We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice affordable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Elk Grove, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice affordable hotel”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the other positive reviews and I was pleased with our choice. This motel is super close to SFO. I was nervous there would be a lot of noise from planes but there was not. The rooms were clean. The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars is because the furniture in the rooms was very old and pretty dinged up. This didn’t bother me but it was definitely noticeable. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Fridge worked well. Did not use the coffee pot or microwave. TV wasn’t a new flat screen or anything but still had a great picture and there was plenty of channel choices thanks to Direct TV. We had a first floor room and could hear other travelers walking by with their rolling suitcases but that was really the only noise we heard. It was a quick and easy drive into the city from here. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again if I needed a room close to the city for a night or two and didn’t want to pay the in-city prices! We did not get to take advantage of the free breakfast but I saw that it opened at 6am and included Danon yogurt which I thought was nice. The free shuttle to the airport starts at 4:00.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kirstie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time for your review. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad your were pleased with your stay! We hope to see you again soon.

Eliahna Jimenez
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    227
    128
    45
    39
See reviews for
115
201
63
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stay here for the excellent price, for the good shuttle service (every 30 minutes, no reservation), the free WiFi and the free breakfast. If you're looking for just a place to rest your weary head, this will suit you just fine; if you're looking for more, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRHinHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you in the near future if you are in the San Francisco area again.

Eliahna Jimenez
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, BC
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The motel is dated and could use a refreshing and updating. The room was a good size and the proximity to seawall and airport is excellent. Free access to the Internet is much appreciated as was the free regularly scheduled shuttle transit to the airport. having the Elephant Pub and a Mexican restaurant with water views on the adjacent properties was also a nice benefit.

The staff were responsive to our needs as a couple of issues arose. The breakfast provided each morning offered a surprisingly good variety of food. Other guests were friendly.

The motel was located within easy walking distance to our meetings. If you are looking for a clean, inexpensive place to stay (a little dated and worn from wear), this is a good spot to select.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhweziMbolekwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time for your review online. We appreciate the feedback. We are glad you enjoyed some of the amenities we have to offer.

Eliahna Jimenez
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I'm traveling almost every week, and this is one of my stops. When a hotel treats you right, and it's at a good bargain...how could you not keep going back? This is one of the few Vagabond's that I use when traveling, and I'm glad I continue. The rooms are clean, the staff is great, and view is relaxing. Do yourself a favor when you wake up in the morning: Go outside and take a couple of deep breaths of that invigorating sea air. It does a body good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullshark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time for your review. We appreciate your continuous business and very glad you always enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the San Francisco area.

Eliahna Jimenez
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the very good reviews on TA. This time TA was just plain wrong. The place is a dump. I had to sign over my credit card for $100 "for incidentals" and that charge by the way is still pending. Not off to a good start. When we got to our room, there is a sign explaining about their, um, air conditioning/heating system, which is I guess a central system. Whatever, after playing around with the knobs and level, we had no air at all coming into our room. None. (My husband recalled that many people had their windows open when we headed to our room.) We went to the front desk and the lackadaisical front desk clerk said we could not change our room because, basically, "they're all like that." (With the non-working A/C?) Or maybe it was because I had pre-paid for the room and was stuck. He did say he'd have maintenance bring up a unit to cool the place. When we returned to the room, a fan was sitting on the desk. I guess that was the A/C unit. We called the front desk to complain and played around with the knobs some more and some air finally kicked in. I think it was just air that came in from the outside, but it was better than nothing, which is what we had. We took a walk around the back of the hotel and noticed how shabby the place is. Everything was tattered and in disrepair. Not worth the $120 charged and the $100 pending, that is for sure. When we came back we asked the front desk guy for a wake up call. Good thing my husband set his phone alarm, because we received no call. We were told by the AM front desk clerk that "the phones must be down." !!! I never stayed at a Vagabond and never will again! I'm hoping my $100 "incidentals" charge comes off soon, but am not too hopeful.

One star for a decent TV with lots of stations and one star for a comfy bed and decent breakfast.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank needmorevacationdayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time for your review. Always good to hear everyone's feedback about their stay. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your visit. We do have an older building and hvac which is a central based system, same as a few hotels in this area, but hope to make more changes in the future.

Eliahna Jimenez
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed there for a night,& its amazing,the cleaniness,the atmosphere was awsome,the beautiful view from the room facing the seashore & waching the planes landing & takeoff,wow it was just the feeling as if i was staying at a five star hotel.The breakfast was just great with lot of variety,& it was so fresh.The staff working there are very friendly & helpful,like Ms.Anabella was
so nice to help me out in the lobby,& Ms.Sandra was so nice & humble,& other staff in the reception & in the breakfast room were just Great.I would highly recommend this place to everyone to stay here.

Thanks & Regards.

Room Tip: Try the back side rooms as they have a beautiful seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time for your review and acknowledging our friendly staff and some of the amenities we have to offer. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you soon if you are ever in the San Francisco area again.

Eliahna Jimenez
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I spent 1 evening at the Vagabond Executive Inn near the airport in San Francisco. When we arrived our check in was very quick and we were told that our room was on the ground floor. We were able to park our car right in front of our room. The room was large and immaculately clean. There was a small area off of the room with a microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker. All were spotless as well as our bathroom. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked so well that it was one of the better sleeps we had.
In the morning we had a large selection for breakfast (i.e. eggs, sausage, potatoes, yogurt, juices, cereals, jams, hot cereal) and were lucky to get one of the 2 tables available in the tiny breakfast area. Otherwise you have to eat outdoors which is right at the parking lot and near the main road. Otherwise this is a great place and price for a night or two before getting on a plane.

Room Tip: Well located and worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mburlingame, Manager at Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are aware our breakfast room is small, and hope to get a bigger space in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time for your review. Hope to see you again if you are in the San Francisco area.

Eliahna Jimenez
Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlingame
0.1 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,001 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.2 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aloft San Francisco Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport

Property: Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport
Address: 1640 Bayshore Hwy, Burlingame, CA 94010-1504
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Vagabond Inn Executive SFO Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Executive Sfo Airport Hotel Burlingame
Vagabond Hotel Burlingame
Vagabond Hotel Executive Sfo Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing