel is around a year old, but it felt like it was built yesterday. The staff keeps it looking brand new and extremely clean. The accommodations are of the utmost quality and Wendi and the staff made it comparable to the Radisson, Marriot, or the Hyatt Regency. The breakfast was good and satisfying and kept us sustained for a half of a day. We were only going to stay two nights, but decided to stay three. This Hotel gets are five star rating. And I would highly recommend the stay for any and everyone. Thank you :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is very new and very nice, considering how bad the surroundings are. Melissa at the front desk was friendly and made sure all was well. Most of the guests appeared to be construction contract workers. Only problem I had was that there were no decent restaurants within a mile.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank osorio14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near California City
13.4 mi away
Mariah Country Inn & Suites
12.2 mi away
Silver Saddle Ranch & Club
Silver Saddle Ranch & Club
#2 of 2 in California City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Desert Winds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave - Airport
13.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
13.8 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#3 of 8 in Mojave
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites
Address: 10386 California City Blvd, California City, CA 93505-6302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in California City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites Welcome to the BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites! Proud to host those who serve, this California City hotel is a favorite for guests in town for Edwards Air Force Base, but we also cater to vacationers, truckers and business travelers. When guests are close to stunning recreational opportunities at Red Rock Canyon or can easily explore the beauty of the Mojave Desert, it instantly makes any trip that much better. Sports are big business in this part of the state, with motocross events at SOCAL OTMX bringing in competitors and fans from around the world. Whether it is hiking, business at the base or an adrenaline packed motocross event that is on the agenda, staying in comfort is crucial. New appliances in every room and a lavish pool make guests feel at home. This California City hotel is renowned for cleanliness, but it is hospitality that really sets the bar high. Enjoy a fitness room on site to keep up with those workout regimens and a meeting room so you do not have to go far to close the deal. Slip away to the Desert Tortoise Preserve and get to know some real locals. Enjoy a golf tournament at one of the local courses or simply spend the day working on that swing. The nearby Silver Saddle Ranch and Club is a peek into the Wild West and entertainment for the whole family. Even business travelers with the Borax Mine and local correctional facility make time to enjoy everything Mother Nature has to offer. Truly get away from it all with a stay at this California City hotel. Construction and repair crews can take advantage of extended stay rates, and those with NASA or aerospace companies make the most of an escape from the hustle and bustle. Whether it is work bringing guests here for months or you are just passing through, make the most of your trip by staying in comfortable accommodations. Reserve a quiet stay at the BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites for the best rates around! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing