We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, friendly staff”
Review of The Anza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a nice hotel and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable.

Only two small complaints kept this from being a 5 star rating. First, the shower was awful. It was a trendy open glass shower, with no door and a big Moen rain head. The big head was completely useless for actually getting clean, and the lack of a door meant a cold shower and wet bathroom floor. Good looking, but completely non-functional design.

Second, this hotel allows pets and I was allergic to my room. I am allergic to dogs and cats, and even though the room was clean I was having trouble breathing and had itchy eyes. Hotels for for people KENNELS ARE FOR PEOPLE!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a no pet room if it matters to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garritt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genarro M, General Manager at The Anza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Garritt H,
It’s great to get a nice compliment on our friendly helpful staff and excellent that you enjoyed our clean comfortable newly renovated rooms. As far as our pet friendly policy- we have specifically designed pet rooms that feature all hard surface flooring that covers the entire room. These floors are easy to clean and maintain and we do use these rooms exclusively for our pet owning guest. I do apologize for the fact that during your stay you did suffer from your allergies and would like to assure you that we have done all we can in both service and design to protect our allergic guest from exposure to our pet friendly rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

I loved staying for an extended time. The Anza is centrally located with excellent accommodations. I liked that I had a safe and close room to the front desk. The parking was convenient and I loved that you have a Starbucks café.

Room Tip: Keep up the good work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is a cool boutique hotel with exceptionally friendly staff and nice rates. It is pet friendly, so ask for a room far from those with pets if you prefer not to hear barking dogs. Right next to the freeway, but the sound is not disruptive. Right in old downtown Calabasas. Lots of shopping, restaurants, grocery within walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrigitteBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We traveled to California from Texas to celebrate my daughters 16th birthday. We both loved the hotel. It was very nice, clean and the location was perfect. The staff was great and helpful. The only thing was our room door was swollen so it was hard to open. We will defiantly stay here again when we travel back to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lashawnda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

very nice improvements to the old Calabasis Inn. room is high tech as well as bath. I loved the European shower. business center in room was also great. I have been staying at this property since 1995 and love the location, price, and now the remodel!

Room Tip: A/C needs a "fan" control to slow down fan as an option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is extremely affordable to stay in Calabasas, rooms are pretty big, new, and modern. The lobby is beautiful, location is convinient close to The Commons and the Freeway. It's definitely worth the price. I'll stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlatenHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We checked out The Anza as a potential wedding room block for my daughter's wedding next spring at Orcutt Ranch. We loved the location as it is literally next to a couple of fun bars, a park and the Saturday morning farmers' market. The hallways and doors were pretty unappealing with botchy paint and awkward placement of the door knob and key readers. The rooms are pretty cool, though, and the bathroom is very modern. The public areas and lounge are maybe trying just a bit too hard to be trendy and the restaurant is really below average. We won't be booking here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanttoGetoutMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genarro M, General Manager at The Anza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear WanttoGetoutMore,
It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the location and nearby attractions of the newly branded Anza hotel. I am happy to inform you that we are completing the last leg of our renovation soon and this will include the hallways and doors that you mention in your review. However it’s disappointing to hear that you find our public areas and lounge too trendy for your taste. We did our best to keep the new design casual & timeless while remaining casual & comfortable. Keeping all of this in mind we hope you will again choose the Anza when staying in the Calabasas area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabasas
Good Nite Inn - Calabasas
#3 of 3 in Calabasas
707 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anza Hotel

Address: 23627 Calabasas Rd, Calabasas, CA 91302-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Calabasas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Price Range: $133 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the stylish and inviting ambiance of Calabasas itself, The Anza features modern design and contemporary decor with a casual vibe. While our personal attention to service creates a welcoming environment, not unlike what you would expect while staying with close friends, The Anza offers an entirely new hotel experience in Calabasas. Casual but timeless, modern but comfortable. Enter the bright and airy lobby designed with areas to socialize and relax. With communal tables, lounge seating around a fireplace, and media den, it's the perfect spot to gather with friends or meet new ones. Graze Bistro & Bar provides tempting light fare and a selection of local wines and beers, while The Market offers grab-and-go snacks and other sundries. Enjoy a cabana at the pool or a brisk workout. Or simply retreat to your oversized guest room where a neutral color palette creates an inviting sense of calm and comfort and mindful amenities provide all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Anza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calabasas Hotel Calabasas
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Calabasas
Country Inn Calabasas
Calabasas Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing