We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 strikes”
Review of The Anza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Anza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3 strikes”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Most of the rooms are nice and the location is good, however I won't be staying here again. I have experienced the following all on separate occasions:

1. They have no record of a charge clearly made by them to my credit card.
2. I got blocked in after parking in their lot overnight. They were unable to find the guest blocking me in and I had to find alternate transportation to work. This made me late to a very important meeting.
3. They "ran out" of rooms of the caliber which I had booked so I paid a pretty penny to stay in one of their tiny, unappealing rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1233159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genarro M, General Manager at The Anza Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that the poor parking choice of one of our guest and our inability to contact them to solve the issue made you late to your meeting. It is also very disappointing to hear that we did not have your requested room type available for your stay. Lastly the fact that you received a charge that you were unaware of is not acceptable. I will be personally reaching out to you to ensure that we correct the issue on your bill to 100% of your satisfaction. It is also our goal at the Anza Hotel to make things as convenient as possible for our business travelers. Should you choose the Anza for your future business needs in the Calabasas area I will personally oversee your accommodation’s to ensure you have a successful trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    399
    106
    23
    14
See reviews for
403
239
70
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
visalia ca
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

newly remodeled with very sleek modern furniture. room very large. at very northern point of san fernando valley on hwy 101. housekeeping responds quickly. not enough people working front desk. 'coffe bean' shop in shopping ctr next door. loved walk-in shower, don't know if all rooms have same. small reasonably priced cafe in lobby. nice gym. small nice pool.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauriehart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, Usa
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

i enjoyed my stay at the ANZA, I was on the ground floor so i did not here noise from the 101. upper floors may have that issue. the staff was excellent. I would give the hotel a 4 star rating, but can't because of one issue,. I was in room 132, the toilet is ovel and the toilet seat was round. so there was an inch of porcelin to contend with. I'm told they spent 6 million to fix the place. they should have spent 6 millon and twenty and got the proper fitting toilet seat. I spoke to the desk about it. he said they had to cut corners. I told him to speak to the manager about it because if not fixed i would write about it, and so I am. if you were in the military and sitting on porcelin brings back good memories ask for rm 132, If you ever did prison time and sitting on porcelin brings back bad memories be sure not to get rm 132.....having said all this i would go back. i like that it was clean and and the location was perfect for me.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genarro M, General Manager at The Anza Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are glad that you found the hotel to be in a great location as well as clean and found there were no noise issues from the 101. That is in thanks to our sound resistant double pane windows. It is unfortunate that you had a less than excellent experience in our all new bathrooms. We have already had maintenance adjust the issue in room 132 as well as blitz the remainder of the hotel looking for similar issues. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The beds and pillows are so comfortable that I actually had the best sleep! I like the decor too, staff is super friendly and accommodating, great hotel. I live locally and needed a handicapped accessible room as my visiting brother is not able to climb stairs at my house so we chose The Anza and were pleased with the room and the ease of bathing him in their accessible rooms.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor accessible room and had ease with showering my disabled brother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California, Usa
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I've stayed here twice now, and can't wait to go back. Situated right next door to the shopping centers, you can walk to get breakfast, lunch and dinner no problem. The rooms are brand new, very chic and clean. This little hotel is the best part about my work trips to LA.
And so affordable!

Room Tip: Next to the freeway, but you can hardly hear a thing from inside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Monte, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The service at the front desk was Excellent! Very friendly and helpful. My sisters and I loved our room! Gave us ladies room to get ready on time for our dinner appt. We look forward to coming back this way and staying at the Anza in the future. THANKS TO ALL THE STAFF!

Room Tip: I have to mention one thing, all in all we loved our stay, however, when we came back for the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey, Usa
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Location was great easy on and off freeway
Nice shopping center close by
Rooms were nice and clean and also quiet.
I'm not a big writer I don't know what else to say except I liked the place.
Now I'm really getting upset tripadvisor will not let me continue until I have at least 200 characters.


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabasas
Good Nite Inn - Calabasas
#3 of 3 in Calabasas
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Agoura Hills Hotel
#3 of 3 in Agoura Hills
515 reviews
Malibu
Malibu Beach Inn
Malibu Beach Inn
#1 of 5 in Malibu
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anza Hotel

Property: The Anza Hotel
Address: 23627 Calabasas Rd, Calabasas, CA 91302-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Calabasas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calabasas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Anza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the stylish and inviting ambiance of Calabasas itself, The Anza features modern design and contemporary decor with a casual vibe. While our personal attention to service creates a welcoming environment, not unlike what you would expect while staying with close friends, The Anza offers an entirely new hotel experience in Calabasas. Casual but timeless, modern but comfortable. Enter the bright and airy lobby designed with areas to socialize and relax. With communal tables, lounge seating around a fireplace, and media den, it's the perfect spot to gather with friends or meet new ones. Graze Bistro & Bar provides tempting light fare and a selection of local wines and beers, while The Market offers grab-and-go snacks and other sundries. Enjoy a cabana at the pool or a brisk workout. Or simply retreat to your oversized guest room where a neutral color palette creates an inviting sense of calm and comfort and mindful amenities provide all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Anza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Calabasas Hotel Calabasas
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Calabasas
Country Inn Calabasas
Calabasas Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing