We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2011

I can't recommend The Ugadale Cottages highly enough. We were travelling in a group of five, and the others blew out two tires in a road accident. The staff were amazingly helpful getting this sorted out and extended our stay at a discount rate. The Cottages themselves are first class, new and charming, which is rare.The restaurant is good and a fun place to have drinks in an area with not that much else on offer. Some people will find the extreme undulating fairways and greens on the course annoying, but that's links golf -- it's a good challenge and there are lots of spectacular views. Plus the Old Course is right across the street from the Cottages so this is a must-play area for anyone who doesn't mind wind and isn't obsessed with his scorecard. All in all, this is one of the best dealsI've ever gotten, and I'm certainly going back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffersonchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 293 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

Rating:
Cottages- 10 out of 10, i have only stayed in one accomodation of this kind which was better and this was £2 million villa in algarve. Quality furnishings, large screen TV in every room. top grade kitchen (not that we used it). only slight issue, none of us could work out the heating system or the gas fire, oh and there is a dial in master bedroom that we still dont know the purpose of it.
Food- had dinner in pub and breakfast, service was brill, staff really friendly, and not in that we want big tip way, food was excellent, could have been there for hours with breakfast choice. Even let us take food back to cottage for 2 peeps who couldnt get up in time.
Staff- really friendly, very helpful in everything. Very flexible with us over booking, we cancelled second day booking due to high winds as we didnt want to pay and nopt play again, but when we woke up the wind was weaker, staff suggested we go up and see what it was like on course before deciding, then when we were up there, they phoned to say it would be ok to go on for free as we hadnt got to play yesterday. Many other places would have just taken fee right away. All staff went out of their way to promote future deals, seemed really committed to making the place work. Management take note, pay rise should be considered.


OUR STORY
we took advantage of the may golf and stay offer. Alas we chose the two days that had the strongest winds recorded in may for many a year. Drive was long, but who can ever tire of Scotland. Upon arrival at course we were advised by other golfers it wasnt playable. But after 4 hour drive you want to find out for yourself. 5 holes in we gave up and trooped in like scene from Ice cold in Alex. To be offered what is the best bowl of soup ever in the clubhouse.
We then headed into Mach for accomodation, upon arrival we were told there was a power cut across west of scotland, so no hot food, draft beer or entertainment. Luckly it returned after an hour or so in accomodation. And off we went to the the pub.
After many local ales we headed back to luxury cottage for quality sleep.
Woke up next day to amazing view of atlantic out window and headed for breakfast, well some of us did, excellent food and service.
headed to course to try again, still windy, but great experience, course is amazing, but be prepared to be sand blasted if wind is up, came up minus 2 layers of skin less.
all in all brilliant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmac007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed 2 x nights mid-May as part of a Discovery Package (discounted price if you attend time-share/fractional ownership sales presentation). The accommodation in luxury self-catering two-bed cottages is really first class - very well-presented, very comfortable, cosy and all done to a very high standard. Large en-suite bathrooms with large walk-in showers, but no bath tub though. We could easily have been swayed to commit to buying here, the only issue being there's very little to do if you don't play golf... and it's not the easist location to get to. That being said, the golf at the new Machrahanish Dunes course is superb - raw, pure links golf, blind shots, wild bunkers, undulating greens, and all in magnificent view of the rolling Atlantic breakers. Exhilarating and then some. When the wind blows (all the time) it makes it a very challenging golf experience to say the least. We played just on the playable side of severe gusts (this was the wild weekend that saw storms with trees down and ferries cancelled.) The only issue is that the Mach Dunes course is a 10-15 minute drive away from the cottages, whilst the Old Mach course is only a minutes walk across the road -never got to play as the weather conditions deteriorated so much by the next day we were due to play it. Definatley worth a trip for any keen golfer.
The local Ugadale pub/clubhouse serves good food if limited menu, as there is a limit to where you may want to eat in nearby Campbeltown. Breakfast was good although they ran out of jam on the second day? Staff were very nice friendly,locals who were knowledgable about local area and proud to be involved with thier new development. Certainly worth a return trip, Highly reccomended.

Room Tip: Choose the upstairs apartments for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

If you are planning golf in this part of the world, you could not do better than staying here. The tastefully decorated modern lodges are just in the edge of the Atlantic with the pub/restaurant just 50 metres away. The staff were all friendly and added to the whole ambience of the accasion. Highly recommended

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Ok I'll admit it's a bit out the way but the drive there is so worth it. Some of the most fantastic scenery in Scotland. The coastline is stunning and the beaches at Macrihanish are beautiful. The staff are brilliant - mostly local, very friendly and ever so helpful. Cottages are very luxurious, spacious with loads of nice extras. I thought the course was great - nothing manicured or false, it was rugged and a true challenge (esp front 9!) The dunes are spectacular and you do really feel that this was "the way golf began" Billy was really helpful in offering us advice with some added banter! Billy advised that we play off the whites/yellows as we were single handicappers - he was spot on! With 5 different tees on each hole -it should suit all standard of players. The Old Clubhouse has been beautifully refurbished in keeping with an old traditional style. Food is of a high standard and along with the drinks they don't take the "michael" with over the top prices like some other 5 star hotels/complexes I could mention..... There is a good buzz about the place due to the next phase of cottages and hotel refurbishment. This will only add to the experience once the spa is complete.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLCB_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

After a long flight from the US followed by a long drive on challenging Scottish roads, we were received at Mach Dunes by an amazingly friendly and helpful staff. The room was warm and comfortable. The pub was cozy with good food. The Kintyre Peninsula is amazingly beautiful although quite isolated. There are plans for a spa, gym, and fine restaurant, all of which will be welcome additions.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars1463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Booked the March Golf special offer and the 4 of us had a great stay - really lovely place and the staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. Nice touch as well is the staff offer to bring you a morning breakfast basket in the evening so you can have breakfast in your own suite - great selection and quality breakfast and a nice touch instead of having to go over to the restaurant in the morning. The Dunes Course is a beast but one that you have to play and was in great condition considering apart from a links course most of the west of Scotland is playing from mats. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Machrihanish
5.0 mi away
Argyll Arms Hotel
Argyll Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Campbeltown
83 reviews
24.8 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
2,208 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
Best Western Kinloch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blackwaterfoot
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Glenisle Hotel
Glenisle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamlash
769 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 19 in Campbeltown
285 reviews
7.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 19 in Campbeltown
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages

Address: Machrihanish Farm Dunes, Machrihanish PA28 6PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kintyre Peninsula > Machrihanish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Machrihanish
Price Range: $157 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village at Machrihanish Dunes, consisting of Machrihanish Dunes Golf Club, The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages and The Old Clubhouse Pub, coupled with The Royal Hotel in nearby Campbeltown, offers you a golf destination rivaling the finest in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ugadale Hotel & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing