We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good stay for a night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Buttonwillow North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Buttonwillow North
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Buttonwillow
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good stay for a night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Rooms are just right and clean.....for a one night stay going back home was good. Staff was friendly and very polite. I really had a good sleep and will stop another time when going back to long beach.........!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    31
    21
    13
    19
See reviews for
29
18
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guerneville, California, Usa
Level Contributor
149 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very nice staff, but that doesn't make up for the foul smelling rooms, very noisy from highway dirty uncomfortable bed (felt like a box spring) and very stained. I used to stay here many years ago and it was a cheap good place to sleep on our way to LA. Well not any more. We had a line of cars backed in, right in front of the 3 rooms we rented. In the morning they started their very loud engines and warmed them up for 10 min (which is very inconsiderate at 6am) however I don't blame the hotel for that, but I do blame the hotel for the fact that our windows wouldn't close and we all had rooms full of exhaust fumes. Also you can't even wash your face and hands in the water, it leaves you all slimy feeling. We left 6 hours after we arrived and rented another room down the street. My daughter and her friend were greeted with a roach right when they walked in.

Room Tip: it really doesn't matter, we were on the backside and the highway was still very loud. Windows d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryD1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 Buttonwillow North, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear KerryD,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.We sincerely apologize for the noise and maintenance issues you encountered during your recent stay. These conditions are note consistent with our standards for quality at Motel 6. We encourage your contact our guest relations department to report your experience so may serve you better in the future: 1-800-557-3435.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is one of two Motel 6 locations at the Buttonwillow offramp, along the 5 freeway. Haven't yet tried the newer location, across the street. This location is the older of the two and is typical Motel 6 through-and-through. I've stayed here more times than I care to mention, as my Dad participates in vintage racing events at nearby Buttonwillow Raceway Park. This visit was for one night, although I usually stay 2 nights per visit. Rooms are mostly clean (always some bugs, as it is in the middle of San Joaquin Valley farmland) and basic. Beds are comfy enough for a night or two. Everything works as it should. You can't expect much from a Motel 6, but for what they offer, this location is perfectly adequate. There is a good deal of noise from semi-trucks on the highway, but that's to be expected at an offramp location like this. This older Motel 6 location is a bit further from the highway than the newer one and, from what I understand, is a bit quieter at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpeedwayCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We viewed rooms in both the Motel 6's in town, and decided that the one at 20638 was a better choice for us. The two hotels are almost adjacent, but the newer one is the first one you come to, after the exit and a left turn, on the left side of Tracey Avenue. More people were staying at the newer one, and it was bustling with activity. The reception was very friendly and we looked at a room, which was "upgraded" as far as this chain goes, and quite nice. The problem was the number of people, the beds, and the proximity of the freeway. The next Motel 6 is a block further on Tracey, and on the right side. It is older, many fewer rooms were occupied (which meant no adjacent or upstairs noise), but still the same size rooms and ammenities (very minimal) and attention to cleanliness details. I checked out the beds in both motels, and the ones in 20636 were definitely firmer and more to our taste. We had two comfortable beds, a very quiet location (No freeway noise at all), and a good night's sleep. We do not normally choose a Motel 6, but we had been on the road 11 hours, and weren't sure what was ahead of us on I-5. There is an odor of cattle in the entire area (but not noticeable in the rooms with the air/fan on), which can be offensive. We certainly got our money's worth ($38.18, senior rate including tax). We headed out earlier than we usually do (no breakfast or coffee offered) and got our coffee at the nearby Starbuck's. We ate dinner at the recommended Willow Ranch, and it was delicious, with a friendly family atmosphere.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back unit were further from the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ocotillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived at Buttonwillow Ca. After a long day ride, and picked the motel 6 for the consistency of a chain hotel and the pool. We were given a room, and could. To get wifi. When I went down to the office, the owner happened to be there and took my device from me saying it must be my settings, then gave it back saying it was working. We went back to the room and no wifi, so we decided put laundry on, sit by the pool, and check emails etc.. When we stepped into the pool, we slipped on the slime and fell. We immediately had to go and shower.

Room Tip: Check the amenities before paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
266 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Close to Interstate 5, this is a good place to stay when you are getting close to the LA area ... or just leaving it and getting to tired to go on .... :) just a good place to have a rest and relax, they have a pool, there are places nearby to get food and to get gas ... pretty close to Bakersfield if you like some shopping, the staff is friendly, the room was clean enough .... some of the places like these could use a re-do .. tv was old .....

Room Tip: Just stay here if you are to tired to go further ... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiabloDesigns v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Motel 6 in the center of town, not the one on the North end. Beverly was great checking us in without a reservation. The room was large, with a flat screen tv and free wifi. Nice pool and spa. Beverly recommended the Mexican place across the parking lot. Excellent! The bathroom had large towels, and a great shower head. The 2 queen beds had the best matteress I have found at Motel 6.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DesertCigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buttonwillow
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
#10 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 213 reviews
5.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
#40 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
20.6 mi away
Days Inn Lost Hills
Days Inn Lost Hills
#2 of 2 in Lost Hills
3.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
17.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wasco Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Buttonwillow North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Buttonwillow North

Property: Motel 6 Buttonwillow North
Address: 20638 Tracy Ave, Buttonwillow, CA 93206-9782 (Formerly Motel 6 Bakersfield - Buttonwillow)
Location: United States > California > Buttonwillow
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Buttonwillow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Buttonwillow North 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Motel-6 and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Buttonwillow North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Buttonwillow
Motel Six Buttonwillow
Buttonwillow Motel Six
Buttonwillow Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing