We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would avoid this hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo Beach
Kolkata
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Would avoid this hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We are from India , and six of us booked at this hotel through Booking.com . It is about 60 km from the city centre and we had to book a shuttle taxi (cost Rand 4400 per taxi/ return trip) for each visit to City centre . We ended up paying for two taxis for the six of us .

We reached the hotel at just after ten at night. We had booked through booking.com but the receptionists told us that there was only one booking though our confirmation slip clearly showed three rooms/ 6 persons . After a very long wait we were given three rooms .The restaurant was closed and there was no room service at that hour. We had to drive about ten km for drinking water and food .

The rooms were mediocre , with no mini bar or amenities one normally expects . I had to call reception several times for electronic lock to function. I was not able to make a local call (I think they shut the PBX board at night) . The breakfast was also not upto the mark and it was not included in the room rent. For dinner , there was a buffet spread which we opted out of and instead ordered a la carte. We were told that a la carte was only available at the bar .

Overall it was not a very good experience and will avoid this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiranNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    29
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
27
1
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

my wife and i stayed here for a one night stop over. we stayed in suit. the staff was awesome, very friendly. the general manager, Ashlin, went the extra mile to make our stay very pleasant. a great choice if you are looking to check into the south coast. breakfast consisted a very large selection

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank calvin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

From arrival the staff were very friendly and helpfull. Room and bedding crisp and clean. Beautifull seaview from room. A small barfridge could be added to the room. Buffet breafast a bit expensive. A guard is patroling the walkway going down to the beach but your safety can still be a problem. Shops and other restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mari_van_Aarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
177 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

The hotel overlooking the sea is well situated. The rooms afford a good view of the sea and the railway line in between. From the dining area one has a view of the swimming pool and the kiddies play area. The rooms are adequately furnished. However, there was no hot water coming out of the shower. There was no time to call maintenance as I had to make my way to breakfast and to the conference. It is an ideal destination for families with little children, especially if they have cycles to ride. Older kids would be bored. Mature couples may find it relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up afford a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProudlyDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

There are good and bad things about this hotel. I will list them separately.

BAD
(1) I complained 3 times about the television in my room. The picture had lines across it on all channels, some channels were much worse than others. My partner says its a sign of a problem with the installation - electrical interference affecting the cabling. People did come to look at it, but nothing they did actually removed the problem. Eventually I gave up complaining.
(2) The carpet in my room had several stains on it (have photos)
(3) Several tiles in the bathroom were cracked (have photos)
(4) Mould in the bathroom (have photos)
(5) Dirty window in my room (slightly spoiled the nice view for me)
(6) Musty smell in the corridor and signs of water damage (have photos)
(7) Musty smell in the chest of drawers
(8) While we were fetching our dessert at the buffet supper the first night, our table was prematurely completely cleared, including my unfinished Appletizer. That and the cost meant we didn't go back for dinner the next night.
(10) The shark nets have been removed from the beach. The lifesavers don't know when they will be brought back again. Since safe bathing was a reason for choosing this hotel, this was quite dissapointing.
(11) There is litter alongside the wooden walkway to the beach.
(12) The change rooms next to the pool smell strongly of urine
(13) There is an unpleasant stagnant smell coming from water dripping from the gutters on the games room building.
(14) A pocket-pack of tissues in the bathroom room instead of the expected box of tissues
(15) Soap scum on the back of the bath mixer.
(16) The shower curtain on the bath often stuck to me while I was showering. A glass shower door may well be a better idea.

GOOD
(1) Staff was very friendly
(2) The linen on the bed and the towels were very clean.
(3) Housekeeping promptly replaced the down-filled pillows with non-down ones, once they understood what it was I was talking about.
(4) The breakfast buffet selection is good.
(5) The mutton curry at the dinner buffet is excellent
(6) Nice view from my sea-facing king room on the third floor- could sit in bed and see the sea.
(7) The nightly chocolates by the bed were a nice touch

So, in summary, my weekend trip at the end of January 2012 was dissapointing. It wasn't terrible, but I don't think I'd go again to this hotel, unless they did some thorough refurbishment, upped their maintenance game and did more staff training.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had a wonderful 4 night stay at this hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our room faced the sea and also the railway line. The room lacked for nothing, comfortable bed, nice sized desk from which to work. That part of the coast has a rialway line which runs in front of the hotel and the sea. The trains were not disturbing. What a beautiful beach, which is accessed by a bridge from the hotel grounds over the rail track. We had no meals at the hotel as we wanted to explore both the South and the North Coast of Natal and ate at various coffee shops and restaurants which abound in that part of the world. We would love to pay a visit in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor room for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

Staff are friendly and kind. Service was to the tee. Rooms are beautiful. We had a sea view. A very peaceful place to go as a couple. I went for my honeymoon and I simply loved the place. It was just want I wanted. The food is divine. I loved the omelette it was great. You can even go as families as well. There is a pool, putt putt and lots of games to keep the kids entertained.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatassiaDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illovo Beach
11.9 mi away
Blue Marlin Hotel
Blue Marlin Hotel
#1 of 2 in Scottburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
19.9 mi away
Selborne Golf Estate, Hotel and Spa
21.9 mi away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
4.2 mi away
The View Boutique Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
305 Guest House
305 Guest House
#1 of 25 in Amanzimtoti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach
Address: Old South Coast Road, Illovo Beach 4126, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Illovo Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Illovo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Karridene Beach - Where Business and Pleasure Meet. Only 20 minutes south of Durban, this modern and luxurious South Coast hotel resort is well-known for its excellent accommodation, wonderful food, friendly hospitality and first-class service. Nestled between the lagoon and the beach at Illovo; views are a given. It also boasts an award-winning caravan park. Bring your rackets, clubs and swimwear because there is plenty to do nearby. A wheelchair-friendly boardwalk is also available, leading onto the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Karridene Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Karridene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing