We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not accustomed to extended stays”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Burlingame
Umpqua, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not accustomed to extended stays”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The price was right, the service was questionable. We picked this hotel because we normally find good accomodations and service in the Holiday Inn Express properties. The selling point was its close proximity to my mother-in-laws home. Breakfast was excellent. In addition to the usual HIE express bill of fare, they offered three kinds of eggs four kinds of meats daily. While the seating area was limited we always seemed to be able to find a place to eat either in the breasfast nook or the lounge. Hotel is under construction so may have been noisier and dirty than normal. We have stayed in other HIE properties where construction was going on and was not a problem on weekends. For some reason our room was never made up. I witnessed the housekeeping staff at work each morning as we left but would return in the evening to find the same dirty towels and unmade bed. After leaving messages about the service on the third day we made a special trip to the front desk to inquire about the lack of service. It seems their policy is that unless you fill out a form upon arrival you get no room service. The desk clerk did not advise us of this and the inroom directory states that housekeeping service is provided daily. The same directory states that if you are dissatisfied with the service to let them know and they will either make it right or not charge you for that part of your stay. When we complained we were told that we would get a 20% discount because we are Priority Club members. I wonder if the non rewards club guests get the same discount.

Other guests have complained about the parking lot lighting. We parked in the back and found well lighted and open parking. The side parking lots are narrow and when delivery trucks are parked there traffic is one way at best and often stopped.

Room Tip: All rooms have airport noises but bay side rooms have less freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear groofan,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant stay with us. We will talk to our Housekeeping Supervisor with regards to the housekeeping services, typically, the room attendant will not clean the room if there is a do not disturb sign on the door. Please also contact us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com so we can obtain additional detail regarding your stay. Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future after our full renovation is complete.

Sincerely,

Mary Domingo
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    191
    100
    41
    35
See reviews for
141
116
45
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is by far the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in. It was dirty, dark, and depressing, and that was just the hallway! The room was just as bad. It was small and there was no storage space. The parking area was scary. There was not enough parking and the lot was dark. There were people loitering in the rear lot. I had to wait a long time for a parking spot to open up in the side lot, which wasn't well-lit either. The hotel staff was not friendly. The breakfast area was small and overcrowded. I read that the hotel is being renovated but I still would not stay there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieM771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear JulieM771,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay in our property. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us.The hallways, guest rooms and parking are all going to undergo a massive renovation. We would like to obtain some additional detail regarding your stay especially with regards to the guest service experience so we may be able to do the necessary corrections so as not to commit the same mistakes again, you may contact us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the beautiful city of San Francisco.

Sincerely,

Mary Domingo
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Good value stayed here on our first night in town, got here late in the evening. Shuttle from airport was very late compared to what desk clerk told us when we called. Airport south holiday inn express came once and the north hotel had a shuttle that came three times in the time I waited for this shuttle. There was construction going on so it seemed like we entered thru a back door which was very cramped. Value was good at just around 100.00 for the night. Breakfast foods were not very tasty but edible. Had a wide variety of foods, cereals, hot eggs, bacon, toast, sausage etc. Cinnamon rolls were yummy. Able to get some instant oatmeal and bananas which were good. Other guy checking out in front of me had asked for a wake up call that never was called, not good...Room was sort of outdated, needs some updates which are probably next on the list after the remodel of the lobby. Would stay here again for a night before or after a flight just due to the extremely low pice and the ease to get on the shuttle going back into the airport. There was a schedule in the lobby which was better on track for returning to the airport to pick up the BART the next day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecurranrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear eccuranrx,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments. Thank you very much as well for all the details you had brought up so we may be abe to address these matters and try our best not to repeat the same mistakes especially regarding the missed wake up call and the late shuttle bus, we will definitely be in contact with the manager of the shuttle bus company. Regarding the foods served in he breakfast room, we will check and see so we may be able to serve you better food items. Please also contact us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com so we can obtain additional detail regarding your stay. Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future after our full renovation is complete.

Sincerely,

Mary Domingo
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We were appalled by this hotel. We needed a quick place to stay as we had a late flight ...it was NOTHING like the pictures on the website. I was concerned for my safety and whether our car would be stolen. The room was dirty dusty and full of mold. Long dark hallways. Horrible ...the door to the outside would not latch and stayed open all night. Serious safety concerns. The website says nothing about the hotel being in major renovation mode. I tried to wash my hands in the lobby bathroom and there was no running water. Dirty gross, moldy and should not be taking in guests ... Apalling!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelforsunalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear travelforsunalways,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay in our property. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. Our hotel is under renovation which includes the lobby, breakfast room, all other public areas and the guest rooms. The items you had mentioned regarding the cleanliness and quality of the room will be addressed with our Housekeeping Manager, thank you so much for letting us know regarding the guest room conditions, this is certainly not how we would like to welcome our guests. The side doors are kept unlock for added accessibility for our guests since we needed to close our main entrances due to renovation. Please also contact us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com so we can obtain additional detail regarding your stay. Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future after our full renovation is complete.

Sincerely,

Mary Domingo
Guest Servces Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

First time in a long time I made a reservation without checking TripAdvisor first. Last time for that mistake! This place was disgusting! Positives: airport shuttle was on time, breakfast selections were decent. Negatives: hotel is under long-overdue renovations which will be going on for quite some time--beware. The lobby is part of the construction site; room 303 had such an odor we had to keep a window open; two pair of ear plugs were on the nightstand so that should tell you how great it was to sleep with the window open; I was afraid to plug my computer into the wall outlet as it looked "iffy" so we plugged it into the surge protector behind the refrigerator only to see that it was already unplugged so we assumed it had been either overloaded at one point or non-functioning; very low water pressure, a dirty towel was in the hallway (3rd floor) which was there when we arrived and still there when we left in the morning; breakfast room was inadequately small, The shuttle dropped folks off at the Vagabond Inn which looked like the Taj Mahal compared to this hotel! While I felt the $117 we paid for the room was fair before I arrived, I left feeling ripped off. Will definitely stay elsewhere next time!

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel and get a room elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janneykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Janneykins,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant stay with us. Our hotel is under renovation which includes the lobby, breakfast room, all other public areas and the guest rooms. Please also contact us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com so we can obtain additional detail regarding your stay. Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and hope to offer you a more pleasant stay in the future after our full renovation is complete.

Sincerely,

Mary Domingo
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We went and stayed for a soccer tournament. We arrive back to hotel room with the smell of marihuana so strong when exiting elevator. Our room smelled so bad. Called front desk and there solution was put a air freshener in hallway.by 11:30 smell so strong my 11 year old and 15 year old couldn't stand it. Went to front desk they said they couldn't ask people breaking the law to leave. That we can move. We move in morning shower is broken. There response you can move rooms. Still haven't heard from manager been over 24 hours. Staff said this happens on a monthly bases. We are tryi g to teach our children health and fitness and this is not ok from holiday inn.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soccermom0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Soccermom0707,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant stay with us. We are a 100% non-smoking property, however, some instances are beyond our control, the front desk will not be able to know right away which guest or which room was smoking and we do not want to just accuse anybody without sufficient evidence. The front desk should have called the police right away this way it will be addressed properly. We are re-training and letting each and every guest service agenst to go through our safety and security procedures. Please contact us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com so we may obtain additonal detail regarding your stay. Again, please accept our sincerest apology for all the inconvenience this had caused you.

Sincerely,
Mary Domingo
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed one night here en route to Hawaii. The hotel is undergoing renovation which is well overdue. The lobby was a building site and the carpets in the corridors were awful. The lift was scratched and our "bay view" room overlooked the car park. The room was noisy and the bathroom very tatty. Shower tiles had been painted and the paint was peeling off into the bath. Staff were fine but we should have been told the state the hotel was in as we would not have stayed. We subsequently cancelled a second reservation.
There are plenty of hotels near the airport so until the renovation is complete suggest you choose somewhere else

Room Tip: There aren't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Barry T,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in our hotel and for taking the time to write about your comments. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your overall stay in our property. The items you had mentioned regarding the lobby, carpet, elevator and the quality of the guest room and bathroom are all part of the renovation. We do apologize that the renovation did not happen before your stay with us. Please also contact us at reservations@hiesfosouth.com so we may obtain additional detail regarding your stay with us. Again, we regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel and we hope to offer you a more pleasant stay after our full renovation is complete.

Sincerely,
Mary Domingo
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Burlingame hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Airport - Burlingame
0.5 mi away
Bay Landing Hotel
Bay Landing Hotel
#2 of 12 in Burlingame
1,001 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Francisco Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites San Francisco-Burlingame-Airport South
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton San Francisco Airport
0.8 mi away
San Francisco Airport Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
Address: 1250 Bayshore Hwy, Burlingame, CA 94010-1805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Burlingame
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Burlingame
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel San Francisco Airport South, a San Francisco Airport hotel, is centrally located to all the Bay area attractions in beautiful Burlingame, CA. It is just a short ride from our hotel to The Golden Gate Bridge, China Town, and Fisherman's Wharf. The hotel features views of the San Francisco Bay and double-paned windows for a quiet stay. Find complete relaxation at this intimate hotel with just the right location, services and amenities to suit the most discriminating client. The hotel offers 146 spacious guest rooms and suites. Begin each day with our deluxe Hot Express Start Breakfast at this contemporary hotel located just 5 minutes from the airport. Enjoy our outdoor pool, fitness center, 24-hour business center, free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves & refrigerators in each guest room, complimentary parking, and complimentary 24-hour shuttle service to and from San Francisco International Airport. Ask about one of our special packages like our Park, Stay, & Go Package. Don't forget to try Max's Bar and Grill adjacent to the hotel, a Bay Area favorite. Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, comfortable and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South Hotel Burlingame
Holiday Inn Express Burlingame
Holiday Inn Burlingame

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing