We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”
Review of The Anza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Anza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada, Usa
1 review
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Conveniently located right off the highway, close to lots of restaurants and shopping. The hotel was very modern and comfortable. We stayed in a King which was very roomy had everything we needed. The staff was very good.

Room Tip: The hotel is energy conscious and provides bins for recycling, and gives people the opportunity to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    392
    105
    23
    15
See reviews for
397
237
70
238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of old town calabasas which was in walking distance to a lot of great shops and restaurants. However, when we arrived in our room, it was never thoroughly checked over and there was Chinese food in the fridge that stunk it up as soon as we opened it. This should've been noticed and thrown out before us getting there. One of the days housekeeping never even came to the room. We were gone all day and came home to no clean towels and the bed how we left it. Also the room I prepaid for months ago was not available. We were upgraded and not charged which is great but feel like it is poor planning on their part.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnyshores01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genarro M, General Manager at The Anza Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
I am very sorry that we did not have your requested room type that you prepaid for. I do hope that the free upgrade that you received was enjoyed during the stay. Your discovery certainly should have been noticed before your arrival as you mentioned. We will use your discovery as a training tool in order to improve the awareness of our room attendants as well as the routines of our room inspectors. I hope you will be joining us at the Anza again soon so that we can get you into the room type of your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, Usa
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

As most others have written, the boasting of a 6 Million Dollar Renovation is hard to swallow. Not that I don't like IKEA for some things, but it sounds like they spent 5.9 M at IKEA, and forgot two important things: carpet and shower doors. The carpet looks like it was resurrected from a 1940's theater in LA. And the avant-garde design of the shower (half glass that is stationary, and no door) is dumb. Water was everywhere. The reason for the poor sleep quality is the location right off the freeway, combined with unruly and trailer-trash guests in the next room did not bode well for a good night's sleep. Other than that, we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: Room away from the freeway if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The room really was lovely. And cafe and lobby were great too. But some important details got left out of the recent upgrade.

The door to the parking lot did not lock. It opened with just a pull. That door gives on the pool and the elevator, giving anyone easy access to all the guest rooms. There is an electrical lock on the door, it was just not operational. And when I told the front desk they acted surprised. Just be honest. It was broken for the entire ten days we were there, I'm betting you knew about it.

Next we found used contact lenses on the bathroom counter, which suggests that the bathroom maybe wasn't that thoroughly cleaned.

And finally, there were a bunch of small details that make the difference between a place I want to stay on vacation and a place I'd only book for a nights sleep: none of the doors to n on-guest rooms on our floor (2nd) locked, so I had free access to all supplies and the AC/ electrical access closets; the safety latch on our door was half torn off; there were large obvious stains in the hallway carpet.

The the recent renovations are very nice, but they haven't gone far enough. This place risks slipping back into it's former life as a run down motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genarro M, General Manager at The Anza Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments on the renovated room, café, and lobby area. The electrical lock you are referring to at the parking lot area works on a timer, during daylight hours there is no key card necessary to operate it. However if it was malfunctioning during your stay we do apologize. We do strive to maintain the highest level of cleanliness possible in all of our guest rooms and your discovery of the previous guest does not fit that criteria. All of the doors to our supply closets do function and if you found them to be in an unlocked status this was most certainly an oversight by our room attendants and will be quickly addressed. I am also happy to inform you that as one of the last stages of our renovation we will be replacing all of the carpet in the corridors and all of the guest room doors will be refurbished as well. Thank you again for all of your feedback and we hope to have the support of your future patronage at the Anza Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The remodel and rebranding of this property make it worthwhile. The rooms still showed wear & tear from the prior regime. The rooms were clean and the sheets and matteress' were new. The entry door did not close or latch properly and daily light showed through which was disconcerting. Bathroom was remodeled and modern, but not fully appreciated for family use. The new low flow toilet did not work as advertised.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Js R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genarro M, General Manager at The Anza Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Anza and taking the time to share your feedback with us. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed the new brand and remodel of a rejuvenated property. We also take the cleanliness of our new brand very seriously so thanks for the positive comments. Our maintenance team has looked into the issue you described with your entry door and made the necessary adjustments to fix the problem. We have also checked all of the plumbing fixtures and equipment in the guest bath to ensure it is working and set to the manufacturer’s suggested settings and threshold’s.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

front office staff could be more professional and helpful--at least 2 staff kept me waiting while they discussed a guest who had recently come to the hotel; another front office desk skipped over me to help the customer behind me while I was waiting to check in...very rude. rooms nicely updated. beds are soft. rooms facing highway are noisy. could hear noise from room below and hallway.




Room Tip: get room not facing the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genarro M, General Manager at The Anza Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you for the feedback on your recent check in experience at the Anza Hotel. We are sorry that you were skipped over by another guest during your check in. We will use your feedback as a discussion for improvement for the check in process. We are glad that you enjoyed the updated rooms and brand new beds. We have also recently readjusted all of our double pane windows that face the 101. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Calabasas area so that you can see what changes our front desk team has made to improve our check in process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a truly pleasant surprise!

We were visiting California from Colorado to get a little time near the ocean. We weren't up for staying close to the city. So, we looked to get close to Malibu -- as close as one can.

We stumbled - and I literally mean stumbled - across this gem! We got a very competitive rate by booking and paying online prior to arrival.

First, the staff were EXTREMELY accommodating. We noticed it first hand, but also viewed it when a gentleman who was carrying what I recognized to be a Chinese passport was trying to check-in. The staff were very patient, pleasant and attentive, despite the customer's very limited English (the evening of 8/8/13). Having been in a similar situation in prior business travel myself, I thought it was great. I really thought the team of Chris, Antoine, Dale [?], and Chelsea were great. I apologize as I wrote their names down in a draft message to myself and lost the message. So, I hope I recognized them correctly. They were incredible!

There is a very personable security guard that is there of a night to watch the parking lot and hotel -- great!!!

The rooms!! Greatly appointed in an Asian minimalist style, with a great idea for backlighting the bathroom mirror -- frosted glass around the perimeter of the mirror, which diffused the CFL lights nicely. Great idea. Appointed to JUST the right degree! And I LOVE the fact they had outlets coming out of everywhere for charging Kindles, Smartphones, etc. I would recommend a bathroom door that offers more restroom privacy, but that is my only (slightly) negative observation as the sliding door was in keeping with the motif of the hotel.

I loved the fresh carafes of water that were at the lobby, which alternatively had watermelon, melon, strawberry, cucumber...kept fresh, iced and inviting every time we came through the door.

I also loved the MAC/Windows compatible computers that were right in the lobby.

One more GREAT idea: If you decline housekeeping service for a multiple night stay, they honor your conservation with a $5 Anza gift card. GREAT idea!! I am not much of an environmentalist - in fact, I am not one at all - and it STILL made a hugely positive impact on me as a guest. GREAT IDEA!

If you stay in or around Calabasas, pick this gem, but just make sure you don't pick it when I need reservations there in the future -- as I want to stay there myself again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJCLAXDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabasas
Good Nite Inn - Calabasas
#3 of 3 in Calabasas
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel
#3 of 3 in Agoura Hills
508 reviews
Malibu
Malibu Beach Inn
Malibu Beach Inn
#1 of 5 in Malibu
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anza Hotel

Property: The Anza Hotel
Address: 23627 Calabasas Rd, Calabasas, CA 91302-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Calabasas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the stylish and inviting ambiance of Calabasas itself, The Anza features modern design and contemporary decor with a casual vibe. While our personal attention to service creates a welcoming environment, not unlike what you would expect while staying with close friends, The Anza offers an entirely new hotel experience in Calabasas. Casual but timeless, modern but comfortable. Enter the bright and airy lobby designed with areas to socialize and relax. With communal tables, lounge seating around a fireplace, and media den, it's the perfect spot to gather with friends or meet new ones. Graze Bistro & Bar provides tempting light fare and a selection of local wines and beers, while The Market offers grab-and-go snacks and other sundries. Enjoy a cabana at the pool or a brisk workout. Or simply retreat to your oversized guest room where a neutral color palette creates an inviting sense of calm and comfort and mindful amenities provide all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Anza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Calabasas
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calabasas Hotel Calabasas
Country Inn Calabasas
Calabasas Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing