We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, mid range option, newly renovated”
Review of The Anza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Anza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice, mid range option, newly renovated”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is not full service and the pool is a really big bathtub but the renovations are new and NICE, room was large, free self-parking and friendly folks. Good location walking distance from farmer's market, mall and town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    392
    105
    23
    15
See reviews for
397
237
70
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The rooms, lobby and pool area are gorgeous, just like the photos on the web site. I found it odd that they didn't bother redecorating the hallways (the carpets, doors and curtains were clearly from a previous incarnation of the hotel), but I was impressed with the overall look of the hotel, especially for such a great value. Don't mistake the high end design for a high end hotel, though, the level of service is in line with the rates you pay (which is fine, just good to know in advance).
We stayed for 1 night with our dog while we were having some work done on our house nearby. The location is great, right next to shopping, services and restaurants. They are advertised pretty heavily as a pet-friendly hotel, but sadly didn't offer all of the boasted amenities on their web site. We did not get a dog bed and no floor mat for the food and water bowls. We thought they would provide these items, particularly the dog bed, since it's the first thing listed on their site ("Comfy, clean pet bed in just the right size for your pet"), but even though we let them know in advance that we were bringing a dog, there were no amenities when we checked in. When I tried to call the front desk to inquire about them, I could not get through, and the hotel operator line just kept ringing and ringing. When we walked up to the front desk, the attendant (who was very friendly otherwise but only attentive on a 3-star level) asked me 3 times if I was sure that it was THEIR web site that listed the dog bed, and not a third party web site; he said he'd never seen any dog beds. Needless to say, there was nowhere for our dog to relax on the floor that night (pet rooms have hardwood floors and no rugs). Other minor complaints were the short half wall in the shower, our deadbolt did not work because it was installed improperly, and the room wasn't very well soundproofed. Again, though, these are very minor complaints for this class of hotel. Overall I was happy with our stay. The beds, sofa and desk were comfortable, parking and WiFi were free, the neighborhood is very convenient and charming, and the staff was friendly.
I would definitely stay here again, and recommend the hotel to others, but hopefully they will work out some of the kinks by the next time we visit. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonicpocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genarro M, General Manager at The Anza Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for the feedback about our hotel. We are using your comments about the pet amenities to make things better for all of our canine friends. We have already put some more pet beds in our inventory as we were clearly short on them during your stay. On your next visit you will find your pet bed and a bone shaped floor mat for the food and water located in your closet. We also have Anza logoed food and water dishes available at the front desk at check in. And if I’m lucky enough to be on the property when you and your pet check in I will meet you in the lobby for a pet hand shake to welcome your four legged friend to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

even if you have been to this hotel before their renovation, then it is time to visit again. The place is completely remodelled to look like a modern and metro style boutique hotel. Though it is located in a historic part the town (with an adobe house/museum next door), the hotel stay is as modern as it can get. The fact that it was per-friendly was a huge plus. Staff was very friendly. There are two upscale shopping areas next door, with plenty of eateries, wineries, grocers, movie theaters and a lot of salons, services. Was my wife's birthday as well as labor day weekend. A great birthday cake from Susie's shop next door as well as a Tiramisu from the Italian restaurant followed by a sumptuous lunch at the Cantina - all these and more made this trip a memorable experience. The weather was unusually warm, so I would definitely visit this area and this hotel in good weather again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avadhanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Maries, ID
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were referred to Anza Hotel by the family of the deceased. It was close to everything that was important for the three days we were in the area. The room temp was comfortable after I got it cooled down. The room was clean, and supplied with sufficient bath linens. The coffee service was desperately in need of attention, especially hot cups. People in overhead room must have worn logging boots. The food service in the dining room was adequate, food was tasty. The dining room was always clean and inviting. Thank you for the free internet service, and printing, with direct connection to our airline.

Room Tip: The cleaning lady should be more attentive to the in-room coffee service. We had a sufficient suppl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genarro M, General Manager at The Anza Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Carol F,
Thank you for taking time to offer your valued feedback about the Anza Hotel. I am sorry to hear that your overhead neighbor was making such a racket. We will work with our security team to be on the lookout for such noisy neighbors. We are however excited to hear that you found the food tasty and the environment clean and inviting. On your next visit to the hotel will make sure to stock your room with some “extra” to go cups for your in room coffee service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, Usa
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The staff was very friendly. The hotel seemed new and up to date with everything very clean. We enjoyed ourselves....the only issues were with the AC during the night time, it went off during our sleep. Also the refrigerator didn't work correctly. Overall this is a great hotel in a prime location!

Room Tip: The staff was very friendly. The hotel seemed new and everything was clean. We enjoyed ourselves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trojans89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, Usa
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very nice hotel. Great location close to shops and restaurants. Clean, modern rooms with comfortable beds, nice showerheads, soft towels. Really nice pool with misters. Nice eco-friendly touches like recycling in the rooms. Nice lobby and bar and breakfast options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I really thought the property was very nice. They recently renovated and all the rooms are upgraded with modern furnishings and nice bathrooms. The only thing I didn't like is the bathroom only has a half-glass wall, (to fit the modern theme), so without a door on the shower, water gets out and it gets cold faster. Other than that, everything was great! Also the downstairs bistro/ coffee area in the lobby should have more extended hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabasas
Good Nite Inn - Calabasas
#3 of 3 in Calabasas
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel
#3 of 3 in Agoura Hills
508 reviews
Malibu
Malibu Beach Inn
Malibu Beach Inn
#1 of 5 in Malibu
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anza Hotel

Property: The Anza Hotel
Address: 23627 Calabasas Rd, Calabasas, CA 91302-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Calabasas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the stylish and inviting ambiance of Calabasas itself, The Anza features modern design and contemporary decor with a casual vibe. While our personal attention to service creates a welcoming environment, not unlike what you would expect while staying with close friends, The Anza offers an entirely new hotel experience in Calabasas. Casual but timeless, modern but comfortable. Enter the bright and airy lobby designed with areas to socialize and relax. With communal tables, lounge seating around a fireplace, and media den, it's the perfect spot to gather with friends or meet new ones. Graze Bistro & Bar provides tempting light fare and a selection of local wines and beers, while The Market offers grab-and-go snacks and other sundries. Enjoy a cabana at the pool or a brisk workout. Or simply retreat to your oversized guest room where a neutral color palette creates an inviting sense of calm and comfort and mindful amenities provide all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Anza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Calabasas
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calabasas Hotel Calabasas
Country Inn Calabasas
Calabasas Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing