We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad for Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Merced, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not Bad for Overnight Stay”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our daughter dropped us off here for our early morning flight as I didn't want her to have to battle the commuter traffic. My first impressions were good. The front desk was friendly and we got checked in easily. The room was a little small but the vanity area had a long counter which is great when a couple must share the space. The room looked clean and the carpeting appeared fairly new with no spots or stains. It's right next door to an Elephant Bar if you are without transportation. My one complaint with the bedding were the pillows, one seemed to be stuffed with pieces of foam and the other was lumpy and hard. With the more than firm bed and awful pillows, I had a hard time getting to sleep. Staying asleep is another matter. The walls are very thin so you may hear your neighbors in their rooms and/or walking by and socializing. There is also traffic noise from the nearby freeway and some noise from the planes coming in to land (the airport is very close). The shower was easy to operate with plenty of hot water but the towels very tired. The shuttle picked us up before the breakfast started at 6:00 am so I didn't get a chance to sample. Honestly, I would consider staying here again but I would look first for other options.

Room Tip: You could ask for a room away from the freeway but you'll still have noise from the nearby airpo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lessalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all the feedback. We apologize for our pillows not being so comfortable. We have begun the process of replacing most pillows in our rooms.

Eli Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    224
    127
    44
    39
See reviews for
111
200
62
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Staff was very friendly,, the room was clean and fresh. A good continental breakfast was offered and fresh cookies and drinks were available all day :) Location was very close to the airport with free shuttle bus. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Christy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

This hotel / motel is on the courtesy pick-up coach route for the airport. We had a ground floor room with a comfortable bed and all the usual facilities. There was a good choice of food for breakfast. For plane spotters there is a great view of the planes landing as they come in over the water, the downside being a lot of noise and no extra sound proofing in the room.
A member of staff on the night reception desk went out of his way to help us with a difficulty we had over a flight booking.

Room Tip: If you want to look at the planes, ask for a bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I stayed at this property while I was attending a conference next door at the Marriott. Hoped to stay at the Marriott, but it was booked up.

The VIESFOA is a bit older and I was worried when I read some of the negative reviews, but it was just fine. Friendly staff, clean, decent bedding and bed, nothing to complain about.

I had one of the rooms on the bay side which abuts a walking path and looks out towards the runway at SFO. The noise was not a bother at all and it was fun to watch the lines of planes landing and the people walking by.

If you were a paranoid person though, I would suggest getting a 2nd floor room if you are on the bayside as the public foot path is just a few feet away from the slider to your room...not that I saw any unsavory types in my 3 days there, but some people would not be comfortable with others so close. You can see in the photos I've attached, the wall out the window is on the other side of the path, so the path is close, between the bushes and the wall..

The breakfast was the usual motel thing, cereals, yogurt, fruit and do it yourself waffles.

Plenty of parking, close to the airport, free shuttle...

Not a vacation spot, but certainly fine for a night or two on business.

Oh yea, in its favor also, free wifi! It was $10 a night in the Marriott!

Room Tip: Second floor on the Bay View side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate all the feedback. We are glad you were satisfied with your short stay with us while you were in town for a conference.

Eli Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Close to airport it was good for our early morning flight.Very much in need of updating we found it to be very rundown and not very clean.Staff was friendly but no one was available to help with our luggage to our room.We had 3 large bags and 2 carry on so we had to make two trips to get it up to our room.There are better hotels in the area next time we will choice another.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We are glad you were satisfied with the location and our friendly staff. Our property is planning on finishing up the rest of our renovations soon.

Eli Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I needed to do a few things near SFO airport that's why I chose this hotel/ motel.

Reasonable price with free breakfast and free shuttle bus to/ from SFO every 30 mins. Elephant Bar is just next to this hotel.

I stayed there during early spring so the temperature was still a bit low. Couldn't adjust the room temperature because the equipment was a bit outdated. So, it's pretty cold inside the room --and my room was facing the bay/ parking lot.

There's a mini fridge and coffee maker inside the room. Iron and iron board were also provided.
There's a wide range of TV channels that I could choose from.

The only thing that I was not aware of (when I first arrived there) was that it's a motel type. So, all rooms were exposed to the public. Those in the parking area and those from Marriott hotel might be able to see me going in and out the room.

Suggestion: may need housekeeping staff who can speak English (one day I asked for clean towels; I had to speak slow(er) so the old lady could understand).

Overall, it's a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarumaDaruma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We appreciate all your feedback. We are glad your overall stay was satisfactory.

Eli Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Great convenient place near SFO. Clean & comfortable room. Nothing fancy but exceeded our expectations for a small hotel. Reservations were a snap and upon arriving, the staff were friendly and welcoming. This hotel is near a couple of restaurants; we walked right next door to the Elephant Bar and were able to get a table with about a 5 min wait. Our room was on the 2nd floor and we had a small balcony. My husband loved being out on it to watch the incoming planes landing.they offer complimentary meal in the morning, but our flight was an early one, so we were not able to enjoy or comment on it. You won't go wrong with staying here for the night or making it base camp for exploring the bay area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m0welsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your nice feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully next time you are in the area, you can try our hot breakfast.

Eli Jimenez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlingame
0.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
981 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
0.5 mi away
The Westin San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport

Property: Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport
Address: 1640 Bayshore Hwy, Burlingame, CA 94010-1504
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Sfo Airport Hotel Burlingame
Vagabond Hotel Burlingame
Vagabond Hotel Executive Sfo Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing