We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Anza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel honored the hotels.com coupon booklet rate for the deluxe room for us for two nights. This was the last stop in our 3 week vacation and the room definitely exceeded our expectations and was the best accommodation we experienced during our trip. The room was light, large, comfortable and nicely decorated. The bed and pillows comfy and towels etc fluffy and soft. Restaurants and shopping are an easy walk from the hotel. Generous closet and drawer space. The air conditioning unit was effective and very quiet. We enjoyed the pool. The gym had scales which we were able to use to weigh our luggage (a bonus for us). This is very comfortable accommodation with obliging staff.

Room Tip: I couldn't fault the room we stayed in - enjoy your stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brewsego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    383
    101
    21
    14
See reviews for
385
231
68
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Colorado, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Beautiful and very clean with a great location. Spacious rooms and courteous service. The desk clerks were wonderful. We will definitely stay again when we come back to visit our daughter at Pepperdine!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Programmerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I'm a regular at the hotel, usually come once a week. Two primary point that stand out. Chanel (night shift) is really nice and does a good job and Chelsea is always wonderful. She's been great since I've known her prior to the change in management and the renovation. She always has a nice smile on her face and a good attitude. You should commend both of them for their good customer service.

Room Tip: It is sort of obvious that the renovation was really a 1/2 of a renovation with the only real upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The staff was so friendly and the lobby and rooms were very nice. They have not completed renovations so the carpet in the halls leaves a lot to be desired. The location is within walking distance of great shopping and eating!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shari C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I enjoyed the new look of the hotel. They're still in transition (changing the carpet in the halls, etc) but it does have a fun new zest to it. I was sad they didn't have the complimentary breakfast, but the new gym was a nice exchange and the breakfast in The Graze was well worth it! Fabulous morning sandwiches and great, well-crafted coffee beverages. Great location for walking around or even jogging in the mornings. The front desk staff took my requests and questions seriously and resolved them promptly, even if it meant going the extra mile and doing something that was probably "not their job". As far as the cons, it was disappointing that only one car could be parked on the premises, but thankfully nearby parking overnight was easy to find for free. Also I found it odd that there was no trash can in the bathroom (I had to move the one from the bedroom) and no alarm clock (I never had any idea if I was late for my training). Overall though, a very great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Reception personal needs more training. to many problems at check in with room reservations. gift bags for guests were not handed out. The desk clerk was not aware of the block of rooms reserved for the wedding guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genarro M, General Manager at The Anza Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Neil Y,
We sincerely apologize if our front desk staff caused any additional stress on the Big Day for you and your party. It was our goal to make sure every guest received a gift bag at the time of check in and if we missed that mark we are truly sorry! We strive to provide an Excellent check in experience 100% of the time. However, when we miss the mark we are disappointed to have let down our valued guest. We do always use such circumstance as a vessel for improvement and I assure you we will use this experience as a learning tool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family stayed here for a long weekend and the main reason we chose this hotel was because it was dog friendly. The pet friendly rooms are in the ground floor and I loved that they have a synthetic hardwood floor instead of carpet. There was a little area next to the hotel for the dogs to use as a potty with bags and a garbage can. This hotel is very dog friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabasas
Good Nite Inn - Calabasas
#3 of 3 in Calabasas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel
#3 of 3 in Agoura Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
South San Fernando Valley
Hilton Woodland Hills/Los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anza Hotel

Property: The Anza Hotel
Address: 23627 Calabasas Rd, Calabasas, CA 91302-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Calabasas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the stylish and inviting ambiance of Calabasas itself, The Anza features modern design and contemporary decor with a casual vibe. While our personal attention to service creates a welcoming environment, not unlike what you would expect while staying with close friends, The Anza offers an entirely new hotel experience in Calabasas. Casual but timeless, modern but comfortable. Enter the bright and airy lobby designed with areas to socialize and relax. With communal tables, lounge seating around a fireplace, and media den, it's the perfect spot to gather with friends or meet new ones. Graze Bistro & Bar provides tempting light fare and a selection of local wines and beers, while The Market offers grab-and-go snacks and other sundries. Enjoy a cabana at the pool or a brisk workout. Or simply retreat to your oversized guest room where a neutral color palette creates an inviting sense of calm and comfort and mindful amenities provide all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Anza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calabasas Hotel Calabasas
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Calabasas
Country Inn Calabasas
Calabasas Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing