We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Tripping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western California City Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in California City
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Mirage
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Day Tripping”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We started our summer vacation by day tripping out of this hotel. Tons to see and do within an hour's drive. Hotel is new. Rooms are big and clean. Staff is friendly. Free wireless internet. Workout room. Pool. The place was quiet even though it was sold out with construction crews staying for the week. Breakfast is OK and I always appreciate when they have eggs and sausage (makes my diabetes happier)! Boron mine, Spaceport, big cat sanctuary, petroglyphs, museums, kitchy diners and more all close by. City closes down at 8:00 (the pizza restaurant closed at 8:00 on a Friday night!) so be forewarned. Only drawback was that the elevator overheated and was closed for a day and a half, which is tough when you are on the third floor with bad knees...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TikkunOlaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    59
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
74
48
15
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful, very clean, BIG rooms! New.
We were there durning a lighting storm and the electricity went out three times but came right back on. The personal we're friendly and the price was very good. We would stay here anytime!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Melissa at the BW in Cal City made my stay Incredible! I loved the hotel friendly staff great service especially Melissa! The staff here all go above and beyond to make you feel welcome. I have stayed at the Hotel three times now. I intend on going back and would recommended this Hotel to anyone. clean rooms, Food , and if Melissa is working you will feel like you are at home away from home! :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank securityguy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We had a sudden loss in the family and needed a block of rooms immediately and close in the area.Under this very stressful time, Ms. Lisa Hamilton and her staff worked patiently with us to give us the best absolute deal. I live in California City and never had a need to visit the hotel. As my family members arrived different times of the day, check-in was performed smoothly by the staff. My family couldn't believe there was a fridge and microwave in the rooms, the rooms were so clean, fresh, still new looking and that the breakfast served was excellent. Lisa and your staff - THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH. Knowing my family was in good hands during this sorrowful time for us was very comforting.

Room Tip: We upgraded one room to a suite and was pleasantly surprised there were 2 bathrooms in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2012

we stayed at this hotel twice, first on August 15th 2012,and again August 19th 2012. We found it to be very clean and comfortable. the staff was very attentive, providing extra towels and blankets for us.the complimentary breakfast was excellent, especially the coffee, and it was available early, which I appreciated very much because I am an early riser and drink a lot of coffee before breakfast! the staff attending us on the first visit were Meliisa, - I did not get the others name- and set-up was done by Justine. on the second visit they were Melissa,Michelle, Lisa and Ben.

Room Tip: California City is a little off the interstae highway, but well worth the effort. We called ahead an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythe, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I was driving to California City without knowing where to spend the night and came across the Best Western California City Inn which opened recently the last few months. Not on my GPS but was a welcomed sight. Charie checked me in that night with a smile and Melissa assisted me with checkout and information about the city and to call if there were any other requests. Great room, great service.

Room Tip: If there are no rooms, ask for the handicap room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were touring the Mojave Desert and gave out of steam in Caifornia City, so we looked for a modern hotel with a refreshing pool and a place to barbecue. We spotted all 3 at BW so pulled in and got rooms. Only then did we learn that the poolside barbecues "belonged to the guests." Huh? It turns out, not many tourists show up here (since so many people are shoplifting desert tortoises from the nearby preserve); it's mostly contractors for Edwards AFB. So they come prepared for a long stay and bring their own BBQs. This BBQ deprivation forced us to look for dinner in town. The place is not very vibrant, economically speaking, so we had to do some defensive dining at a local pizza place. But the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful; they seemed always around chatting and we enjoyed their company.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near California City
12.3 mi away
Silver Saddle Ranch & Club
Silver Saddle Ranch & Club
#2 of 2 in California City
6 reviews
13.2 mi away
Mariah Country Inn & Suites
13.9 mi away
Best Western Desert Winds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
13.9 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave - Airport
13.8 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave
Motel 6 Mojave
#5 of 8 in Mojave
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western California City Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western California City Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western California City Inn & Suites
Address: 10386 California City Blvd, California City, CA 93505-6302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in California City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western California City Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites Welcome to the BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites! Proud to host those who serve, this California City hotel is a favorite for guests in town for Edwards Air Force Base, but we also cater to vacationers, truckers and business travelers. When guests are close to stunning recreational opportunities at Red Rock Canyon or can easily explore the beauty of the Mojave Desert, it instantly makes any trip that much better. Sports are big business in this part of the state, with motocross events at SOCAL OTMX bringing in competitors and fans from around the world. Whether it is hiking, business at the base or an adrenaline packed motocross event that is on the agenda, staying in comfort is crucial. New appliances in every room and a lavish pool make guests feel at home. This California City hotel is renowned for cleanliness, but it is hospitality that really sets the bar high. Enjoy a fitness room on site to keep up with those workout regimens and a meeting room so you do not have to go far to close the deal. Slip away to the Desert Tortoise Preserve and get to know some real locals. Enjoy a golf tournament at one of the local courses or simply spend the day working on that swing. The nearby Silver Saddle Ranch and Club is a peek into the Wild West and entertainment for the whole family. Even business travelers with the Borax Mine and local correctional facility make time to enjoy everything Mother Nature has to offer. Truly get away from it all with a stay at this California City hotel. Construction and repair crews can take advantage of extended stay rates, and those with NASA or aerospace companies make the most of an escape from the hustle and bustle. Whether it is work bringing guests here for months or you are just passing through, make the most of your trip by staying in comfortable accommodations. Reserve a quiet stay at the BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites for the best rates around! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western California City Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing