We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly nice stay at the Anza”
Review of The Anza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Anza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed at The Anza for 4 nites, 12/27-30. Was pleasantly surprised after less than satisfactory stays under previous management when it was the Country Inn and "Suites" (of which there were none). Excellent job of remodeling rooms and lobby areas. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Improved pool and fitness room as well (but the big screen TV in the Fitness Room wasn't working).

We'd definitely come back for future visits to see family in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElliotL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,203)
There are newer reviews for The Anza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,014 - 1,020 of 1,203 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

I really like staying here. If it's reasonably priced then it's a good hotel to stay considering the location and the cleanliness and the renovations they have done to this hotel! It comes with a mini fridge and a microwave.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indisri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay on a road trip from SF to LA. Calabasas was a last minute choice and I selected the Anza based on the reviews, pictures and price. I was impressed!

The good:
1. The rooms are very big and have recently been updated - they are super cool.
2. The bed linens are good and the rooms clean and tidy
3. The reception area is very nice, there are two Apple Macs, a pile of WSJ newspapers, a well stocked cafe/bar and lots of seating space
4. The room rate includes parking and WiFi
5. There is a nice gym and pool area

The less good:
1. The corridors haven't been refurbished, they have horrid patterned yellow/orange carpet from around 1973 and the bedroom doors are a dreadful beige - I guess the USD 6m refurb hasn't yet reached the corridors.
2. The bed and pillows were very soft - much too soft for my liking (I think the beds are designed to be soft rather than having softened through age/wear and tear.
3. The 101 runs behind the hotel so you might have a problem with road noise - best to check your room allocation before you book
4. The cleaning staff didn't thoroughly clean our room and left drinking glasses and coffee condiments lying around.

Another bonus is that the old town of Calabasas and the Commons shopping centre are great to visit and a couple of minutes walk form the hotel. I would definitely stay again and recommend the hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: Make sure your room doesn't face the 101
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights for our Xmas vacation. We stayed in the hotel prior to their remodel and I can state that it is cleaner and looks very nice and modern. Will definitely return. Also, they are very accommodating to pets. They provided a bed, bowl and treat for our little dog. Thank You!


Room Tip: Staff was very attentive to cleanliness. They did not move any of our belongings.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabby Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I stayed overnight at the hotel because I was in town for local wedding. It is centrally located to everything in the area. The staff was fantastic and the accommodations were better than anticipated. A very nice boutique style modern hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The recent remodel of the hotel is quietly contemporary and well done. But even the engineer couldn't figure out the room thermostat, leaving us too warm all night. And while the "rain head" shower is cool looking, it makes rinsing off a too lengthy process, not to mention difficulty in keeping one's hair dry.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaVo760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed at your hotel a week.12/23/13-12/30/13.Room was lovely. Your choice of cheap tissues is poor. Very poor quality. Go to Kleenex. Much classier. Your toilet paper is fine. Cottonelle. Good quality. Your Do Not Disturb door hanger should be changed. One side should be in blue and say "Do Not Disturb". The other side should be in Red and say "Please make up room". One day we came back to our room at 4:30pm and the room was not made up. All in all we had a very nice stay. Good luck with the hotel. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: As stated before. Your Wi-Fi is also very good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabasas
Good Nite Inn - Calabasas
#3 of 3 in Calabasas
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anza Hotel

Address: 23627 Calabasas Rd, Calabasas, CA 91302-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Calabasas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Price Range: $134 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the stylish and inviting ambiance of Calabasas itself, The Anza features modern design and contemporary decor with a casual vibe. While our personal attention to service creates a welcoming environment, not unlike what you would expect while staying with close friends, The Anza offers an entirely new hotel experience in Calabasas. Casual but timeless, modern but comfortable. Enter the bright and airy lobby designed with areas to socialize and relax. With communal tables, lounge seating around a fireplace, and media den, it's the perfect spot to gather with friends or meet new ones. Graze Bistro & Bar provides tempting light fare and a selection of local wines and beers, while The Market offers grab-and-go snacks and other sundries. Enjoy a cabana at the pool or a brisk workout. Or simply retreat to your oversized guest room where a neutral color palette creates an inviting sense of calm and comfort and mindful amenities provide all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your The Anza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calabasas Hotel Calabasas
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Calabasas
Country Inn Calabasas
Calabasas Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing