We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bay Landing Hotel(Burlingame)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (539)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveler rating
155
205
101
43
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
155
205
101
43
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmax's restauranthi expresspancake machineiced coffeefree breakfastoutdoor poolbay viewfront desk agentsan franciscoone night stayyogurtrental carlate flightcookiesruns every minutesfree shuttleshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
343 - 348 of 539 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Low room cost, free airport shuttle, free WiFi, free breakfast at 5am. Nice room temp controls with quick response. Friendly staff. Slightly on the funky side but all considered this was a good choice for me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalPete2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shethar M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear GlobalPete2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel. Holiday Inn Express would like to thank you for your stay with us. The hotel will be remodeling and renovating in 2013. We would love for you to visit the hotel once the renovation is complete. We hope to make your next stay with us a success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after our recent road trip around California.
We thought that as it was an HIE it would meet that standard. We couldn't have been more wrong - what a shabby property this is.
On arrival we were told we were to be upgraded to an executive suite - sounded good, but once again we were wrong. The room was dirty, with a really bad smell of stale cigarette smoke. After speaking to the manager who's first course of action was to ask us 'have you opened the windows', we were moved to a standard room and told we would be given a discount to compensate us, this sounded reasonable. The standard room we were given was fractionally better than the first but only fractionally, it too was dirty and as previous reviewers have stated in need of complete refurbishment. Breakfast was a bit of a free for all and the tables, when free, were dirty with the previous occupants debris still in place. On checking out we were presented with our bill - no discount - in fact the bill was more than we had been quoted by booking.com. This problem was eventually resolved but staff appeared disinterested when we tried to give feedback. There are lots of places to stay in San Francisco, this property would not be on our list of recommendations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul999Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Paul999Scotland,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept my sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the unacceptable service you received that fell below your expectations. I am also sorry for the experience you had at check out. I am glad that our staff was able to fixed it for you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is an older property and is in need of a face lift, especially the public areas. The chair fabric in the breakfast room are badly frayed. Everything, furniture, carpets, wall hangings, are dark and give off a dreary atmosphere. The hallway carpets are stained in many places. The hallways are poorly lit and add to the dreary atmosphere. The rooms appear to have been renovated and are clean and comfortable. The hotel is way overpriced, at least for the night I stayed. I used Priority Club points and cash to make it a reasonable price. This is a hotel to consider only if you need one near the airport and only if it is competitively priced with other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor (only 3 floors) with a water view. That will place you away from the traffic noise.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear bobolo,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I am glad you liked your room accommodation. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the condition of our facilities. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We booked this hotel last minute on the day,as we didn't get on our flights, so didn't have much time to do our research.

All I can say is that the professional photos of the hotel are extremely flattering. When you get there it is very tired looking, and in major need of complete refurbishment.

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport North the following evening, which was in a different league, and cheaper!

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room, if they have one.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller693789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear westsussex10,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. I apologize our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you did not enjoy your overall stay with us. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our services continually.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed for less that a night connecting to Hong Kong @ 1:30AM. Pretty expensive for a Holiday Inn that needs reno's. Good view of the Bay, airport shuttle, restaurant close by in the parking lot. Room was a good size w/ sitting area, furnishings a bit outdated. Served its purpose for a nap & shower before a long haul flight. Booked to stay @ the Holiday Inn - Airport North when I stop through again, seems to be a bit newer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Francisco Airport South, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear Michelle808,

Thank you very much for your recent review of our property. I'm happy you enjoyed the view of the Bay and liked our amenities. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and we strive to provide competitive rates within the area. I'm deeply sorry if some aspects of our hotel fell below your expectations. I have noted you valuable comments and I will make sure that this will be looked into and be forwarded to the departments involved. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to serve you again should your travels bring you back to Burlingame, CA.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews