We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
McArthur-Burney Falls Memorial State Park
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Burney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular hiking, camping and fishing park.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Pretty!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The waterfalls were easy to access from the park entrance, although there was a bit of confusion with the "self-registration" that led to a line of cars waiting to get in.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank em5585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    61
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Burney Falls in February”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The view from the top was nice. Due to the ice and snow you could not go to the bottom to see the falls. Some what disappointing.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank germex14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I've done this a few times. First time was with my Grandfather and his wife. She had Parkinson's in the early stages at the time and was able to do the short walk to the falls. Years later I went back with my parents and we did the walk around the creek. We were really out of shape but were able to make it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is a must see. Every time I make the LONG drive, it is well worth it. The falls are beautiful, the picnic area is lovely with plenty of tables available. There is a visitor center and a little store near the camp ground.

Helpful?
Thank MrsTRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Annual Family Camping Trip 20 yrs and counting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

From the cemetary to the fall trails, fishing and boating, to star gazing and ranger talks. This is my favorite place to get away to in the summer. Me and the sibs loved it as kids and now my own daughter is creating memories here, all day at the beach and in the water, at the camp fires, taking nature hikes, and getting dirty. I also appreciate the upgrades that have transfored the park over the years including the gift shop, new bathrooms and showers, and trail removations. I'm a girl who appreciates being able to shower even in the not-so-wild-wilderness. The cabins look great, though I've yet to stay in one myself. I also like that Mt. Shasta isn't too far away and it's easy to plan a long stay with day trips to caverns and other things in the area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank j_ostrowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McArthur-Burney Falls Memorial State Park also viewed

California, United States
Lassen Volcanic National Park, CA
 

Been to McArthur-Burney Falls Memorial State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing