We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
Nearby Hotels
$159
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bay Landing Hotel(Burlingame)(Great Value!)
$177
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$215
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Red Roof PLUS+ San Francisco Airport(Burlingame)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame(Burlingame)(Great Value!)
$191
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$107
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveler rating
156
207
102
43
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
207
102
43
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmax's restauranthi expresspancake machineiced coffeefree breakfastoutdoor poolbay viewfront desk agentsan franciscoone night stayyogurtrental carlate flightcookiesruns every minutesfree shuttleshort stay
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 543 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just left this am. Some good and some not so much. Some of the people at the front desk are very nice and some are downright rude. Breakfast room is small but has a great breakfast especially given the fact that it is included. A/C in room was not working and temps were in late 80's. if you aren't going to stay in the room much this is a great hotel. Good location and price and clean. Beds comfortable. If you will be in your room for periods of time you might be cramped. Gentleman who checked us in was very helpful and friendly. Michelle, one of the front office people, was extremely rude and unprofessional. She looked annoyed when people would approach her since she had to stop her conversation with another front office lady. Then she was short and just glared at the guests waiting for them to initiate the conversation. I have a business and from experience know that that first person can make or break you. They are the face of the establishment and set the tone. She is killing it. We called for a couple more towels since there were 3 of us in the room and were told by the lady "i dont have time to help you" and transferred us to a voice message. Needless to say we never received the towels. It is a nice hotel but needs some minor adjustments.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irenelizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Mr. irenelizza,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments. We are glad that you had a good stay and was able to find some of our amenities to be helpful during your stay. Please accept my sincerest apology for the guest experience you had and I would also like to take this opprtunity to thank you for bringing this to our attention. This is certainly NOT how we would like our guests to remember us and experience. We try to strive hard to please our guests. We will definitely retrain or refresh our guest services agents with customer service. Please also do not hesitate to call us at: 650-347-2381 or email us: reservations@hiesfosouth.com so we can obtain additional details regarding your stay. Thank you so much once again and we hope to offer you a more pleasant and relaxing stay in the future.

Regards,
Guests Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great & convenient one night stay close to airport clean comfy and was able to return rental car close by ;)
Bay shore highway was back of hotel so beautiful walking trail by bay! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maproot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Maproot,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a good overall experience. Thank you so much again for staying with us, we truly appreciate it. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards,
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I booked this Holiday Inn Express the night prior to our flight with option to leave my car up to 14 days. I believe there are different price points depending on how long you park.
I thought the motel was clean, well organized and convenient to the airport. I arrived late and was pleased to be upgraded to a suite. I didn't know suites existed in this type of motel and was great having a good size sitting area apart from the bedroom. I was fortunate to get a bayside view of the water and planes landing in this distance.

The complimentary breakfast was better then most with tasty cinnamon rolls, cereals, egg omelettes (prefab), sausages, paper thin bacon, bananas, etc and an array of juices, hot chocolate and coffee. Hey, it saved me from having to buy breakfast at the expensive airport!

I must admit that the room decor has shown its age with some peeling paint, worn bathroom electrical outlet that would not support the hair dryer plug, some worn fixture surfaces, and our a/c control wouldn't shut off. Having said this I do see that the motel is in the middle of major remodel and upgrades which is due and I'm sure will be very nice.

The flat screen tv was good, free wifi, fridge, but no safe. The free shuttle service to SFO leaves every 30 minutes during peak
flight times and I like the large shuttle bus.

I thought the desk staff were cordial and helpful answering my questions. I was surprised at some of the previous posts stating otherwise. For what it is I would
stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear charmking,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It is something our staff takes pride in, so we value your feedback. The hotel just finished with the lobby renovation, and we will soon be renovating all the guests rooms and we assure valued guests like you will have a more comfortable and pleasant stay. Unfortunately, we do not have safe deposit in the room, however, we have safety box deposit in the front desk. Again, we thank you for posting a review for our hotel. We hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely,
Mary Domingo
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here overnight to catch an early flight out of SFO. Good location for the purpose, great rooms, nice pool area and a good breakfast (at least for US standards). We came in in the afternoon and had a great sunny afternoon by the pool. There is a restaurant next to the hotel that is ok but no real city area to walk around. It is the freeway on one side of the hotel and the bay on the other. Traffic did not disturb sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Anders S,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we were able to meet your standards and expectations. Thank you very much once again for staying with us. We hope your travel needs will bring you back to our property soon and if you need any assistance in making a reservation, you may call us at 650-347-2381 or email us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com.

Sincerely,
Mary Domingo
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The price was right, the service was questionable. We picked this hotel because we normally find good accomodations and service in the Holiday Inn Express properties. The selling point was its close proximity to my mother-in-laws home. Breakfast was excellent. In addition to the usual HIE express bill of fare, they offered three kinds of eggs four kinds of meats daily. While the seating area was limited we always seemed to be able to find a place to eat either in the breasfast nook or the lounge. Hotel is under construction so may have been noisier and dirty than normal. We have stayed in other HIE properties where construction was going on and was not a problem on weekends. For some reason our room was never made up. I witnessed the housekeeping staff at work each morning as we left but would return in the evening to find the same dirty towels and unmade bed. After leaving messages about the service on the third day we made a special trip to the front desk to inquire about the lack of service. It seems their policy is that unless you fill out a form upon arrival you get no room service. The desk clerk did not advise us of this and the inroom directory states that housekeeping service is provided daily. The same directory states that if you are dissatisfied with the service to let them know and they will either make it right or not charge you for that part of your stay. When we complained we were told that we would get a 20% discount because we are Priority Club members. I wonder if the non rewards club guests get the same discount.

Other guests have complained about the parking lot lighting. We parked in the back and found well lighted and open parking. The side parking lots are narrow and when delivery trucks are parked there traffic is one way at best and often stopped.

Room Tip: All rooms have airport noises but bay side rooms have less freeway noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear groofan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant stay with us. We will talk to our Housekeeping Supervisor with regards to the housekeeping services, typically, the room attendant will not clean the room if there is a do not disturb sign on the door. Please also contact us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com so we can obtain additional detail regarding your stay. Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future after our full renovation is complete.

Sincerely,

Mary Domingo
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews