We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property
Higher Gills with light Autunm snow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Higher Gills with light Autunm snow
entrance, utility & parking car park area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Higher Gills with light Autunm snow
entrance, utility & parking
car park area
Patio & access stairs to Granary
end view of apartments
view from farmyard
Lawn & swings
Granary Lounge & Dinning area
Granary Kitchen
Granary Bathroom
Granary shower over bath
bathroom tiles
Granary double bedroom
Granary double bedroom
farm lane looking towards the entrance
farm lane
sunset
sunset
sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Chatburn, Clitheroe, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
plewsdurb...
Kirkby Stephen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Lovely upstairs apartment, well kitted out. Stunning views across the valley, quiet and relaxing. Footpaths across the farm, just remember it is a working farm. Lovely weekend, the weather was glorious.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2018
Thank you for your review, what a summer we are having
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becky c
Mombasa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved everything about it!”
Reviewed August 3, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wow! What a beautiful location! Pendle hill just behind, gorgeous views on all sides and the smell of the countryside always in your nostrils. This is the best cottage I have ever rented in the U.K. and I have rented a lot! Value for money, clean, well equipped with plenty of toys for the children including an outdoor play area and a wonderful hostess in Frida. To add to all of that there is a hide where you can go to watch badgers in their natural habitat! We saw them on both evenings that we went out. The cottage is within easy reach of Clitheroe and Skipton yet feels as if it is in the middle of nowhere. My boys aged 8 and 5 loved it and so did I. We were also lucky to have beautiful weather so everything was perfect. We will most certainly be back next year. Thank you Frida!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
What a wonderful happy family to have as guests. we enjoyed your company
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robandrob...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing stay, beautiful views”
Reviewed June 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at Higher Gills Farm. It's lovely to wake up to such a breathtaking view every day. We also loved being on a working farm and seeing work go on from our window. When we were there the lambing was in full swing! We went for some nice walks around the farm and we also walked down the drive at night to look at the stars- it was so clear! The apartment had everything we needed (and more!) and even had a travel cot and high chair for our 1 year old. One of the days we were there it poured down with rain, but there were plenty of puzzles, games, and films to entertain everyone. The Pilkington family were very welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed and were there to answer our questions. We'll definitely be going back for another stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2017
We enjoyed your company thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E_Marsden
Gillingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic return visit!”
Reviewed February 15, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Higher Gills Farm a number of times, in Lower Laithe previously, and we keep coming back because we love it here so much! The Granary was a lovely place to stay this time, with everything you could possibly want. The addition of a laundry area will be the icing on the cake next time we come.
Freda and Darrell are wonderful hosts and we are always greeted with homemade biscuits, fresh eggs and a pint of milk. They are rightly proud of their beautiful farm. Our children have been given little jobs to do, like feeding the hens and collecting the eggs, which they look forward to.
It's also a great place to come if you enjoy knitting/crochet/crafts as the yarn they produce here is exceptional.
However, the one thing you won't find in any other holiday cottage is the extraordinary view over farmland to the three peaks - it really has to be seen to be believed - and the sunsets are out of this world!
We love it here and hope to be able to continue to visit for many years to come.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
statslady
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A wonderful discovery”
Reviewed September 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My sister and I chose to stay at Higher Gills Farm while visiting the Yarndale wool fair, mainly because I had previously bought some lovely wool spun from the farm's sheep. We were delighted to find that The Granary is a real gem - one of the best-equipped self-catering apartments we've ever stayed in, in a magical location with amazing views across the Ribble valley, and lots of sheep visible from the windows. Freda and Darrell made us so welcome that we felt quite at home even though we only stayed two nights. Now we can't wait to return. Strongly recommended - particularly to wool lovers!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnekc
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An excellent base for a family holiday.”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a wonderful week staying in the cottage. Received a warm welcome from Freda Pilkington on arrival including a welcome pint of
milk and shortbread.
Lots and lots of useful information on walks and area as well as board games and books for all ages.
The views and sunsets from the windows are amazing.
Loved walking to the bird hide and watching the badgers.
Can't wait to return for another visit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing