We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two king room was HUGE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I'm sorry we stayed only one night. What a great room! Two adults and two just-barely teens, I booked a room with two king beds, a category I'd never seen anywhere before. The room was HUGE (which I didn't notice in the description), easily the size of two normal rooms. There was a sofa, coffee table, and a dining table for two.

The beds were among the comfiest I've ever had at a hotel.

Calling the room "bay view" is technically correct but not what I expected. One small window with a view of tidal mud flats (visible through a line of trees) across a driveway and some grassy land ... sure, I could see the bay but I wouldn't book this room to soak in beautiful bay views, if you know what I mean.

I was surprised by how small the bathroom was. I guess it was a normal bathroom, but since the hotel room was so massive it made the normal bathroom seem tiny in comparison. My only real complaint was the weather pressure in the shower. I dreaded having to rinse off because I knew it would take considerable time and effort.

The free breakfast is something we expect out of this brand. The automatic pancake maker was a cool surprise!

The free airport shuttle worked well, for what it is. I won't complain about the wait for it to arrive and then the wait for it to make multiple stops at other properties. It is a free shared ride, so waits and slight delays are part of that. It was clean, safe, and the driver was a very friendly professional.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CleveRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear CleveRocks,

Thank you very much for allowing us to be a part of your most recent San Francisco visit and for sharing your experience with us. We are glad that you had a good overall stay with us and that you like our breakfast, we also love our pancake machine!!! =) We would love to invite you to come and visit us once again in the future, please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than glad to assist you. We hope to see you again very soon!!!

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 518 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2014

Can't beat the location of this hotel if you're looking for something close to SFO. The rooms are clean. The breakfast in the morning is good even though the breakfast room is small and gets crowded very easily. There is plenty of seating in the lobby, which was great. We used the hotel as home base for some sight-seeing before catching a cruise to Alaska. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear Kate T,

We would like to thank you for choosing us and for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post a comment and share your experience with us. We are glad that you liked our newly-renovated rooms and that you had a good overall stay with us. Should you need any assistance in making any future reservation please call 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than glad to assist you. We hope to see you again soon!!!

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We decided to stay outside of San Francisco to save a little bit of money on hotel rooms. This was perfect for our family. My husband is in a wheel chair, so a roll in shower is a must for us. We arrived about 3pm, checked in and my teenage boys accidentally locked the only set of keys in the van. Oh boy! The front desk staff was very helpful in locating a locksmith/tow company to come out and help us. They made all the calls for us, but one of the employees (Sorry I cannot remember his name) was able to get our van unlocked for us! It only took about 30 minutes and a metal rod, but he was able to unlock the van door without doing any damage to the van! It was only a 10-15 minute drive into the city everyday and was very convenient, with the breakfast! Loved our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jett286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Jett286,

Thank you very much for staying and for sharing your delightful experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and will definitely share this along to the rest of our staff. This is something that we take pride in. Truly, our staff is the hotel's main source of pride and joy. We are very happy that we were able to make your visit with us a wonderful one. If you need any assistance in making any future reservations, please do not hesitate to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than glad to assist you. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you once again.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We booked a 2 night stay here. Once we checked in and got to the room we were very disappointed. First off the hallway smelled like cigarette smoke and so did our room. A bed pillow and a bath towel were stained. My husband and I as well as our kids were really disappointed. We got online and started looking for a new hotel to stay at. We found a hotel close by and went to the front desk to let them know that we did not want to stay for the 2 nights. We talked to Mary at the front desk and told her that we really did not want to stay and how the room and bathroom did not look clean. Mary was so apologetic about the whole thing. She felt really bad and offered a king size suite that was available at no extra charge. She told us to take the key and have a look around the suite and if we were not satisfied with the suite then she would not charge us at all for cancelling for the 2 nights. We took a look at the suite and we were very happy. It looked clean and it did not stink like cigarettes. Mary went above and beyond and was so very nice about the whole thing. Everyone was very friendly. Both mornings upon leaving the suite housekeeping was so super nice and friendly always with a smile on their face. The day we left one of the housekeepers gave us bottled water to take with us on our trip back home. All in all we were very happy there. The breakfast was very filling and the kitchen staff kept replenishing the food all the way till breakfast was over. Thank you Mary for making our stay a very pleasant one! Thank you to all the very friendly housekeeping staff as well!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalgal03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear SoCalgal03,

On behalf of the entire staff of the Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us and for posting a very nice review for our property. We are very glad that you gave us an opportunity to make it things right for you during your stay with us. We always want to make our guests stay a comfortable and relaxing one and we want everyone to feel satisfied before leaving the hotel. Your comfort and satisfaction is always our main priority. Thank you for the kind words, we will surely share your review to the rest of the staff, this is something that we take pride in. Should your travel needs bring you back to the beautiful city of San Francisco, please call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than glad to assist you. We hope to see you again soon!!!

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The bathroom and room were very clean and updated. The room had plenty out outlets for all of our electronics. Breakfast was good. Wi-fi was slow. We went into San Francisco everyday, expect about an hour to get to your destination and to park.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Drew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Drew J,

We would like to thank you for allowing us to be a part of your most recent visit to San Francisco and for sharing your experience with us. As a valued guest, we value your opinion. We are very happy to hear that we were able to meet your standards and expectations. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We were booked into this hotel by our travel agent for an overnight stay in transit to Honolulu the next day. We checked-in in the dark and left the hotel very early the next morning, and so did not have much opportunity to enjoy any of its facilities. All I can say is that the room we stayed in was old and the carpet looked so dirty we decided to leave our shoes on. I even found a dusty old spectacles case under the desk in a corner. The breakfast was adequate and there was a brisk no-nonsense get on with it service at the front desk. There is a free shuttle service to and from the hotel which we found very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anak_Johor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Anak_Johor,

Thank you very much for staying with our hotel and for sharing your experience with us. We are sorry that we did not live up to youe expectations and standards. The hotel just finished a major renovation, all of our carpets, furniture, wall paper, etc. are all new, however, we would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention, rest assured that we will inform our housekeeping supervisor and we will address this issue right away. Should you need to discuss more details about your stay, or if you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com and we will be more than glad to assist you. We would like to invite you to come and visit us once again in the future and we assure you that you will have a more pleasant stay.

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a great hotel! I stay in IHG hotels all around the world and this has to be one of the best Holiday Inn Express hotels. The location provides a super view of South Bay and the Bay Trail nearby. It is also very easy to get to SFO via the courtesy hotel shuttle and even venture into San Francisco with the BART (located next to the SFO International Terminal). The staff are wonderful; they are all very friendly and extremely helpful. I am always made very welcome on my regular visits to the Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South here in Burlingame (I have been staying here regularly since 2008). I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pr0f_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Dear Pr0f_Andy,

On behalf of the entire staff of the Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, we would like to thank you for your continued patronage and for letting us know about your amazing stay with us every time you come and visit San Francisco. We are happy to know that we are your 'home away from home' place, each of our staff's main goal is to always make our guests stay as comfortable and as relaxing as we can. We will definitely pass along your kind words to our staff, this is something that we take pride in. We will see you again very soon!!!

Regards,
Mary
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burlingame
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
0.5 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
1.1 mi away
Hilton San Francisco Airport Bayfront
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South

Address: 1250 Bayshore Hwy, Burlingame, CA 94010-1805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range: $104 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Francisco Airport South, a San Francisco Airport hotel, is centrally located to all the Bay area attractions in beautiful Burlingame, CA. It is just a short ride from our hotel to The Golden Gate Bridge, China Town, and Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel features views of the San Francisco Bay and double-paned windows for a quiet stay. Find complete relaxation at this intimate hotel with just the right location, services and amenities to suit the most discriminating client. The hotel offers 146 spacious guest rooms and suites. Begin each day with our deluxe Hot Express Start Breakfast at this contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the airport. Enjoy our outdoor pool, fitness center, 24-hour business center, free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves & refrigerators in each guest room, complimentary parking, and complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to and from San Francisco International Airport. Ask about one of our special packages like our Park, Stay, & Go Package. Don't forget to try Max's Bar and Grill adjacent to the hotel, a Bay Area favorite. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, comfortable and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South Hotel Burlingame
Holiday Inn Express Burlingame
Holiday Inn Burlingame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing