We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new links”

Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The quintessential seaside Scottish resort, The Village at Machrihanish Dunes is quickly becoming a golf destination to rival the best in the world. Thrilling links golf, luxury accommodation and world-class service await you in this romantic and rugged corner of western Scotland. Experience the U.K. Top-100 Machrihanish Dunes Golf Course, award-winning Ugadale Hotel & Cottages and our newest accommodation, The Royal Hotel at the head of Campbeltown Harbour. From The Village, you have easy access to other world-renowned links courses, including the neighbouring Machrihanish Golf Club, the great courses of Ayrshire and Northern Ireland, The Machrie on Islay, and many more.
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great new links”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great new course that looks and plays like it's been there for years. Despite me getting my times wrong meaning we arrived a little late, and were playing on vouchers, we received a very warm welcome. Played in near perfect conditions, the course was in superb condition, the set-up is very playable, but interesting. Will definitely return and highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    18
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Today was an amazing golfing experience. Full credit to this fabulous golf course. The warm welcome from staff made us forget 3 hour car journey from Paisley. The course is natural Scottish golf at its best. Stunning, can't wait to go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cant be missed”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great course, we had a fine September day with sunshine & no wind . Arrived early enough to have a delicious bowl of Veg soup, and make use of the practice facilities. The Staff were more than helpful and the conditions on the course were superb. We have lots of world class golf courses in Scotland, and this - being relativly new - is a future classic. We drove 3.5 hours there and then returned home the same day, maybe a bit of a long day for one game of golf - so would consider staying over next time, and trying out both Machiranish courses. cant be missed though, especially if you stay in Scotland, another course to be proud of!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarloCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Golf trip in the mull of kintyre”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Loved everything apart from the weather which according to sods law was the worst weather of the summer high winds and horizontal rain .For all golf enthusiasts a must . But this didn,t our spirits or love for the dunes course. Very friendly and informative staff

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank clakcker58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great track”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Watch the wind and don't get too distracted by the great views. We loved it. Lots of blind shots . Taking a caddie or at least the hole by hole cards is a good idea.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rkoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club also viewed

Machrihanish, Kintyre Peninsula
Machrihanish, Kintyre Peninsula
 
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
Campbeltown, Kintyre Peninsula
 

Been to Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing