We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Stunning"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Stunning"”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and I went to Mach Dunes with our two children in September 2011. The cottage was absolutely fantasic for a family stay, it was immaculate and finished to the highest standard. My son and I played at Mach Dunes and were blown away by the scenery and the set up of the course, its a golfers paradise. After our round we finished our day with a pint and a meal in "The Old Clubhouse". The food is of a very high standard ,reasonably priced and was enjoyed by all the family. Overall stunning scenery, immaculate accomodation all topped off by the friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    47
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
92
4
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We had a golf outing and the 4 of us stayed at the Ugadale cottages. It was one of the best accomodations paired with gracious hospitality i have ever experienced, Directly accross the street from the beach and Macrihanish GC-We walked there with our clubs-The course was fantastic. Also played unlimited golf at the Machrihanish Dunes-Great golf! The pub was Very friendly though the food was bland. They bent over backwards to accomodate us and even provided transportation to/fro Cambelltown where we came in on the Kintyre express (highly recommended). We all loved it and highly recommend the cottages.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

From the moment we arrived from the moment we left it was spectacular. The setting is picturesque with the beautiful beach, and the quaint village. The rooms super big, cozy and immaculate. The set up is nice with the 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms, which are huge and great shower, nice products and I lived in the bathrobe because it was chilly there even though it was August. We did an in room massage which was perfect after a long day of good golf. Course challenging but scenery worth it.
Another highlight was early morning run on the beach and thru the village, as the sun came up, it was peaceful and serene-only ones up were me and the sheep.
But the best part undoubtedly was the staff. They were kind, truly sincere, and accommodating. Amazing first trip to Scotland. This was our first stop as our trip continued but this by far the best overall part.
Also food was delicious at Pub and golf house. Great atmosphere and reasonable prices too.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NEMMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Excellent accommodation. Very friendly service and reasonably priced. Intersting golf course. At first I was not sure so I came back and played it 6 weeks later and it is a must play for Links lovers.
It is not perfectly manicured, however if you are looking for that go play in the U.S. but see how many holes you can remember.
It can be disconcerting at first with some blind tee shots but you must remember what the designer is trying, and in my view has accomplished, - the way golf began. Be sure to play it off the correct tees - no room for machoism, I play off 1 and the whites were long enough for me.
Also some excellent views of the sea and Ireland beyond.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tictof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2011

8 of us took advantage of the very reasonable current golfing deals the cottages are offering.

The cottages are located across the road from the world famous Machrihanish Links golf course. They are furnished to a very high quality ( special mention for the power showers !!!). There is also free wireless in each room.

The accompanying restaurant / bar is right on the doorstep and it might be advisable to make a reservation if you are needing a table at the weekend. You are also served your breakfast in there. (another special mention to the quality muffins available)

If you are taking advantage of playing golf at the Dunes course, please note it's approx 10-15 mins drive from the cottages. Not really a problem as the staff will make sure you are transported over using their shuttle bus.

The "sister" hotel is next door and under renovation and I believe is scheduled to open in Easter 2012

What makes this place stand out is the staff. From the bar & restaurant staff, thru to the shop & reservations manager nothing is too much trouble. We were all very looked after.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilverS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed Sunday night in cottage. Husband and son said golf course excellent. Cottage lovely best I have stayed in kitchen/lounge and two bedrooms each with beautiful large ensuite. Had nice meal in Old Clubhouse last serving nine o'clock. Breakfast disorganised but when it did arrive very good. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivyforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

If you want to make an incredible golf vacation to Scotland more incredible you must go to Machrihanish. The setting is fantastic, the atmosphere is magical, the golf is a perfect blend of classic Morris meets modern Kidd but most of all the staff and people in and around the area are truely warm and inviting. At the end of our 12 day golf vacation which included virtually every Open venue in Scotland, our foursome agreed that our experience at Machrihanish left the most positive impression. From the moment we arrived we were greated and waited on with an unparalled hospitality. The general manager, Janette personally checked on us. Stacy Keyes kept in contact prior to our arrival and during our stay to make sure everything was perfect...and it was. A special thanks to Gus whose humble kindness left a huge impression. Don't miss Machrihanish!

Room Tip: The cottages are as nice as any in the US. Designed for foursomes of golfers. You won't want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goffin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machrihanish
5.0 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Campbeltown
77 reviews
24.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,113 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
265 reviews
7.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
276 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 17 in Port Ellen
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages

Property: The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Address: Machrihanish Farm Dunes, Machrihanish PA28 6PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Machrihanish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village at Machrihanish Dunes, consisting of Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club, The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages and The Old Clubhouse Pub, coupled with The Royal Hotel in nearby Campbeltown, offers you a golf destination rivaling the finest in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing